We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly”
Review of Holgate Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holgate Hill Hotel
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I read some goo and bad reviews so did not know what to expect. The decor in the common areas is a bit dated, but the room was impeccably clean and modernised and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is not perfect, as I was expecting it to be in the centre, but there is a bus stop right in front of it and taxi rides are very cheap (less than £5). The cooked breakfast could be better, but overall I definitely recommend this for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 217lbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you are looking for a decent hotel thats quite near the centre you could do a lot worse than staying here, its a gentle 10 minute walk from the train station, the staff are polite and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean - breakfast is more than ample. I've paid a lot more money to stay in far worse hotels, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I'll echo the post of another recent reviewer : "Stayed here for a weekend trip to York and it's a good budget option. ... and breakfast buffet was good with full cooked English breakfast available too. The location is perfect - just 10 minutes' walk from the station and city centre. In short, not super fancy, but a good basic hotel."

We were here between Christmas and New Year's Eve 2012 and the hotel provides comfortable, convenient accommodation with easy access to the Train Station (and National Railway Museum) and city centre (especially as it included parking - Some of the big hotels by the river had no parking when we stayed as their underground car parks were flooded!).

The cooked breakfasts were excellent, generous and freshly cooked to our request.

Only negatives were the kids' room had some stains on the carpet and shower in our room wasn't a proper one (came off the taps) and didn't provide usable pressure, but neither would dissuade us from staying at this comfortable, friendly hotel again.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here for a weekend trip to York and it's a good budget option. Room was clean and equipped with toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities, and breakfast buffet was good with full cooked English breakfast available too. The location is perfect - just 10 minutes' walk from the station and city centre. In short, not super fancy, but a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We found it difficult to find the hotel initially as the sign was quite faded and hidden. The lady on reception was lovely and was incredibly helpful with regards to info on where to visit/eat etc. we were told, however, that the hotel was hosting Christmas parties over our stay. It meant that we were unable to use the pretty residents lounge as it was right next to the party room.
The room was small, quite dated and overlooked the side road. It was very clean however and there was a bathtub as well as shower available. the tea facilities were very good and varied with plenty of milk and sugar.

The breakfast was rather mixed. The first day everything went smoothly and the cooked items were quite good. There was also a good selection of cereals. The second day, however, was entirely different. The breakfast period at the weekend is 8 until 10 (or so we were informed). We arrived at 9.25 to see all of the breakfast items stacked on the bar ready to be cleared away. We were not asked to sit down, despite there being a young lad behind the bar and a girl clearing tables. In fact we were totally ignored. Eventually we sat at the closest table, as all were in the same state anyway- stained covers, crumbs everywhere and no cutlery or cups. We waited for a good 5 mins before being asked if we wanted hot drinks, which came without cups and lumps in the hot choc. I ordered eggs, sausages and toast. Well, eggs, a mouldy looking thin sausage and soggy bread.

Overall I probably wouldn't stay again. The two ladies on reception were really lovely, the room was clean and comfortable.... But for the money we paid we could have stayed somewhere in the city walls (it was about 30 mins walk to the minster) and had a good hearty brekky. I would not have been happy if I had paid the full asking price.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank casualelegance88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed here for one night to do bit of Xmas shopping with my hubs. Hotel is much nicer and far more grander than it looks from the outside, not modern but clean and inviting. On arrival the owner Hazel was friendly and welcoming, and knew parts of Liverpool so we hit it off straight away. Room was cosy and plenty of wardrobe space ( not that we required it for one nights stay). Had a great nights sleep as the The bed was so comfortable, and those pillows lol! Only thing that bothered me was only one plug socket to use as the other was behind the dresser and not accessible but that's just me being picky bec I was doing my hair and wanted to charge my phone at same time but couldn't. (room number 18 for future ref ). James on the bar was lovely and friendly and chatted whilst he was busy serving drinks and doing everything else bec it was a Christmas party for council staff that evening, he was up at the crack of dawn next day still with a friendly smile to serve us our wonderful breakfast. May not be suitable for those who have mobility problems as a few steps and stairs to climb! Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Room 18 has one plug socket..so may be an idea if staying longer to take double adapter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crosby8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

It is a year since I last stayed at the Holgate Hill Hotel. I was in a party of 12 for a military reunion this is the 2nd time we have used this hotel. If you are looking for modern premises with electronic room keys, vending machines in the corridors and templated rooms then this is not the place for you - you need to spend a bit more and head for one of the big chain hotels.

If you are looking for good old fashioned service then this may be the place for you. The Hotel is situated. a short walk from the City Centre, it sits back from the road and has a small car park. The hotel is housed in a mature property. The bar and dining room are very pleasantly furnished in a traditional style. The room I was in was clean, well appointed and comfortable, the decor was showing signs of age though the bathroom looked as if it had been recently upgraded.

The Staff from the owner down were very helpful and attentive. We had a group dinner in the hotel, the menu we were given was reasonably varied the food itself was of good quality was well presented and we received good service throughout the dinner. Breakfast the following morning was served by the owner herself - pretty standard but good British cooked breakfast but with a good selection of cereals, fruit etc for those who wanted it.

I suppose you could describe the hotel as old fashioned - it certainly is - but that for me is the strength of the place and why my friends and I returned again this year. Opulent luxury is not on offer some of the decor needs attention but old fashioned service, reasonable rates, reasonable rooms and good food is. May not suit all but would not hesitate to stay again and likely will.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMFC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 47 in York
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 47 in York
643 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Hill Hotel

Address: 124 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £79 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holgate Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holgate Hill York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing