We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“uninviting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Saxon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saxon House
Ranked #151 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“uninviting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Ideal location. Booked large double bed room, which it was'nt! Bed linen very shabby, the room just looked cold and uninviting, we booked at a reduced rate, which we thought was over priced. The breakfast was good, but first day was warm, second was better. The staff was ok, but scruffy, which an impression was made as soon as we walked in the door.

Room Tip: look else where, we saw better before we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
When you booked you received a large double room, the building variates in its size due to the age of the building itself.
Bed linen we try to keep up to a good standard.
If you booked at a reduced rate that you believed to be overpriced then it is apparent that maybe you should not have booked especially if you had seen better before hand.
The comments made regarding breakfast do not make sense I am afraid so I cannot comment on this.
It is unfair and unjustified to make a comment with regards to the staff, that is causing insult to the people who try their hardest to provide a service, also please note that we are a B&B so we a slightly informal.

if you have any more issues to raise then please contact us.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    63
    38
    39
    20
See reviews for
23
133
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Greeted with friendly staff ,the room was clean and warm,tea /coffee in the room,it was no problem when we asked for more milk,breakfast was brill (just the job for a hangover!) its so nice to have free carparking (York is v expensive to park) short walk to the city, found a nice place to eat called The Loop (5min walk)We have booked the Hotel for York races.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m/bro
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

bedroom small needed curtains. woman who answered door and served breaky wore same clothes 2 days running and was arrogant nothing like photos on net very misleading.

Room Tip: novatel up road go there next time.breaky was rank .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

With regards to the room, the building is a victorian building and it has a variation in size of rooms, we cannot change the size of rooms.
The woman who answered the door is the landlady, she is justified to be able to wear whatever she wants as this is her business and her home.
The breakfast receives great feedback so it is unfair and unjustified that you claim it to be "rank" also Novotel up the road charges far more than a B&B and breakfast is not included.
It is apparent that you should have raised these issues upon departure and is not fair to raise them when we have not had an opportunity to rectify the issues.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

larne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

rooms quite on the small side,four poister bed furniture in the room and bathroom did not leave you much room.the kettle inside was disgusting had never been cleaned.was 3 shades of brown,the springs of the mattress still imprinted in my back.dining room carpet absoloutley filthy.breakfast was great,good choice and size.had paid £70 a night for the 4 poster room,only to be told they had upgraded us to the 4 poster room very confusing.the view from this room a primary school playground and all the bins and rubbish at the back of the hotel.overall much better accomaqdation available.room was very quiet though bit of a hike to town.

Room Tip: dont bother with the 4 poster room,ask for one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review,
The building has a variation of rooms in sizes, so we apologise that the size of the room was hindered by the furniture, the kettle we have replaced and apologise for this as well.
The dining room carpet has been cleaned and we apologise for this as it had gotten into a state due to people spilling and walking through dirt.
As for the view, we cannot do anything about it over looking a school, and it does overlook one bin, that is set back from the building itself.
It was a mistake that it had been said you had been upgraded, this was possibly confusion on our part due to another guests room been upgraded at the time.
We do also advertise that we are a 10 minute walk from town this is something that I am sure you were made aware of so it is unfair to comment on the distance as it is very well advertised and when you booked it would have been advertised.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here recently for a long weekend. Price very reasonable but staff were grouchy and unwelcoming. Asked for coffee that didn't come, it seemed to be rationed to a tiny pot each and extras weren't offered. Staff moaned about having to do the room after 12.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186349Foxyroxy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review.

We apologise regarding the coffee, and if asked we would have gladly provided more.

Rooms are done till one, this is because of future guests checking in from one, also if we remember rightly you stayed in the room till after 12 which made it impossible to tidy the room.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Saxon house delivered everything it advertised and as it is one of a very few guest houses that takes sat night only bookings in York it was a obvious choice for ourselves and we were not left disappointed. Our room was sizeable and the decor and furnishings of a good standard with it also being in a decent location and distance from the city centre.
So I would have no hesitation recommending to others based on our experience of the Saxon house

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here on a long weekend, and it didn't start well! I arrived at the hotel and rang the door bell as the sign told me to, and no one came! So I rang again, and no one came! (this was at about 4.30pm). Luckily a friend had already checked in so I rang her and she let me in!
We also had a head start on the veggie breakfast business as some of our party had been there the night before, but I know one of the veggie's staying for the first night has the same problem as others on this page - your expected to ask for a veggie breakfast the evening before, but no one tells you this until you are sitting in the breakfast room and its to late! Which is strange as the veggie sausages that you get can be cooked from frozen?!
The room itself was fine, clean and with a really nice big four poster bed. There was almost no toiletries available, but the bathroom was clean and functional.
Overal I would stay here again - York is a really expensive city in terms of hotels and this is really good value for money, in a location where you can walk to the centre.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a great room - larger than others that I saw (and the bathroom as well) and also was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_t51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#84 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthorseman
Lighthorseman
#73 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#40 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#36 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#152 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saxon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saxon House

Property: The Saxon House
Address: 71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saxon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Saxon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saxon House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing