We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brentwood Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
149
80
14
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
80
14
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ground floordoor codecity centreking size roomon arrivalparking permitpermit providedstreet parkingbreakfast was excellentminute walkblack puddinglovely guesthousefirst floorfull english breakfastroom keytea coffee making facilitiesgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Have just returned after a few days in York. Very nice and clean Guest House, obviously being refurbished. Our room on the ground floor was lovely and modern with new en-suite.
Comfortable bed. The guest house is in a quiet street, within easy walking distance of the town centre,
Owners were very friendly. Breakfasts were very good and huge! Very pleasant young waitress serving breakfast. Thought York was a wonderful place. Plenty of things to see, a must is the Victorian Museum and the Minster. Also went on the Ghost Walk, good fun.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenbyDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I am due to stay at the Brentwood this Saturday, however, due to suffering from hyperemersis (severe vomiting in pregnancy) I am unable to travel and stay in York this weekend. I have been in hospital for a week, dehydrated and on a drip and this morning as soon as I was discharged I rang NATALIE to explain my circumstances and I expected at least an understanding person on the phone. What I experienced this morning was a money grabbing Manager who was more concerned about losing money than understanding a special consideration towards a customer. Natalie said she'd be losing money (even though its Valentines weekend and she would have definitely had another booking) and then tried to offer me a 10% discount on my next stay! Why would I want to stay in someone's accommodation who even after offering evidence of my illness still refused to refund the money? I spoke to a gentleman at booking.com who was very willing to stop the booking but after he spoke to Natalie he said she wouldn't change her mind! I am prepared to lose £80 to this cold hearted, unprofessional woman rather than stay in this accommodation. Please be very careful if you do stay here as I would never recommend this place to anyone. Unfortunately for Natalie this review will be on every website I can find for the Brentwood as well as communicating it in numerous languages. All she had to do was understand my situation and offer me a refund OR a date later on in the year. Please also remember if this happens to you just cancel your transaction with your bank. I cannot do that because she has taken the money out this morning but like I said, the satisfaction of writing this review is worth £80!! In my opinion my family and well being definitely come before money, something that NATALIE needs to learn!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Forza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

stayed at the brentwood on new years eve ,having never stopped in a guest house at york allways used hotels was a bit unsure of choice ,as soon as we entered the building we were delighted with our choice , the room we were given was not the biggest but very modern and suited our needs , the breakfast in the morning was beautifull , would highly reccomend this to any one , we are booked to go back end of jan and look forward to it ,
well done the brentwood and the family who own it

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed at Brentwood Guest House for bank holiday weekend, had a great time, the room was spectacular very modern and spacious. All the staff were lovely very very friendly, ideal location for centre of york Would definately recommend staying here. Looking forward to next visit to york will definately stay there again. thank you for making our stay perfect Claire xx

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairalou1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We've just returned from a wonderful 5 days in York staying at the Brentwood. There is nothing that we can fault - the room was very clean and well decorated, the bed was comfortable, bed linen was changed during the time we were there, towels were changed daily. Breakfasts were excellent and Linda (waitress) was a joy. It was only a 10 minute walk to the Minster, shambles and all the shops. Highly recommended. A couple of good places to eat - Bari, The Shambles, excellent Italian food (book if you want to go on a Saturday!) and the Coach House Hotel (off Bootham).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews