We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York stopover”
Review of Holgate Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holgate Hill Hotel
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A good value option if you are driving into or through York. There is car parking at the front of the hotel. Easy to leave your car there and the hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from the city centre, or a 20 minute walk away. Comfortable rooms, and a solid breakfast, more suited for a budget or family trip, comfortable, but not romantic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife & I Have stayed in York on many occasions on route from Scotland to visit family in Cambridgeshire. We generally stay for one night to do some shopping and enjoy the history of the city, restaurants and bars. We struggled to get a room for one night in York's centre as it was a bank holiday easter weekend but managed to get a room at the Holgate Hill. We checked the reviews which on the whole were good so booked the room. On arrival we were greeted by a very nice young man, handed our room key & directed to our room. We were so disappointed with the room for a number of reasons. The room was by far the worst room we have ever stayed in. Very small. The furnishings would have been more at home in a skip. The room & bathroom were freezing even after turning the radiators up to maximum. I went back to reception to request a better room but was told it was the last room in the hotel. We had an awful nights sleep and the bathroom was so cold and drafty I think I broke records to get showered. We did enjoy the breakfast and the staff were very courteous and friendly. On checking out we complained about the standard of the room for the money we paid. The lady at reception said she would make management aware of the problems with the room which of course they are already aware. They dumped us in there because they assumed we would put up with it for one night. Well I am afraid its not on! Avoid room 18.

Room Tip: Avoid room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookinWiGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Friendly, clean and well placed hotel. Very highly recommended and great value for money. Perfect for anyone thinking of visiting York. Friendly staff made it a pleasure and fine breakfast an added bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is a well run little place. Clean and welcoming. I liked the attention to detail of the staff. For example there was a good choice of breakfast cereal and over Easter there were hot cross buns and choccie eggs at breakfast. Walking distance to York city centre if you're doing the tourist thing.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank beetleboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Second time I have stayed, both for work, and I just needed somewhere clean, comfortable, hot & cold running water and a good breakfast. I have to say it more than acheived on all points. I was welcomed on arrival with a smooth quick sign in. The hotel room was spacious clean well appointed with a great bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and a great location close enough to the city to walk but far enough away to be quiet. The breakfast was fast hot and tasty. One thing I would say is if you want to drive into the city in the morning be warned it is very busy round there. All in all I would say it is well recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveorpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is like so many british hotels, in need of modernisation. Our room - 1A was small and shabby, badly in need of decoration, the ancient toilet had no handbasin, you had to walk across the room to the shower room, which was grotty and 70's avocado green. That said, the beds, although small, were comfortable and clean.
The breakfast was lovely and the dining rooms and lounge were nice too. The biggest plus for us was that the hotel has free parking, that in itself must be worth £15 - 20 pounds! The hotel is an easy walk into central York and there was no problem at all in the morning leaving the car while we had a last look around the walls before we set off home. The staff were unfailing helpful. We would stay here again, although we would hope to get a nicer room next time, and apparently some of the rooms have been renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the modernised rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandagirldurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I read some goo and bad reviews so did not know what to expect. The decor in the common areas is a bit dated, but the room was impeccably clean and modernised and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is not perfect, as I was expecting it to be in the centre, but there is a bus stop right in front of it and taxi rides are very cheap (less than £5). The cooked breakfast could be better, but overall I definitely recommend this for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 217lbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
716 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,392 reviews
1 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 47 in York
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Hill Hotel

Address: 124 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £85 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holgate Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holgate Hill York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing