We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad hotel”
Review of Holgate Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holgate Hill Hotel
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 28 March 2010

i went to holgate hill hotel with my school in my room the shower room had no door it was just a shower cirtain that was suppose to cover the door and shower. The beds well u had to sleep on 2 nitted blankets how ofel and tea was minging but saff were friendly enough that was the only good point . The hotel needs a lot of decorating done and a lot of work
LITTLE ADVICE DONT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daweetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by this little gem.

After reading some reviews I was nervous about this hotel, but pleasantly surprised at how wrong they were.

The hotel was clean, heating more than sufficient, room small but cosy. Bathroom (no bath but shower) was also small but recently redone, in top shape.

Breakfast is proper English fair; eggs toast bacon tomato. Breakfast platter includes cereals, juice, breads, yoghurt and croissants.

City is within walking distance. Has bus service from directly in front of hotel. Hotel has free car parking, although this seems to get fairly tight at times.

The hotel has free wifi/internet, although the signal is not very strong. Try the reading room across from reception if you have problems.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

After cancelling a proposed reservation for June 2010 the hotel in question have refunded the full cost of accommodation notwithstanding the fact that the booking was classified as non-refundable. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank JOHNSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

nice and friendly staff but thats about it im sorry to say,its a good 15-20 min walk to the centre there is a bus stop out side if you want it though.the breakfast was very sparing,not enough to get you through the day,well it was'nt for me the room was smallish and im afraid not very clean and it was cold very low heating for october.so for the price there are far better hotels in the area and closer to the main shops and attractions.one more thing york is very very nice,enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylonauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This place needs to be avoided at all costs. It is dated, drab, dirty and I do not know how it dares call itself a hotel. The carpet was filthy and sticky, I had to place a towel on the floor between the bathroom and the bed so that I could undress and shower without having to place my bare feet on the carpet. The padded headboard was so stained and dirty that I placed the pillow vertically against it when I slept to avoid my head touching it. There was no heating in my room. The beds have bedspreads/smelly dusty blankets and sheets; I was cold but could not pull the blankets up to my neck as they made me sneeze and cough so much. In the end I slept in my coat with the blankets at waist height. The shower did not work at all, and i was advised to try the communal bathroom (no shower, only a filthy bath in it). I had to take photos of the room and bathroom to show my husband, he would simply not have believed how bad it was.

The most awful thing is that the website/ guests manual refer to tastefully decorated rooms, they refer to comfort. The owners are seriously in denial.

Go there at your peril. It is NOT a nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRIJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I booked this hotel last minute as there were few alternatives. The hotel is rated 2 stars but doesnt even deserve those. Think of Fawlty Towers and this hotel seems to be stuck in that era. Dreadful decor, furniture didnt match and was cheap flat pack battered units, avocado toilet and shower in a cupboard, heating not working. Breakfast mediocre. It cost £78 for one night which was far too expensive for this awful place. DONT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Very dated hotel, needs complete refurbishment. Room furniture fittings very old. Bathroom needed completely redoing as looked dirty. Bed uncomfortable. Communal areas were ok and the staff were nice overall. Good location. Not worth the rack rate but if you can get for £20-£30 then go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Hill Hotel

Address: 124 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £79 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holgate Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holgate Hill York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing