We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #75 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just had 5 days holiday at Midway House. Very comfortable room, Annette and Ian welcomed us on arrival and were very helpful and informative, they made our holiday. Breakfast first class and plenty of it. Would recommend midway House to everyone. Thank you for a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: They have a ground floor room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    43
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
59
140
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Annette and Ian both made us feel at home immediately, and I can't recommend them any higher in the cleanliness of the the decor and the quality of the bedroom furnishings, and the quality of the breakfast.
The breakfast room facility is bright and airy and the helpfulness of both Ian and Annette were outstanding too.
We found that their recommendations and directions were most helpful, and both were so quick to guide us if we had any queries at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandcath79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After another trip to York, UK, I am delighted to say Midway House has kept up its wonderful service. A lovely warm welcome on arrival, easy check in, very friendly staff, with nothing too much trouble. Well worth a visit. It's my second time there and would highly recommend a visit. Many thanks to Ian and Annette for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Small family run business in a Victorian house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Midway House for two nights in May 2014. We received excellent hospitality, the breakfast was first class. Our hosts were very attentive and are to be applauded for their interest and care shown to their guests. They went out of their way to ensure our comfort. Their knowledge of the local area was second to none. We felt at home and very welcome from the start. The property is located on a bus route to the city. Good safe parking was available for our car within the grounds of the guesthouse.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and we were very comfortable. No problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORDIES396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just come back from another fantastic stay with Annette & Ian at the Midway,
such a lovely couple, cant do enough for you, would recommend anybody
who comes to York to stay here, home from home.Cant wait to come back again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyd014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Myself, my partner and our daughter aged 6 stayed here for 2 nights to have a day at York races - which was only a short walk (and a lovely one) away. Both Ian and Annette were very welcoming and very friendly - they were especially good with our daughter who can be shy. The room was spotless and very comfortable., In fact the whole house was very clean and I must say it felt very homely. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked by Ian and served to us by Annette. Our daughter can be a fussy eater and both Ian and Annette went out of their way to make sure she had a breakfast that she would enjoy. we all had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate in staying there again. Many thanks to Ian and Annette - Elaine Chris and Paige

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for one night when going to a concert at the Barbican. Midway House is very handy for the Barbican and was ideal for that and also the city of York is within walking distance or there are plenty of buses. Midway House is beautifully decorated and maintained and is lovely and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really good and was really relaxed and informal and we had a good chat with Ian and Annette. We really enjoyed our stay and Ian and Annette are really nice and friendly and helpful. We recommend for anyone wanting to stay in York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#85 of 192 in York
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#37 of 192 in York
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#27 of 192 in York
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.6 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
5.7 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing