We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #73 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble. The place was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The thing that really stood out for us though were the owners. They took the time to make every fuest feel valued. We would highly recomment this guest house. It will will always be top of our list when staying in York.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    43
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
59
140
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights and, since we were travelling from China, needed to arrange a later check in for 11pm (eventually we arrived at 9:30pm) but the owners were not only uncooperative - initially telling us that we could not stay the first night, whilst still demanding full payment) - they made the whole process very uncomfortable and were really rude and uncompromising. I felt bullied by the owner and eventhough I was the customer he behaved like a horrible school teacher and demanded an apology for my bad organisation.
This lack of flexibility was demonstrated later in the week when we came down a little early (8:15am) for breakfast and the owner was impatient and rude. He continually referenced his ill health and we felt as though he was trying to somehow blame us for his problems. The room was reasonable and the location was ok, albeit still 20 mins from the city. Overall an awful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sihsuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midders, Owner at Midway House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Wow!!..what spiteful and vindictive comments from this reviewer.
You seem to have a very selective memory with regard to your visit to our home here in Historic York. On the morning of your arrival you at last answered our emails concerning your journey and informed us that in all probability you would be at our home sometime between 11.00 pm and 12.00 pm depending upon everything going smoothly through airport and customs. This is two hours after our latest arrival time which was clearly displayed on the third party booking web page. On your own submission you chose to ignore this fact and proceed to make the reservation in the knowledge that you were unlikely to arrive at a reasonable hour for a guest house.
Obviously we had concerns which were expressed to you in a lengthy e-mail, and discussed at length with your family representative, because our consideration has to be given to ALL our guests, and that evening we had several other rooms occupied who had travelled from various countries. We suggested that if you were to be so late you should consider staying near Heathrow and travel to us the next day refreshed, but you chose to bully us on the telephone into accepting that we should receive you no matter what the time was, which we did.
You eventually arrived at 10.30 pm with your three companions and several suitcases and you did so with the same forceful attitude displayed earlier that day on the telephone. We then had the unpleasantness of your appalling behaviour for 11 nights. We will not go into detail save to say that you displayed total ignorance towards your hosts, sat with your back to us every morning, gave no eye contact and despite our efforts to be friendly and professional you continued your immature ways.
It was a very unpleasant experience for us, we have been successfully delivering service here for over 13 year's and it is true to say that this was the worst situation that we have ever endured. It was you who made it uncomfortable for yourself, your companions who were appreciative and for us.
As far as your grading's are concerned, anyone reading this will be able to see just what you have done, deliberately marking us low in an obvious effort to make Midway House sound awful. This is exactly the same as the only other terrible review we have ever received, and again he was another bully....strange that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts Ian and Annette we had two nights in there wonderful home just so warm and welcoming beautiful room great location and Ian does the best scrambled eggs you will ever try, thanks again from Debbie and Paul from Australia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We recently stayed for two nights in the Midway and really can't fault it! Ian and Annette were very friendly and helpful and the service and facilities were excellent. The room was clean, good size and nicely decorated. Shower was great! Breakfast was second to none - plenty to eat and was offered more or would adapt to suit you - nothing too much trouble. Twenty-ish minute walk into York either by the river or along the road if you want to stop at the pub!! All in all great stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaddy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

From the moment you walk through the door you feel like you are a family friend who has visited many times before.We stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival Annette greeted us and gave us details of routes in to town walking & bus routes marking our map so we knew where we were and how to get back. Our room was spacious and very clean including the bathroom. The bus stop is pretty much opposite the Midway House and they run every ten minutes so you never have to wait long! Breakfast every morning was a delight (I'm not much of a breakfast person) but Gary was indulged with a lovely full english. However should you wish for something different you need only ask and it can be arranged for you. There is also a selection of fruits, cereals and yoghurt's to choose from! We didn't want to leave at the end of our stay after the first night we were already planning our next trip! You won't be disappointed by the Midway House and we can't wait to stay again! Thank you so much Annette & Ian for a brilliant weekend away! We hope to see you both again very soon! Hannah & Gary (P.S If you get the chocolate orange cookies in your room savour every bite!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at the Midway while attending ladies day at York races. Absolutely fell in love with the owners and place from the get go. Very welcoming and helpful. Out room was immaculate and so comfy while having everything we needed . Breakfast was very satisfying and nothing seemed too much trouble. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grebbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Upon arriving for our 1 night stay we were greeted by a very friendly Annette who made us feel comfortable and at home instantly. The room was very spacious and had everything that we needed and was very fresh, clean and tidy. The shower was fantastic and all facilities were great. Annette was very happy to help with any help or queries we had and made our stay very pleasurable. The breakfast was delicious with a great choice of fruit and cereal and then a cooked breakfast, which I believe was cooked by Ian. The guest house is in a very good location and we would definitely stay again. Hoping to book for next year if they have the room! Many thanks Dawn and Mary.

Room Tip: The bottom room next to the office is a great room, very spacious and the shower is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#26 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#14 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#69 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#76 of 193 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing