We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #77 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts Ian and Annette we had two nights in there wonderful home just so warm and welcoming beautiful room great location and Ian does the best scrambled eggs you will ever try, thanks again from Debbie and Paul from Australia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    39
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
58
134
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We recently stayed for two nights in the Midway and really can't fault it! Ian and Annette were very friendly and helpful and the service and facilities were excellent. The room was clean, good size and nicely decorated. Shower was great! Breakfast was second to none - plenty to eat and was offered more or would adapt to suit you - nothing too much trouble. Twenty-ish minute walk into York either by the river or along the road if you want to stop at the pub!! All in all great stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

From the moment you walk through the door you feel like you are a family friend who has visited many times before.We stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival Annette greeted us and gave us details of routes in to town walking & bus routes marking our map so we knew where we were and how to get back. Our room was spacious and very clean including the bathroom. The bus stop is pretty much opposite the Midway House and they run every ten minutes so you never have to wait long! Breakfast every morning was a delight (I'm not much of a breakfast person) but Gary was indulged with a lovely full english. However should you wish for something different you need only ask and it can be arranged for you. There is also a selection of fruits, cereals and yoghurt's to choose from! We didn't want to leave at the end of our stay after the first night we were already planning our next trip! You won't be disappointed by the Midway House and we can't wait to stay again! Thank you so much Annette & Ian for a brilliant weekend away! We hope to see you both again very soon! Hannah & Gary (P.S If you get the chocolate orange cookies in your room savour every bite!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the Midway while attending ladies day at York races. Absolutely fell in love with the owners and place from the get go. Very welcoming and helpful. Out room was immaculate and so comfy while having everything we needed . Breakfast was very satisfying and nothing seemed too much trouble. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grebbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Upon arriving for our 1 night stay we were greeted by a very friendly Annette who made us feel comfortable and at home instantly. The room was very spacious and had everything that we needed and was very fresh, clean and tidy. The shower was fantastic and all facilities were great. Annette was very happy to help with any help or queries we had and made our stay very pleasurable. The breakfast was delicious with a great choice of fruit and cereal and then a cooked breakfast, which I believe was cooked by Ian. The guest house is in a very good location and we would definitely stay again. Hoping to book for next year if they have the room! Many thanks Dawn and Mary.

Room Tip: The bottom room next to the office is a great room, very spacious and the shower is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was spacious and clean, and had everything we needed.
The location is ideal for walking into York, about 20 minutes either along the river or along the main road.
It rained one night, and there is a bus stop right outside, which was great. And a taxi back costs less than £5.
Annette was very helpful, giving us lots of advice and chatting to all the guests at breakfast time while still managing to get all the breakfasts on the table quickly.
The car park was great, we didn't need to use the car so it was good to know it was safely off the street.
We loved everything about Midway House, would recommend it to anyone and hope to visit again one day.
Thanks, Annette, for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at this lovely b&b for two nights, and it was absolutely amazing! Ian and Annette who own it are very welcoming and friendly. Cleanliness is on extremely high level, rooms are very cozy. Breakfast cooked by Ian was super delicious. Location is brilliant as well - only 10 minute walk to city center. I will definitely stay at midway house again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamaria999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#31 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#74 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#90 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing