We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfecto”
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #75 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfecto”
Reviewed 23 September 2008

With so many choices of B&B accomodations to stay in York City in the United Kingdom on offer, this guest house that we chose via the internet was like winning the lottery. Cleansiness, location, breakfast ( all diets catered for ) all without fault. Our hosts Ian and Annette were so friendly and helpful in all ways possible. Both had a good local knowledge of the City and recent events. Will return again.
We have visited York on other occasions and not having any cause to complain about our previous accomodations we feel that we should make a review about the Midway House. Thankyou to you both.

Ray & Sue Hutcheon
Sunderland
UK

  • Liked — location and public transport access
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garlicman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    43
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
59
140
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

just returned after a lovely weekend away . Ian and Annette made us feel very welcome .The guest house is kept very clean and tidy our room was spotless and very nicely decorated.we had 2 delicious breakfasts .I can understand why people go back again.we are looking forward to back again soon.

  • Liked — cleaniness hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lillielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullercoats
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Ian and Annette really go out of their way to make sure that a stay at the Midway House is enjoyable.
From comfortable very clean rooms to great breakfasts , nothing is too much trouble.
The riverside walk into York is wonderful.
We would recommend a stay Midway House to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddleducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Was such a great experience to stay at Ian and Annette' s B&B!
They were tremendous host's and so kind to my daughters and I. The Midway House itself was very clean and warmly furnished. Our triple room accomodated us nicely. We especially enjoyed the traditional English breakfast served up in the very nice morning room. Ian and Annette were helpful recommending various activities in town. The walk into town along the river was a real treat!

I will definitely return to the Midway House the next time I visit York!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfool67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

The Midway House was lovely, and immaculate. Our room was on the second floor facing the street but was very quiet.

Both Ian and Annette were extremely friendly and helpful in our places to dine, especially that it was my birthday and we wanted somewhere special. The recommended restaurant was perfect.

The breakfast was outstanding. Ian did a great job.

Because the private parking area was practically full, Annette backed our car into a space for us. (My husband doesn't do well with backing up). Our car stayed on the premises for the length of time we were there.

We picked up the local bus across the street which dropped us off just around the corner. Very convenient to take us to the city center. I highly recommend the Midway.

  • Liked — location and cleaniness
  • Disliked — second floor accomodations and no in-room wi-fi
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank billyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#82 of 192 in York
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#25 of 192 in York
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.6 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.0 mi away
Hollies Guest House
Hollies Guest House
#93 of 192 in York
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing