We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for York visit with Park & Ride - Usual Premier Inn Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
North West
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for York visit with Park & Ride - Usual Premier Inn Comfort”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

York's great but parking, traffic and accommodation prices not so great. Staying about 3 miles from the centre but just a few minutes from the new Park & Ride at Poppleton Bar makes for a hassle free day. Parking for the bus is free, buses are every few minutes, quiet, clean and comfortable and with a senior discount only 80 pence return!

The hotel is of the usual Premier Inn high standard - clean, good size rooms and a nice Beefeater restaurant connected to the hotel through it's own entrance. There are other eateries on what is a new but quality industrial area. Premier Inns are standard but dependable and work well as long as your not expecting "old English charm" and style. Staff were helpful, positive and during a hot spell room fans and light bedclothes were readily available. Overall a pleasant hassle free stay. Only downside is the 30 minute limit on free wi-fi which today is ridiculous. In the attached restaurant/pub there's no limit.

Room Tip: Front is opposite a main road, back is quieter overlooking new office buildings but gets the sun all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dashwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opsmgrnorthwest, Manager at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank You for the feedback on your stay with us at York North West Premier Inn.

The Park and Ride is always a great hassle free way to get into the City, and now that we are lucky to be smack bang in the middle of two, it gives our guests even more of a choice, and as you have stated it offers a much cheaper alternative to trying to park in the centre.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back again, should you make a return trip to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    309
    84
    39
    20
See reviews for
333
389
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What you would expect and would have been fine except that we had a family room which must have the sun all day - great most of the year but made it unbearable for sleeping, even in the early hours of the morning. Windows could only be opened slightly but noise from the main road and something 'beeping' outweighed any benefit. There was a fan provided which helped if you could adjust to the noise it made. Two of us managed no more than about 2 to 3 hours sleep. Seems from other reviews that we're not the first to have this problem and staff gave the impression that this was not an uncommon problem, seemed sympathetic but if this is a common problem why hasn't air conditioning been installed? Apparently they have suggested this and if this is what it is like on a 'normal' summer's day, can't imagine what it must be like in a heatwave. Everything else was fair to good, especially the staff in the restaurant next door who were excellent. Maybe some of the other rooms aren't so badly affected but would not stay again during summer, maybe other times of year but lots of other choices in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online customer service at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure if when I booked a family room it automatically had air con of whether other people seem to have stayed in a different hotel! Staff very friendly and polite, restaurant attached quite small but ideal place to stay within close distance to York and all the places we needed to visit. Room clean and facilities enough for us. Would stay again if in York

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opsmgrnorthwest, Manager at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay with us at York North West Premier Inn.

We are really glad that you had a comfy stay with us, and we would be more than happy to welcome you back again, should you find yourself in the York area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I'm currently sat in a room which is boiling hot and without breathable air, our two young children are so uncomfortable there is no chance of any sleep at all tonight and I'm on the verge of cancelling our weekend plans and driving home.

There is no air conditioning, the windows open all of an inch and the fan simply blows hot air around - although we are lucky, some rooms don't have fans.

Ridiculous conditions which are actually dangerous if you bring young babies into the equation.

Money back please, we'd be better off sleeping in the car.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Did not expect this sort of quality from a budget hotel.. We have already booked another Premier Inn at Stanstead for later in the year before we fly on our holidays. Would certainly highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opsmgrnorthwest, Manager at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank You for providing a review of your stay with us at York North West Premier Inn.

We are extremely glad that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you have decided to stay with Premier Inn again.

Maybe we will see you again at our site, should you return to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting York races. Very warm and helpful welcome on arrival. The room was typical premier inn, clean and comfortable although very warm. This meant we had to open the windows which meant it was noisy due to its location.

Just off the a59 easy to find and lots of options to eat nearby. Breakfast was in the beefeater next door, cooked to order and very good quality and again excellent service. Not walkable to city centre, maybe £10 in a cab or 5-10 mi walk to bus stop. About £13 in cab to races. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rear of hotel away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opsmgrnorthwest, Manager at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank You for the feedback on your stay with us at York North West Premier Inn.

We are extremely lucky to be outside of the hustle and bustle of the City, but at the same time being a bus or taxi ride away from it all. It is great to hear that you were able to make the most of this for the races, and we do hope you make a return visit to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room was good but waa not ready at the checkout time had to wait twenty minutes got woke by fire alarm early in the morning because of shower steam in other rooms did not get a apology if it has happened before it should not be happening not when u pay alot of money for these rooms



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opsmgrnorthwest, Manager at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank You for providing a review on your stay with us at York North West Premier Inn.

We do take the safety of all our guests very seriously, and so in the event that the alarm is activated, an exacuation is always carried out until we are sure there is no danger. It can be a difficult time for our team, as they are having to make sure everyone has safely left the building, and so I would like to apologise if you feel you did not get the explaination and apology you were hoping for at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Address: White Rose Close | Nether Poppleton, York YO26 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delve into some of York's major annual festivals and events from our great city location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn York North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North West Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing