We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B n B heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #20 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“B n B heaven!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for a few nights back in June and still have such good memories that I wanted to write a review. Martin & Bev were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are exactly as advertised and didn't disappoint, provided with everything you could need or want. Upon arrival, welcomed with the most delicous shortbread. The breakfast was AMAZING - cooked to perfection as requested. Think i'd visit again just to have that breakfast again. The walk into York along the river was lovely for my husband and I, but father-in-law did struggle, so just a note of caution. Free on street parking just outside. Really can't fault it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are so pleased from reading your review that you had such a good time when you stayed here with us in June. You loved our homemade shortbread and a good cuppa upon arrival which we must say is scummy You found us to be very welcoming hosts and our breakfasts really hit the spot for you all and as you said you 'will be back just for the breakfast's.' The riverside walk as you said is just so pretty and an easy 15/20 minute all on a flat level which is why it's enjoyed by so many people from walkers joggers cyclists and dog walkers. You also found the free on street parking an added bonus. We look forward to seeing you all on your next visit to York but for now take care and bye for now. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
247
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed at Gregory's for two nights in October half term. We'd seen the reviews here on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed!

Bev and Martin are such welcoming hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. They took time to talk to us and give advice about places to visit and were really helpful when letting us leave our bags to collect later on on our day of departure.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Great quality, beautifully cooked and really tasty. We thought it was a really nice touch to have homemade bread, jam, marmalade and muffins.

Our room was a twin room in the attic. It was compact and very clean. It had everything we could need including some lovely homemade biscuits and fresh milk on request for our tea.

The location of Gregory's meant we could either use the bus which runs to York city centre every half an hour or walk along the river Ouse in about 25 minutes. We recommend the walk if the weather is nice.

Thank you Bev and Martin for making our trip to York so enjoyable!

Rachael and Pip xx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbrown400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles2, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
It was so nice to read such a lovely review about your stay here with us in our home. You both felt we were 'welcoming hosts' and you really appreciated the advice on places to visit we must say York is such a beautiful City and with Christmas coming up its a really special place. Our breakfasts you said were 'delicious' along with our homemade breads jams and muffins. We have been recognised by Deliciously Yorkshire for sourcing local quality breakfast ingredients. Visitengland on their annual inspection awarded us their breakfast award along with four stars and a silver award. Well we look forward to seeing you both again it was such a pleasure being able to spend time with you both but until next time take care. Martin & Bev.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

stayed for 1 night on the 31st oct and had the best time ever.you could not have wished for more from the guest house or should i say home because thats what it felt like, or the owners.everything was top class, martin and bev were lovely and even left some halloween treats in our room, my son as asked when we are going back all i keep saying is soon i hope,thankyou for a lovely stay and a GREAT breakfast,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We were so pleased to see from your review that you all really enjoyed your stay with us in our home. You felt you 'had the best time ever' and that you 'could not have wished for more from a Guest House or should I say home.' Your son enjoyed himself no end especially as it was Halloween we think he enjoyed the 'eye balls' we gave him they tasted better then they looked lol !! You felt our breakfasts were 'GREAT' we are just so pleased we could make your stay a very special one. We look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights as a birthday treat for myself and my husband. Martin and Bev were the perfect hosts. We came back on our first night to a birthday card for each of us and a box of chocolates placed neatly against a balloon in the middle of our bed. The breakfast menu is extensive and they make all their own breads and jams. Delicious, and really sets you up for the day. It's only about a 15 min walk into town along the side of the river or the local bus goes right past the door. They had thought of everything in our very comfortable room even down to supplying face wipes for removing your make-up. They genuinely took an interest in where you had visited and what you were planning for the day. This was our first visit to York and we will definitely go back again, and where will we stay next time? At Gregory's of course!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room One which had two windows, one to the back and one to the side. Nice and light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Oh thanks so much to you both we are so pleased to make both of your birthdays a special one. You loved your stay here with us in our home and our breakfast menu as you said 'set you up for the day.' we know you found the 15 minute walk into York a lovely one via the river your right it's really nice or you can as you said catch the bus to take you into York. Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we must say we too enjoyed meeting you both we really look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in a April and this is a very clean and respectable little guest house of which the owners are clearly, and quite rightly, very proud. However I found it very expensive for what it was.

There is no parking so I had to park on street. Unfortunately somebody decided to write on my car with marker during my stay. I appreciate that this is not the guest house owners' fault but, if you are driving, you may wish to consider finding somewhere with private parking. (I got the pen off the car so no long term damage was done)

The room was clean but very small. It was also very hot overnight but, when I mentioned this, the owners made it quite clear that this was my fault for not turning the radiator off.

Location-wise, there is a lovely riverside walk to the centre of York. This was a highlight for me.

Martin and Bev's hospitality is very attentive. You can look forward to being welcomed each and every time you come through the front door...

I personally think better value is available elsewhere but the owners must be doing something right given the reviews they are getting on here. If you are under 35 and on a city break, I would suggest going for a hotel in the city centre.

On the other hand, if you're looking for attentive, highly personalised service then Martin and Bev will give you that with bells on.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandblastedCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles2, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
This Guests stayed with us in April and we were pleased to note we 'were very clean and a respectable little Guest House.' you said you loved the walk into York along the riverside walk we must admit it is very pretty. You felt 'our hospitality is very attentive and that Guests can look forward to being welcomed each and everytime they come through the door.' we were also pleased to see that if Guests are 'looking for attentive highly personlised service then Martin & Bev will give you that with bells on.' We feel that at £70.00 a night we are very competitive but as you said 'we must be doing something right given our reviews.'' You also said you were hot overnight but your thermostatic valve on the radiator was still turned on which you had mentioned. Fans are placed in all the rooms and with the thermostatic valves on the radiators this gives Guests the opportunity to regulate their own level of comfort. We advertise on our website that we have free on street parking we were sorry to hear about your car we knew nothing about this. In ten years that we have lived on Bishopthorpe Road we have not had any problems. The Sunday Times has voted us the 9th best street to live on beating Nottinghill. We would like to thank this Guest for her kind comments about us and our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just had 2 nights here. There are only 4 rooms but the but the small size comes with a great character. As others have said, the welcome is generous and informative, the breakfasts are a real treat and walking back from the centre of York in the evenings alongside the river is a good option for working off any city centre excesses. It's a little longer than following the road, but well lit and much more relaxing.

Enjoy. Thanks Bev and Martin.

Room Tip: The attic room (Room 4) is smaller than the others. OK for a couple of nights, but one of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W11120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We were so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us 'a little gem B&B at its best.' You came with your friends who booked the twin room for you. They are repeat customers here with us and always enjoy their stay with us as you did. You felt we made you feel 'welcome generous and informative'. Our breakfasts you said were 'a real treat' as were your evening meals at Rustique if I remember. The river as you said is lovely we are so lucky to live by such a lovely walk into York we just love it and so did you. Well we look forward to seeing you again. Martin & Bev x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We both work hard, and one of our favourite places to visit for a few days break together is York. The best thing about staying at Gregory's is that it's part of the visit, not just a place to stay. Welcoming, friendly, helpful hosts, lovely rooms, FANTASTIC breakfasts and only 15 minutes walk (OK 25 at a stroll) from the beautiful historic centre of York. Total chill time. Thanks (again) Bev & Martin.

Room Tip: Just let them know in advance if you have any particular needs, they will accommodate you if they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulYoung212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Oh it was so lovely to see you both again and you have had a busy year so you needed 'total chill time.' Its always so lovely to see you both you love staying with us and you love York and the 15 minute walk into the City along the riverside walk. Our breakfast's really hit the spot with you both and the eggy crumpets and the full English are a firm favourite with you both. Thanks again for all your lovely comments and we would like to say that you too are 'friendly and lovely people.' Take care for now and we will see you soon. Martin & Bev xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 192 in York
1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Property: Gregory's Guest House
Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing