We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2 Night Stay”
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #80 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself, my partner and our daughter aged 6 stayed here for 2 nights to have a day at York races - which was only a short walk (and a lovely one) away. Both Ian and Annette were very welcoming and very friendly - they were especially good with our daughter who can be shy. The room was spotless and very comfortable., In fact the whole house was very clean and I must say it felt very homely. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked by Ian and served to us by Annette. Our daughter can be a fussy eater and both Ian and Annette went out of their way to make sure she had a breakfast that she would enjoy. we all had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate in staying there again. Many thanks to Ian and Annette - Elaine Chris and Paige

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for one night when going to a concert at the Barbican. Midway House is very handy for the Barbican and was ideal for that and also the city of York is within walking distance or there are plenty of buses. Midway House is beautifully decorated and maintained and is lovely and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good and was really relaxed and informal and we had a good chat with Ian and Annette. We really enjoyed our stay and Ian and Annette are really nice and friendly and helpful. We recommend for anyone wanting to stay in York.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Myself and my friend stayed here for two nights. When we booked over the phone we were amazed at Ians friendly manner. When we arrived we were greeted by Ian and his lovely wife Annette and we instantly felt at home. Our room was spotless and we felt truly welcome. Truly faultless hosts. The breakfast was beautiful and Annettes service in the dining room was faultless.

We are already planning our next trip. If you want a home from home and a gorgeous breakfast. You need to book here.

Thank you Ian and Annexe, we had a great time

Gemma and Sam x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleace83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have just spent the Bank Holiday weekend in York with an old school friend. Midway was a lovely place to stay. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean (as was the rest of the guesthouse) and Ian and Annette were friendly and helpful. We came by train but there appeared to be adequate parking and, being on a main road into York, it was easy to find. There is a good bus service into the city centre or a very pleasant walk by the river. I have already recommended (without any hesitation) the Midway to my daughter-in law's parents who are hoping to visit York in the next couple of weeks. Thank you Ian & Annette for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderingmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here with my husband and daughter over the bank holiday weekend. Both Annette and Ian were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room had a double and single with en-suite. The beds were very comfortable. Our stay was peaceful. York itself was wonderful. The room and the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean. We had breakfast cooked fresh each morning, that I would rate 10./10 cooked by Ian. Annette waiting on and couldn't have been more pleasant. If we came back to York we would book here again without hesitation. Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thanks to Annette and Ian for accomodating my daughter and I at such short notice and for just one night. We arrived in need of a change of scene and left content that we had enjoyed our visit to York, having been aided in our plans by Annette and Ian. We slept well. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless. We were most surprised to see so many others in the dining room for breakfast! It had been so quiet on the Saturday evening that we had wondered if there were any other guests.
The cooked breakfast was truly delicious. We will hopefully return for a longer break with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimB5232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location, easy to find and a lovely property. Annette & Ian are very helpful and friendly people with an extensive knowledge of york and how to get around.The rooms were very cosy and spotlessly clean and comfortable.The cooked breakfast was absolutely fab and pletiful and something to suit every bodys tastes (fruit/cereals/yogurt/toast). There was also a good pub near by for your everning meal after a long day visiting the many great attractions of york. Midway House is in such a convenient loction and you get so well looked after we shall be recommending it to all our friends that are thinking of taking a trip to york.Thumbs up!! Frank,Janet and Lisa:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#14 of 194 in York
735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#51 of 194 in York
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#25 of 194 in York
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#46 of 194 in York
41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#44 of 194 in York
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing