We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - despite being Fawlty Towers-esque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holgate Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holgate Hill Hotel
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in York
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel - despite being Fawlty Towers-esque!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My partner and I stayed here for one night when we were in York for his company's Christmas 'do.

Yes, the decor is rather dated, but I actually found it rather charming. The room was a little small, but it had all of the essentials - it even had a small plasma TV on the wall with plenty of channels! The bathroom was an avacado suite, but it was clean enough so I can't say it bothered us! The temperature of the water in the shower was a little temperamental, but once you'd got it in the right place it was fine.

The staff there were great, very friendly and welcoming. When we arrived we were in such a rush as we had to shower and change to get there on time, and my fiance asked for an iron to use as he hadn't bothered to iron his shirt (men, eh?) one of the hosuekeepers offered to iron his short for him, then bought it to our room for us! The waiters/waitresses serving breakfast were happy to change things from the menu (great as I'm a fussy eater) and were tolerant of our inevitable hangovers! The receptionist also offered to put our bags in the back-room for safekeeping when checking out as we wanted to wander around York for a bit then pick up the car, so we didn't have to lug our overnight bags and dress/suit bags through York in the snow and ice!

Overall, yes it's a bit dated (and you do feel like you're in an episode of Fawlty towers) but it's clean, has all of the essentials, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixiepoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    82
    45
    15
    16
See reviews for
16
109
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Arrived lunch time saturday, couldnt get in the car park blocked by a car awaiting a tow, asked the receptionist (not very helpful) what to do, I got was 'would you like to pay for your room now'. Bedroom very tired needs a lick of paint! Breakfast was very poor, have stayed in York in different b&b's and this was the worst one of all (portions fit for a child).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

A lovely, large building that stands out. A nice warm welcome and was shown to our room. We had the four poster room which we would totally recommend whether it's a special occasion or not! The bed was gorgeous (although too soft for my bad back!!)

Also saw one of the other rooms and was a nice double, very clean and fairly modern.
The bathroom was spotlessly clean and consisted of all the towels and complimentary shampoo's etc you would need.
Would definitely stay there again. I'm a travel agent too and am baffled at some of the comments that have been wrote on here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulmersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

i went to holgate hill hotel with my school in my room the shower room had no door it was just a shower cirtain that was suppose to cover the door and shower. The beds well u had to sleep on 2 nitted blankets how ofel and tea was minging but saff were friendly enough that was the only good point . The hotel needs a lot of decorating done and a lot of work
LITTLE ADVICE DONT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daweetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

I was pleasantly surprised by this little gem.

After reading some reviews I was nervous about this hotel, but pleasantly surprised at how wrong they were.

The hotel was clean, heating more than sufficient, room small but cosy. Bathroom (no bath but shower) was also small but recently redone, in top shape.

Breakfast is proper English fair; eggs toast bacon tomato. Breakfast platter includes cereals, juice, breads, yoghurt and croissants.

City is within walking distance. Has bus service from directly in front of hotel. Hotel has free car parking, although this seems to get fairly tight at times.

The hotel has free wifi/internet, although the signal is not very strong. Try the reading room across from reception if you have problems.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

After cancelling a proposed reservation for June 2010 the hotel in question have refunded the full cost of accommodation notwithstanding the fact that the booking was classified as non-refundable. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

nice and friendly staff but thats about it im sorry to say,its a good 15-20 min walk to the centre there is a bus stop out side if you want it though.the breakfast was very sparing,not enough to get you through the day,well it was'nt for me the room was smallish and im afraid not very clean and it was cold very low heating for october.so for the price there are far better hotels in the area and closer to the main shops and attractions.one more thing york is very very nice,enjoy

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baylonauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#37 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holgate Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holgate Hill Hotel

Property: Holgate Hill Hotel
Address: 124 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holgate Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holgate Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holgate Hill York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing