We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional pub”
Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Masons Arms
Ranked #75 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2013


A delightful pub on the banks of the fosse. Great selection of real ales and cider in a traditional pub setting. We sat outside in the beer garden with out two teenage children before retiring inside to play dominoes the doors were open and we were looking across to the daffodils on the side of the city walls. Great to have an unspoilt pub with delicious ales.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank margaretspps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

We came here twice for an evening meal because we were staying locally for bed and breakfast. The menu was extensive and the portions huge. Staff were friendly and the bar was very well-stocked. Only problem was the chips were awful! Huge chunks of potato that were soft and not like chips or wedges at all. At least there was no karaoke, darts or jukebox!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolsAbroadFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here last week as we were in York for a wedding. The first thing i'll say is this isn't a B&B, despite being advertised as such. When we asked what time breakfast was served we were told they don't do breakfast but we could go to the Wetherspoons over the road if we wanted. As for the room; it was nice and warm and the bed was comfy but there was no curtain on one of the windows and the walls were paper thin, we had to listen to every word of 'The One Show', which they were evidently watching in the room next door, and the lack of insulation also meant we were woken up when they came back in the early hours of the morning. We paid almost £70 to stay for one night, which is the same amount we have paid to stay in some really lovely B&Bs (that actually provide breakfast), and as such we thought this was hugely overpriced, we would have been happy to pay £40 and little more than that. On the up-side though, it is only a five minute walk into York so it's very convenient for having a look around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel come pub is okay for a quick stay, the room was very warm all the time only downside was it is very basic. For example the shower head was kept up by a tie wrap. However Very good location thats only 5 minute walk from the York dungeons and for only £45 a night you cant expect a 5 star hotel. but would regret paying the £65 a night quoted. The room had all that you needed, wardrobe, bed, tv, bathroom etc. The car park is very small so be warned! only 6-8 spaces. 2 of which are very hard to get in to and i drive a little nissan micra. Overall i did enjoy the stay and would recommend to a friend as its very close to everything you could want...and with a weatherspoons just over the road!

Room Tip: Carpark is very small so ring and see if they will save a space as it is used by people visiting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The room was warm clean and cosy.The food was excellent with a good choice menu.The staff were very friendly and helpful.We will deffinately go again.Make sure you are hungry when you have a meal there because the servings are huge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We usually stay in one of the big hotel chains but they were all booked up for the date we wanted. Late rooms offered this place, I have eaten here many times but was not aware they had rooms. Less than half the price we usually pay, great location, lovely room, good food and very friendly service. What's not to like? We will be back soon. Thanks xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I have just had 5 nights stay in York. Due to the price of the food in our hotel we had seen on Trip Advisor from other guest that it was a good place to go to eat. We were not disappointed. The welcome was very friendly and warm with open fire warming the place. They have a great selection of meals at very good prices. You will be supplied with a very large meal that is well cooked and presented. (If you only want a small amount just ask as the do children size potions). They have a good selection of hand pulled beers which go down well. One night they had a power cut but they got the candles out and we ate in candle and fire light which was very nice as it was snowing outside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorilla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.6 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#38 of 194 in York
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.3 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Grey Horse Inn
The Grey Horse Inn
#71 of 194 in York
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: 6 Fishergate, York YO10 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £75 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Masons Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel York
Masons Arms York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing