We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Cozy, Comfortable”
Review of Midway House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midway House
Ranked #79 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 February 2010

A friend and I stayed at Midway House during a one night stopover in York (we were traveling back from Edinburgh to London).

We took a taxi from the York train station and found it with no problem - about a ten minute drive (outside of the center of the city, right next door to many bed and breakfasts).

We were greeted right away by Annette, who was very kind. She checked us in and showed us to our room and told us about all there is to do in York. She had lots of brochure and info on hand. And she explained how to get to the center of the city -- which is about a twenty minute walk (beautiful) along the river Ouse.

There were only two of us traveling ( college aged) and we booked the top attic room with twin beds - it was long and narrow with a sink in the room. One of the beds, the one I was sleeping in, was in the little area where the roof sloped (see picture) so it is a little difficult to maneuver (luckily I am short). There was no one sharing the bathroom with us at the time, which was very nice and just down the stairs. The room was a tiny bit musty and dated but still very cozy and nice.

York itself is lovely and worth the walk. We went to Jorvik Viking Center and the Shambles (the old butchers' street) and Yorkminister Cathedral - so beautiful. We had a decent meal at The Olive Tree (looking out at York Castle - Clifford's Tower) and then a delicious dessert at Rustique -- so good. We decided to walk back along the river right at dusk which was beautiful and there were other people walking, but a seemingly migrant man on a bike started following my friend and I until we were about to turn back to the street where Midway house was, so we ended up turning around and saying we had missed our turn so he wouldn't follow us. It was slightly disconcerting, as Annette had promised us it would be totally safe walking.

Other than that, our experience was lovely. Our traditional English breakfast by Annette was tasty and filling and she helped us get a cab back to the train.

Overall our experience at Midway House was totally positive and we would recommend a stay there to anyone! They are friendly and welcoming and run a great b&b.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotigersgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

Thank you Ian and Annette for looking after us so well and making us so welcome. The accomodation was very nice. Annette was very helpfull in advising us where to go and what to see and giving instruction how to get there.The breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dainley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The room was comfortable and the relief manager running the place was very friendly.
However, as we made the booking late and over internet we had to use a late arrival time information. We got a reply asking us to change our travel plans or rely on some other B&B.
Also before our arrival the B&B had run a "deposit" on our credit card for one third of the stay, a first for me to happen without prior notice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed at Midway House over a York Races weekend as it was one of the few places that doesn't seem to hike their prices up too much because of the races. First time there and I don't think we will be looking to stay anywhere else in the future, we were very happy there. Lovely owners (Annette & Ian), nice bedroom & ensuite, good breakfasts etc. The B&B is ideally placed for a quiet stay, there is a bus-stop on the opposite side of the road, where most of the day there is a bus into York every 10 minutes and just a short walk back to the B&B from the bus-stop on the way back from York.
We are going back in October for another lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H.Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

An excellent b&b just outside york town. Annette & Ian who own and run the guest house are very friendly and helpfull . Nothing is too much trouble for them. The guest house was nice and clean and the room was of a high standard. The breakfast was one of the best i've had. We stayed for 4 nights and it was a hugley enjoyable place to stay. The walk into york ( the city walls ) takes about 20-25 mins and thats why i have given the location 4/5. If i go back to york on a holiday again i would love to go back to and stay in this guest house again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

stayed at the guest house for a weekend.
On arrival to the guest house I was given a warm welcome by annette, who showed me to my room and gave me a detailed insight into what york had to offer. The guest house was full of leaflets with tourist information around York and surrounding areas. The room itself was standard - bed cupboard and anologue TV. The bedroom was not on-suite - but the bathroom was on the same floor and was only shared alongside one other room. there was a sink within the room. The only real problem I had with the room was the fact that there was a bit of dust (but I am generally sensitive to dust so prob wouldn't be a problem for most guests) everything else was clean and tidy.

Breakfast options at the hotel consisted of a full english (normal or vegetarian option) tea / coffee and a range of serials. Breakfast was limited to between 9am and 10am in the mornings and orders had to be made the night before.
The guest house was idealy located - it was within walking distance of the castle museum (20mins) and about 25mins to the bars / club area. check in can only be done at certain times so worth checking before booking.
The hotel did have car park spaces - this sometimes filled up but there was plenty of on the street parking. WiFi ws also provided although I never used it
The hotel was relatively expensive to those I usually stay at, but this was due to late booking and the fact that I didn't book directly with the guest house

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 511,915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

very warm & welcoming stay had full english breakfast room was excellent & the owners are very nice people would go again later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BedfordStan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#52 of 195 in York
204 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 195 in York
1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#63 of 195 in York
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
1.8 mi away
York House
York House
#68 of 195 in York
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Saxon House
The Saxon House
#115 of 195 in York
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midway House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing