We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #76 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

I could not have chosen a nicer place to stay whilst in York. The room was cozy, comfortable and quiet. The service was outstanding- I was given a map and Ian highlighted where the bus stops were (I was away on business) and where I needed to go. There is plenty of parking and the hotel was easy to find. Breakfast was amazing, Ian and Annette asked what I would like the night before. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiggy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    39
    18
    13
    2
See reviews for
58
134
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

...From the moment we arrived for a 3 night stay both Annettee and Ian made us feel so welcome. Our room was comfortable, spotless and well thought out. The breakfast just perfect. Midway House is ideal for either using as a base to travel to outside areas or like us, utilise the secure car park and walk along the river taking you into York. We will certainly look to book agian and soon!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyBobGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salado, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

We are from the US, Texas matter of fact, but my wife is from this very village and is aware of the many other B&Bs but stays here while in York. The breakfasts are very good, and the hosts Ian and Annette make you feel very welcome. The Midway House is in the great location, close enough to walk in town, close to Post Office, on bus route, and close to river Ouse to York. My wife goes to visit her mother who is in a Residential Care Home and usually stays from two to three weeks at a time. When my wife comes by herself I don’t have to worry about her safety while she is out and about in this location. Hands down, this is the the best value for money in a B&B for you stay while in York.

Robert and Janet

  • Liked — Kindness shown by Hosts
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rrrr4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

With so many choices of B&B accomodations to stay in York City in the United Kingdom on offer, this guest house that we chose via the internet was like winning the lottery. Cleansiness, location, breakfast ( all diets catered for ) all without fault. Our hosts Ian and Annette were so friendly and helpful in all ways possible. Both had a good local knowledge of the City and recent events. Will return again.
We have visited York on other occasions and not having any cause to complain about our previous accomodations we feel that we should make a review about the Midway House. Thankyou to you both.

Ray & Sue Hutcheon
Sunderland
UK

  • Liked — location and public transport access
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garlicman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

just returned after a lovely weekend away . Ian and Annette made us feel very welcome .The guest house is kept very clean and tidy our room was spotless and very nicely decorated.we had 2 delicious breakfasts .I can understand why people go back again.we are looking forward to back again soon.

  • Liked — cleaniness hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lillielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullercoats
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Ian and Annette really go out of their way to make sure that a stay at the Midway House is enjoyable.
From comfortable very clean rooms to great breakfasts , nothing is too much trouble.
The riverside walk into York is wonderful.
We would recommend a stay Midway House to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddleducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

Was such a great experience to stay at Ian and Annette' s B&B!
They were tremendous host's and so kind to my daughters and I. The Midway House itself was very clean and warmly furnished. Our triple room accomodated us nicely. We especially enjoyed the traditional English breakfast served up in the very nice morning room. Ian and Annette were helpful recommending various activities in town. The walk into town along the river was a real treat!

I will definitely return to the Midway House the next time I visit York!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfool67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#31 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#72 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
0.5 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#85 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holmwood House
Holmwood House
#73 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Property: Midway House
Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing