We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - restaurant service a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Notts,England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Stay - restaurant service a let down”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the premier inn on sunday 6th november, we have stayed here before and often pick premier inns for one night stays as you know what your getting, receptionists were very friendly, quick check in and room usual premier inn spec, no issues what so ever, we ate in the beefeater grill next to the hotel, i must say the food was fantastic and so was the decor but the service let them down, drinks and order taken quickly by a very nice gentleman supervisor or manager maybe as no uniform, then when food arrived we had to wait a long time for additional bottomless chips and also were never asked if we would like another srink nor were our plates taken nor dessert order taken throughout this one waitress stood working a a station within view of our table, i had to go and ask for our dessert then when they arrived they were poor, breakfast next morning was excellent - different waitresses - ratings are based on hotel not restaurant

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    298
    80
    38
    20
See reviews for
325
374
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havant
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Nice hotel, no problems at all, except a noisy fan below our room from the kitchen. Good parking and breakfast. Clean and modern.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

York is expensive to stay and park in but this Premier Inn was ideal, it was close to the city without being in it so a lot less expensive. Yet it was very near an excellent and very frequent Park and Ride bus service which had us quickly in the town centre. Being in a Business park off the main road it was free of traffic noise. There were also several places to eat within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. They suggested using the Park and Ride which saved us a fortune.

Room Tip: Just ask to be located well away from the next door kitchen ( quiet after 10.00pm) the main road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

get more staff in the restaurant and behind the bar

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphne2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here for a three night sight seeing break. The hotel is on a business park,with a busy A road and a main railway line running alongside. Parking facilities are very good. We arrived after 2pm, the given check in time to find no one on reception. We rang the bell and waited five mins for someone to come. When she did and we gave our name she told us our room wasnt ready due to being busy. Payment was taken and we were asked to wait in the bar. About an hour later our key was given to us
. We had a top floor room overlooking some offices,quieter than a front room. Our room was of a good standard however there were dirty handprints over the mirror and a funny smell in there. We ate in theBeefeater restaurant that first night. After being sat down and told our waitresses name,we were then ignored by her for over half an hour while she gave all her attention to two young men and a large family. We approached the manager who askef her to come and serve us. Food was of a very good standard,good range too.
Breakfast very good,lovely lady called Lynne serving,friendly and couldnt do enough to make us feel welcome.
Room kept clean throughout our stay however only given one towel on one of the days.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reality123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This hotel is need of a complete refurbishment. and the attached Beef-eater restaurant needs a real chef

Room Tip: cant help except that at the front you can hear the trains and the traffic and at the back you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Have stayed at this hotel before, staff are genuinely very friendly and welcoming, rooms are clean, comfortable and tidy, and the hotel is very quiet inspite of being close to the A19 this was not heard.
The only thing slightly disappointing and not upto it's usual standard was the bathroom that looked a little tired, that said it was clean.
Excellent value for the price paid, this was of an equal standard to that you would pay a lot more for such as a Hillton or Village Hotels. I think it would depend on what you individually would expect for a cheap bed and breakfast hotel. I would recommend the cooked breakfast.
which was of a very good standard.
Chinese restaraunt nearby also worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Address: White Rose Close | Nether Poppleton, York YO26 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delve into some of York's major annual festivals and events from our great city location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn York North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North West Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing