We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Masons Arms
Ranked #80 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Another excellent stay at the Masons Arms. This is the second time we have stayed here, we booked all four double rooms for 8 of us. Rooms are very clean, warm and comfortable with each having own access and FREE parking for residents/pub customers. Tea/coffee replenished daily. Bookings are room only but breakfast is available in Wetherspoons opposite and would definately recommend eating there before all the sightseeing in York. Meals in the pub are fantastic but not for the small eater, pub gets very busy at times and is very friendly and homely, just what you need on a crisp wintery day. Staff are all very friendly. Ideal location for walking into York centre although would recommend using pedestrian crossing rather that risking your life on the bend on Fishergate.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolLooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2007

Fabulous location - few minutes walk into city. Lovely clean, comfortable rooms, good beer, great food - huge portions. So what's the problem??

We'd paid for three rooms for six of us, had a great meal with plenty of drinks all evening, then one of our party asked for a glass of tap water, as we regularly do at the many pubs we visit.

To our horror, this was very bluntly refused and we were told we'd have to buy bottled water. No wanting to cause a fuss we complied with this, but afterwards when we talked about it we realised this was the first time EVER , ANYWHERE , that this request had been refused.

We're all of the opinion that legally you cannot be refused tap water, whether this is absolutely correct, we've yet to check but forget all that, we must have spent, with room, food and drinks,between us the best part of £300 and don't think a glass of water was too much to ask for. Later we said we should have taken our empty glasses and filled them up with water in our rooms.

Only a small detail, I know, but nevertheless this sort of pettiness leaves a nasty taste in your mouth ... literally! and in such a competitive market this should not even have come into the equation. It's these little things that people remember and consequently we'd have to think twice before rebooking, which is a great pity.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank dee0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2007

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Mason's Arms, York. Proprietors were very welcoming and helpful. The room (room 3) was small but clean and sufficient for our needs. Car parking is available just outside the rooms at the back which was a bonus. The pub sells lunches/dinners which were very good. It takes approximately 5 mins to walk right into the centre of York. York is a must to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodholsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

I had lunch in this pub with my girlfriend.

I bought 2 pints of beer and ordered £15 worth of food yet the barmaid refused to serve me a glass of tap water alongside it.
"I can't give you a glass of tap water" she said officiously, as I saw the sink in the kitchen through the door behind her.

Why oh why do certain establishments insist on this ridiculous an misguided policy? I also believe it may be against the law for a catering establishment to refuse to provide tap water if there is a source.

All this did was upset me and leave me feeling I would not go there again.

Apart from this the food was very good, as was the ale. I really think the management of this pub should reconsider this, frankly stupid, rule.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr0bins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

good old fashionable english pub,accomodation satisfactory.
would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2007

My husband and I returned for a second 3 night stay in April. We dont often return to the same place but we loved it last year. The rooms are at the rear of the pub so noise wasnt a problem, and there's no 'chinzy' decor that you so often find in small places. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and nicely furnished. The staff are very friendly but not at all intrusive. The food is excellent and the pub prides itself on ridiculously large portions! Eat early though, as its difficult to find a seat. One thing that did put us off going again was that we decided to eat there on our last night and had already settled at the last table and brought a bottle of wine before we were told that they had run out of chips and rice! Seems like a bit of a staple food to run out of! We decided to eat at a nearby italian recommended by another reviewer - think it was called tatu - and it was excellent . Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainbow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

We have just stayed in the Mason's Arms for the weekend. The rooms were excellent - spotlessly clean and lovely and warm! The owners left us well alone and the food in the pub was outstanding. Hotels is opposite Wetherspoons so we had breakfast there which was dead cheap. The hotel is situated in the perfect location just minutes out of the centre. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. PS If you like 'rocking' pubs visit Yates it's superb!!!

Stayed: March 2007
Thank PummersPuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton York
0.9 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#33 of 195 in York
956 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#105 of 195 in York
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Address: 6 Fishergate, York YO10 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £76 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Masons Arms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel York
Masons Arms York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing