We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Recommended"”
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #83 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location, easy to find and a lovely property. Annette & Ian are very helpful and friendly people with an extensive knowledge of york and how to get around.The rooms were very cosy and spotlessly clean and comfortable.The cooked breakfast was absolutely fab and pletiful and something to suit every bodys tastes (fruit/cereals/yogurt/toast). There was also a good pub near by for your everning meal after a long day visiting the many great attractions of york. Midway House is in such a convenient loction and you get so well looked after we shall be recommending it to all our friends that are thinking of taking a trip to york.Thumbs up!! Frank,Janet and Lisa:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have just returned from York, where I stayed at Midway House on Fulford Road, as I have done annually since 2004. (When in York, I will only stay at Midway House because it is so welcoming and comfortable!) Ian and Annette are very friendly and welcoming hosts, very helpful to their guests. The rooms are cozy, clean, and comfortable, perfect for a good night's rest. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful, so much so that it keeps me "fueled" 'til mid-afternoon. Midway House is conveniently located on a major bus route and within walking distance of the city center and the university. There are plenty of places nearby to enjoy a nice, leisurely walk, too. Beautiful Rowntree Park is just 10 minutes away, and the walk along the River Ouse toward downtown is lovely, too. I recommend Midway House to anyone who appreciates high quality accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was a lovely stay and we were looked after very well. It was nice and clean. The rooms do vary a lot in regard to decor and space but they the ones I saw were all in good repair and upholstery/curtains etc. all looked new. Cooked breakfast was FAB :) I can definitely recommend them, the lady of the house was SO lovely and a mine of information and ideas. If you do go definitely try the Free history Tour which leaves 11am from outside the Minster every day. (White Rose Tours) So informative and interesting.

Room Tip: They have a four poster if you're interested - perhaps a room at the back of the house may help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F1owerpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely location and property, Annette & Ian could not have done any more to make our stay better, warm welcome to our superb familly room after a very long trudge up the M1 on a Friday afternoon, exemplary local knowledge, full english/ fruit/ cereals/ toast and as much yoghurt as our Son Jude could devour!! Great bus service into the city from right outside the property and 2 very nice pubs within 5 mins walk.
If you want to stay in York wether its for 1 night or 2 weeks I really would struggle to find any reason why you should not give Midway House a try - Top marks!!
Many thanks

Matt, Suzi & Jude

Room Tip: Room 1 - superb familly room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very welcoming owners. Place was immaculate and room very comfortable. Breakfast was fab. Would definitely stay again!! Location was a 20-30 minute walk to town which is nice when the river is low. Easy access to town by bus. Owners very knowledgeable and made a huge effort to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midnight76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have stayed at Midway Guest House for 8 years and would never stay anywhere else in York (unless they were full!) This guest house is one of the nicest we stay at anywhere in the country. Some of the rooms are a little small but they are all spotlessly clean and fresh. Tea making facilities are found in every room and replenished daily. Bathrooms are well equipped with soap, shampoo, etc. and ample towels. Breakfast time is a little regimented: approximate time given and orders for cooked breakfast normally taken the night before - the advantage is that your wonderful cooked breakfast is served hot and freshly cooked after cereal, fruit juice, etc.
The 'Park and Ride' bus stop is almost immediately outside for quick and easy transfer into the city, or a short walk opposite takes you off the main road and along the river, an easy and pleasant walk when the river isn't in flood.
The proprietors are both absolutely charming, always helpful and accommodating. It is good to see that they have such a deservedly high rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flombergasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice owners who made us feel welcome and at ease. The room was spotless although a little chilly as we were in the attic. Breakfast was fantastic, and is a pleasant walk into the centre of York along the river. If we visit York again we'll stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nosliwmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.6 mi away
Grimston House Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#19 of 194 in York
580 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
891 reviews
1.7 mi away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#22 of 194 in York
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing