We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older budget hotel in business park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Older budget hotel in business park”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Given the favorable reviews of Tripadvisor contributors about Premier Inns throughout the UK, we booked a room at this hotel on the ring road in a business park for our first night after arriving from the US. Arriving from Manchester airport around noon we were told the room would not be ready until after 2PM, however the receptionist was kind enough and drew us a map showing the way to a nearby shopping center. She was equally accommodating in explaining sights to see in York and how to get to Park and Ride, park the car, and ride the bus into the medieval town center.
We asked for a quiet room in the back yet were told that the front rooms facing the busy ring road would be the quieter ones, inasmuch as a battery of exhaust fan motors at a Chinese restaurant next door roars like a jet winding up for take-off. Our somewhat spacious upstairs room with a very comfortable queen size mattress and a second single bed could sleep three people but only had one chair for someone to sit down, had no luggage stand and the suitcase needed to lie on the floor, had no A/C and the window opened onto busy ring road, had no fridge, no safe, and the sink in the bathroom had no mixing valve, one needed to use a stopper to plug the drain and collect water in the sink bowl, had no wash cloth, no towel rack, and the toilet flusher did not quite get the job done. Yet it was clean as were linnens and towels.
Despite all and being jet lagged we had a night of good sleep with the double pane window keeping road noise muffled with the exception for the occasional motorbike. On the plus side was the adjacent Beefeater Grill where we enjoyed an excellent Tandoori Chicken meal and a decent breakfast, both served by friendly, accommodating staff.
All in all, while the resident manager explained that this location was an older property awaiting some upgrading, the experience did not lead us to stay at another Premier Inn during our subsequent 16 day road trip through the UK. For what is offered, this hotel at a rate of close to US$130 is not exactly a budget hotel and as we subsequently found out, one can find better for the same price or less.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    287
    76
    37
    20
See reviews for
320
361
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We arrived without booking and were given one of the disabled rooms on the ground floor. This meant wider doors, lower bed and sink. Upon entering the room it seemed clean enough. The double bed was too short for a 6ft male, but despite this it was comfortable. The lack of a ceiling light left the room a little dark as there were only two wall lights on one wall and two bedside lamps on the opposite wall. There was only one power socket available; a couple of spare sockets would have been useful for charging phones.

The bathroom was spacious although the sliding door kept jamming only half open. One major issue was the brown staining in the bottom of the bath and the grouting around the bath was also stained. The supportive rails in the bathroom were dusty on top.

The staff were friendly and there was plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shire_guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Thank you for your review, your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of a large group (30+ people) and had a great stay. Rooms clean and spacious along with very friendly staff who could not do more to help. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East of England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Having stayed in many other Premier Inns, we had certain expectations. We arrived at 5pm only to find that our room hadn't been cleaned since the previous occupants' departure. We had to wait for an hour in the bar whilst our room was being cleaned (we were offered drinks, but after 5 hours of travel just wanted to get into our room). Breakfast on both mornings was disappointing - there was lack of crockery and we had to wait almost an hour (over an hour on our first morning) for our cooked breakfast to arrive. Staff were not especially polite when they brought the food, 'plonking it down' in front of us - no apology for the long wait. On the second morning our long-awaited cooked breakfast was rudely interrupted by two waitresses loudly conversing and throwing cutlery and pots into large trays to clear nearby tables - so loudly that we could not even hear each other talking! When we mentioned our problems to the receptionist on leaving she was very defensive, made excuses, but absolutely no apologies. Severe lack of professionalism in this hotel means we would definitely not recommend it, although other premier inns we've stayed in have been great. Although they operate a 'you don't enjoy your stay, you don't pay' guarantee, we had paid the full amount on check-in and were not offered any compensation (a genuine apology would have been a start!) upon leaving.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fejzybiskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Stayed here on 30/04/10 with the wife and kids, (aged 6 & 3). Booked in to room on the second floor. The room had a double bed, a sofa bed & a mattress on the floor, which was fine for our stay. Unfortunately the temperature in the room overnight was stifling, there was also a constant noise from outside all night, (similar to an industrial air conditioning unit). If Lenny Henry had stayed there, he would have been smashing the door with his axe the next morning!
The food in the Beefeater Restaurant next door was excellent, unfortunately the service was extremely slow, we didn't complain but a family with 3 kids did along with an elderly couple. Breakfast the next day though was excellent along with the service!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NayMrWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn York North West Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thanks for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay at our York Premier Inn. At Premier Inn we take the service and comfort our guests receive very seriously. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be investigated by both Guests Relations and the Management Team at our York North West Hotel. We are very pleased that our clean comfortable rooms and great breakfast facilities met your expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay as your feedback is of paramount importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,087 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York North West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York North West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Address: White Rose Close | Nether Poppleton, York YO26 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York North West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delve into some of York's major annual festivals and events from our great city location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn York North West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York North West Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing