We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #26 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at Gregory's Guest House. Wow, the room (#1) was just as described and pictured on the website. Very warm and comfortable with plenty of extras including scrummy homemade biscuits. As for the breakfast, definitely a must and worthy of all the reviews and awards. On the second morning Bev offered me a lighter option ......... as I said, No thanks, I'm on my holidays, full English every time!! Bev and Martin are excellent hosts, helpful and not overbearing. From booking to the welcoming texts prior to arrival, nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely be back, hopefully before not too long. Thank you again, Martin and Bev :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LancasterMeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Wow !! thanks so much for your great review we are so pleased we good make your stay a special one. You found us to be very welcoming and you loved our home as much as we do. Our homemade biscults and breakfasts really hit spot with you especially our full English it is a real treat on your hols as you said and why not !! It was such a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just returned from a fabulous two night stay at Gregory's guest house. What a find! And it's all credit to Bev and Martin, the welcoming owners! After being shown to our beautifully appointed room, homemade shortbread and coffee were brought for us whilst we settled in and unpacked. Also, lovely extra touches around the bedroom made us think, 'Wow, so glad we chose this establishment!' Breakfast was fantastic! As a vegetarian myself, I certainly wasn't disappointed! So much choice and all lovingly prepared! And homemade bread and preserves too! Fabulous! We also found Bev and Martin to be so knowledgeable about the city and its environs! They were happy to spend time with us recommending walks and restaurants and Martin even booked a time at a local golf course for my husband and golfing partner to play at. We will most definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks so much for your very kind review by all accounts you had such a great time. You stayed with us on our special offer which you found on our website 2 nights for £128.00 Sun -Thurs until the 22nd of Dec 2013. You loved our home as much as we do and upon arrival you found us both to be very welcoming. Our shortbread you said was so good along with our homemade breads jams and biscuits you also loved our breakfasts. Whilst you were here Martin was able to put you in touch with the local golf course so that you could book your game of golf. But not all of you went golfing the other half of your party went shopping it sounds good to me !!! Anyhow until the next time take care for now and have a great Christmas and New Year. Martin & Bev xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for a few nights back in June and still have such good memories that I wanted to write a review. Martin & Bev were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are exactly as advertised and didn't disappoint, provided with everything you could need or want. Upon arrival, welcomed with the most delicous shortbread. The breakfast was AMAZING - cooked to perfection as requested. Think i'd visit again just to have that breakfast again. The walk into York along the river was lovely for my husband and I, but father-in-law did struggle, so just a note of caution. Free on street parking just outside. Really can't fault it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are so pleased from reading your review that you had such a good time when you stayed here with us in June. You loved our homemade shortbread and a good cuppa upon arrival which we must say is scummy You found us to be very welcoming hosts and our breakfasts really hit the spot for you all and as you said you 'will be back just for the breakfast's.' The riverside walk as you said is just so pretty and an easy 15/20 minute all on a flat level which is why it's enjoyed by so many people from walkers joggers cyclists and dog walkers. You also found the free on street parking an added bonus. We look forward to seeing you all on your next visit to York but for now take care and bye for now. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed at Gregory's for two nights in October half term. We'd seen the reviews here on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed!

Bev and Martin are such welcoming hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. They took time to talk to us and give advice about places to visit and were really helpful when letting us leave our bags to collect later on on our day of departure.

The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Great quality, beautifully cooked and really tasty. We thought it was a really nice touch to have homemade bread, jam, marmalade and muffins.

Our room was a twin room in the attic. It was compact and very clean. It had everything we could need including some lovely homemade biscuits and fresh milk on request for our tea.

The location of Gregory's meant we could either use the bus which runs to York city centre every half an hour or walk along the river Ouse in about 25 minutes. We recommend the walk if the weather is nice.

Thank you Bev and Martin for making our trip to York so enjoyable!

Rachael and Pip xx

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbrown400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles2, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

It was so nice to read such a lovely review about your stay here with us in our home. You both felt we were 'welcoming hosts' and you really appreciated the advice on places to visit we must say York is such a beautiful City and with Christmas coming up its a really special place. Our breakfasts you said were 'delicious' along with our homemade breads jams and muffins. We have been recognised by Deliciously Yorkshire for sourcing local quality breakfast ingredients. Visitengland on their annual inspection awarded us their breakfast award along with four stars and a silver award. Well we look forward to seeing you both again it was such a pleasure being able to spend time with you both but until next time take care. Martin & Bev.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

stayed for 1 night on the 31st oct and had the best time ever.you could not have wished for more from the guest house or should i say home because thats what it felt like, or the owners.everything was top class, martin and bev were lovely and even left some halloween treats in our room, my son as asked when we are going back all i keep saying is soon i hope,thankyou for a lovely stay and a GREAT breakfast,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We were so pleased to see from your review that you all really enjoyed your stay with us in our home. You felt you 'had the best time ever' and that you 'could not have wished for more from a Guest House or should I say home.' Your son enjoyed himself no end especially as it was Halloween we think he enjoyed the 'eye balls' we gave him they tasted better then they looked lol !! You felt our breakfasts were 'GREAT' we are just so pleased we could make your stay a very special one. We look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights as a birthday treat for myself and my husband. Martin and Bev were the perfect hosts. We came back on our first night to a birthday card for each of us and a box of chocolates placed neatly against a balloon in the middle of our bed. The breakfast menu is extensive and they make all their own breads and jams. Delicious, and really sets you up for the day. It's only about a 15 min walk into town along the side of the river or the local bus goes right past the door. They had thought of everything in our very comfortable room even down to supplying face wipes for removing your make-up. They genuinely took an interest in where you had visited and what you were planning for the day. This was our first visit to York and we will definitely go back again, and where will we stay next time? At Gregory's of course!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room One which had two windows, one to the back and one to the side. Nice and light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Oh thanks so much to you both we are so pleased to make both of your birthdays a special one. You loved your stay here with us in our home and our breakfast menu as you said 'set you up for the day.' we know you found the 15 minute walk into York a lovely one via the river your right it's really nice or you can as you said catch the bus to take you into York. Well we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we must say we too enjoyed meeting you both we really look forward to the next time but for now take care. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here in a April and this is a very clean and respectable little guest house of which the owners are clearly, and quite rightly, very proud. However I found it very expensive for what it was.

There is no parking so I had to park on street. Unfortunately somebody decided to write on my car with marker during my stay. I appreciate that this is not the guest house owners' fault but, if you are driving, you may wish to consider finding somewhere with private parking. (I got the pen off the car so no long term damage was done)

The room was clean but very small. It was also very hot overnight but, when I mentioned this, the owners made it quite clear that this was my fault for not turning the radiator off.

Location-wise, there is a lovely riverside walk to the centre of York. This was a highlight for me.

Martin and Bev's hospitality is very attentive. You can look forward to being welcomed each and every time you come through the front door...

I personally think better value is available elsewhere but the owners must be doing something right given the reviews they are getting on here. If you are under 35 and on a city break, I would suggest going for a hotel in the city centre.

On the other hand, if you're looking for attentive, highly personalised service then Martin and Bev will give you that with bells on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandblastedCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles2, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

This Guests stayed with us in April and we were pleased to note we 'were very clean and a respectable little Guest House.' you said you loved the walk into York along the riverside walk we must admit it is very pretty. You felt 'our hospitality is very attentive and that Guests can look forward to being welcomed each and everytime they come through the door.' we were also pleased to see that if Guests are 'looking for attentive highly personlised service then Martin & Bev will give you that with bells on.' We feel that at £70.00 a night we are very competitive but as you said 'we must be doing something right given our reviews.'' You also said you were hot overnight but your thermostatic valve on the radiator was still turned on which you had mentioned. Fans are placed in all the rooms and with the thermostatic valves on the radiators this gives Guests the opportunity to regulate their own level of comfort. We advertise on our website that we have free on street parking we were sorry to hear about your car we knew nothing about this. In ten years that we have lived on Bishopthorpe Road we have not had any problems. The Sunday Times has voted us the 9th best street to live on beating Nottinghill. We would like to thank this Guest for her kind comments about us and our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 195 in York
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 195 in York
1,461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#17 of 195 in York
375 reviews
1.8 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
2.5 mi away
Sleepers Guest House
Sleepers Guest House
#27 of 195 in York
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gregory's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing