We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spur of the moment hol”
Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Masons Arms
Ranked #75 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013

we booked a room here through late rooms very late on sunday night to stay on the monday we were a bit dubious after reading a few of the reviews on here and i can safely say i need not have been worried we were greeted with a warm welcome from the landlord who was very friendly and showed us around the room when we had settled we went into the bar to try a few of the beers where there was a large selection of well looked after cask ales the landlord was very happy to help us find our way around york and pointed us in the right direction with a map and nothing was too much trouble for him i can defiantly say we will be staying here again as it is very close to the center of york with its own parking which is a bonus and the rooms are very comfortable for the price we paid - hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stumbled upon this gem of a pub during our first visit to York in 2004. The food then was excellent and I am pleased to say that the food is as good in 2013.

The menu is extensive and augmented by a selection of home made pies and exotic burgers, Crocodile, Zebra, Camel and Ostrich are the only ones I can remember - didn't see horse burger ;)

The pub is very clean and the service is friendly. Beer and cider is well kept; finally make sure you are hungry before you visit as the portions are massive!!

Room Tip: Get there early as it fills up quickly after 6pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank TravelsWithALaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

stayed across the road at the Travelodge. Ate 1st night at 'spoons then found this little gem. Food outstanding, staff friendly, service good, and atmosphere 2nd to none. Then mixed with the well kept real ale...a wonderful place to spend an evening.

Room Tip: Lamb shank...probably the best I have tasted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ManDebKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013


A delightful pub on the banks of the fosse. Great selection of real ales and cider in a traditional pub setting. We sat outside in the beer garden with out two teenage children before retiring inside to play dominoes the doors were open and we were looking across to the daffodils on the side of the city walls. Great to have an unspoilt pub with delicious ales.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank margaretspps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We came here twice for an evening meal because we were staying locally for bed and breakfast. The menu was extensive and the portions huge. Staff were friendly and the bar was very well-stocked. Only problem was the chips were awful! Huge chunks of potato that were soft and not like chips or wedges at all. At least there was no karaoke, darts or jukebox!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolsAbroadFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here last week as we were in York for a wedding. The first thing i'll say is this isn't a B&B, despite being advertised as such. When we asked what time breakfast was served we were told they don't do breakfast but we could go to the Wetherspoons over the road if we wanted. As for the room; it was nice and warm and the bed was comfy but there was no curtain on one of the windows and the walls were paper thin, we had to listen to every word of 'The One Show', which they were evidently watching in the room next door, and the lack of insulation also meant we were woken up when they came back in the early hours of the morning. We paid almost £70 to stay for one night, which is the same amount we have paid to stay in some really lovely B&Bs (that actually provide breakfast), and as such we thought this was hugely overpriced, we would have been happy to pay £40 and little more than that. On the up-side though, it is only a five minute walk into York so it's very convenient for having a look around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel come pub is okay for a quick stay, the room was very warm all the time only downside was it is very basic. For example the shower head was kept up by a tie wrap. However Very good location thats only 5 minute walk from the York dungeons and for only £45 a night you cant expect a 5 star hotel. but would regret paying the £65 a night quoted. The room had all that you needed, wardrobe, bed, tv, bathroom etc. The car park is very small so be warned! only 6-8 spaces. 2 of which are very hard to get in to and i drive a little nissan micra. Overall i did enjoy the stay and would recommend to a friend as its very close to everything you could want...and with a weatherspoons just over the road!

Room Tip: Carpark is very small so ring and see if they will save a space as it is used by people visiting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.6 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#38 of 194 in York
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.3 mi away
Friars Rest Guest House
6.2 mi away
The Grey Horse Inn
The Grey Horse Inn
#71 of 194 in York
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: 6 Fishergate, York YO10 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £75 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Masons Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel York
Masons Arms York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing