We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Genuine Warmth and Hospitality"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gregory's Guest House
Ranked #25 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B last year as we were going to York races, and the hotel is located with in a ten minute walk to the course. Also, if like us you just want to park up and not drive, you can walk along the river to York Town within fifteen minutes. It was not only the location of the B&B that made us return again this year, or the homely feeling that you get from the rooms. It is the hosts Bev and Martin; you are made to feel welcome from the start of your stay until you depart.
The standard of the rooms are good and offers you tea and coffee making facilities, along with home made biscuits. Bev and Martin also offer a great breakfast and cater for all dietary requirements.
Their genuine warmth and hospitality is second to none and would we stay again.......... A BIG FAT YES.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

It was lovely to see you both again this year. The Races we know are a firm favourite with you guys especially since you had a massive win lol !! As you said we are only a 10 minute walk to the Race Course and only 15 minutes into York along the riverside walk which we know you both love. Our breakfasts set you up for the day and the day before you arrived we were assessed again by VisitEngland and the Inspector awarded us again our 4 Stars a Silver and Breakfast Award which we are delighted with. This is to add to our Deliciously Yorkshire award for our outstanding breakfasts sourcing good quality local ingredients. We are looking forward to seeing you both again but for now take care. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary with a weekend at York races, and this lovely guest house made the trip extra special. The room was immaculate, warm and homely, and the hosts were cheerful, chatty and helpful at all times. Very easy to warm to - the kind of people you could be friends for life with! The breakfast they serve is absolutely delicious with locally sourced produce. We would most definitely stay at Gregory's again, and would whole-heartedly recommend it to friends staying in York. Thank you to Bev and Martin for a fantastic stay, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Katie and Richard

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tidybeard01 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

We were delighted to read from your review that you had such a good time here with us in our home. You loved our breakfasts and what a great way to start the day at the Races. It was a pleasure having you both staying in our home it's so nice to meet such lovely people and we were so pleased we could make your stay a special one. We very much look forward to next time but for now take. Martin & Bev xxxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A brilliant place to stay. Not only are the rooms (and breakfasts) of excellent quality, but Martin and Bev went above and beyond to help us out when we were struck by illness/injury. Their kindness made what could have been a disastrous weekend much more positive.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirstythescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Aw thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased we could make your stay a positive one after one of you had a illness and the other an injury. We feel we only did what anyone would have done to help you both. It was important to us to make sure you could feel as a relaxed as possible and to really enjoy your stay. We think we did that and from your review you said 'we went above and beyond to help us out.' We look forward to seeing you both again and we hope you managed to get home safely. Take care for now. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

from the momnet we arrive to home made shortcake and a cup ot tea, Martin and Bev could have done no more to make our stay enjoyable. We had bikes and it was no problem to keep them in their garage and they were very accomodating.
Breakfast was very good and bathroom all very clean as was bed sheets etc.
Recomended for those on a budget as location was perfect, right on route 65 for cycling into york or as we did selby (about 15 miles each way)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We hope you both have recovered from your cycle ride into Selby it is 13 miles from here along a very pretty cycle track and then back again !! It was so nice to see you both and you enjoyed your stay here with us and found our breakfasts great too. Our homemade shortbread and a cuppa was a welcome sight after your long journey. Take care for now and we look forward to seeing you both soon. Happy cycling just a pity you can't make it back here for the Tour De France as it passes our front door how cool is that we are so looking forward to seeing this world class sporting event. See you soon. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Gregory's last weekend and had a marvellous stay. Martin and Bev were great hosts and the accommodation and breakfast was lovely. It was a short walk along the river to York centre and Martin gave us plenty of information about places to visit. We would most definitely stay here again.(I also had one of the best nights sleep that I have had in a long time!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jammaker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Aw thanks so much for your very lovely review it was so very kind of you both. We are pleased you found our 'accommodation and breakfast to be lovely.' You really enjoyed the short walk into York along the riverside walk we must say it is very pretty now the icecream boat is back lol !! We would love to see you both again as you said 'we will defiantly be back.' Take care for now and thanks again see you both soon. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My original review (and account) appears to have vanished, so a quick recap - Martin and Bev were incredible hosts, and even went to the extent of leaving chocolates and a card in the room knowing the trip was my belated birthday present. The room itself was beautiful and the breakfast was awesome, including delicious, locally-sourced ingredients.The location is ideal - a quick walk through the park alongside the river brings you to the centre of town. My girlfriend and I had an incredible stay and were really grateful for the hospitality we received. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Tripadvisor must have gremlins in its system for your review to disappear. Anyhow we are so pleased we are still in your thoughts since your stay here with us in 2009. You felt we were 'incredible hosts' and as it was your birthday you loved our treat we placed in your room. You also felt that our locally sourced breakfasts produce really hit the spot with you we must admit going that extra mile to source your ingredients locally is well worth the quality its always of a high standard. You also loved the riverside walk into York you can just park your car here and walk into York it's only a 15-20minute walk. Anyhow take care and we will see you soon. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Thanks Martin & Bev for being so welcoming on our recent stay with you. Your 'homely touches' were really lovely, it was over & above what we would normally expect at a B&B. The fabulous breakfasts really set us up for the day & the walks into York centre via the river were really lovely too. The accommodation was also really cosy providing everything we needed & our room was very clean & comfortable. A special thanks from Karen for the choccies & also from David for the homemade shortbread. We would recommend Gregory's to anybody visiting York. Thanks again from Liz & Karen xxxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatles, Owner at Gregory's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are so pleased that you found our home to have 'homely touches' and that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay here with us. The breakfasts you said 'set you up for day' and the walk into York you are right is along the riverside walk and is so pretty. We must not forget our homemade shortbread which you loved upon your arrival with a good cuppa. Take care for now and we look forward to seeing you both again in the near future. Martin & Bev xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 195 in York
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 195 in York
1,451 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#42 of 195 in York
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apple House Guest Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 195 in York
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregory's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregory's Guest House

Address: 160 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregory's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small & friendly Bed & Breakfast located on the award winning 'Best High Street In The UK''Bishyrd' here on Bishopthorpe Road in York. We have two breakfast awards and a four star and silver award from VisitEngland. All our rooms are en suite with all the essentials towels, shaving point, hairdryer, trouser press, TV, DVD player, free wifi, books maps and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer various options from our Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast including our full English or other options from our extensive breakfast menu,we also offer a vegetarian,dairy free,and gluten free breakfast. Ample free on-street parking means you can leave your car here at our bed and breakfast and walk along the riverside walk into York.Take care for now and see you soon. Martin & Bev gregorysofyork ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gregory's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregory`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing