We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Marvelous Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Raphael Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #22 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Marvelous Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed for three nights in a lovely guest house in a quiet cul de sac, Our room was beautifully decorated, well maintained, large enough and very comfortable. The en-suite was clean and towels, soap and shower gel were provided. There were also the usual tea & coffee making facilities with some yummy biscuits, which were relenished daily. Breakfast each morning was the perfect start to the day with everything you could want. There was a good choice of fruit, yogurts, cereal and jams for toast. There were three types of freshly baked bread each morning and the cooked full english was delicious. Afterwards it was a pleasant ten minute stroll either alongside the river or through the museum gardens into York for the day. Zoe and family looked after us really well during our stay. We would stay there again the next time we are in York.

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank causerpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    67
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
106
405
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

I was a solo visitor to this guest house in the mid 1990s, and was intrigued to see how it has changed under new management. My husband and I spent just one night in York at the end of a visit with friends in Northumberland, and it was perfect for our needs - great location, excellent breakfast, good night's sleep, very friendly management. And the transformation from the mid 1990s version cannot be overstated - Zoe's mum and dad did a fantastic job when they took over the property, like night and day! Only "tweak" is that we should have requested a room on the first floor...it was a bit of a challenge lugging our bags up to the second with no lift - hindsight 20/20! With any luck we'll be able to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enigmajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have just returned from a 3 Night stay in the St Raphael Guest House in the beautiful city of York. May I start by saying what a lovely warm welcome Greeting we were given on our arrival by Zoe, it was plain to see by just standing in the hallway that this house was very welcoming and immaculately decorated, it was spotlessly clean throughout. A great advantage was the guaranteed parking in the same Street and the walk into the City Centre via the Park was less than 10 minutes,( this saved a fortune in parking fees alone). On meeting Dom and baby Ollie it was very easy to see and feel that this was a very warm loving family run business with Zoe and Dom giving absolute commitment to Customer Satisfaction, nothing was too much trouble for either of them to give you their help and attention especially regarding local knowledge. The smell of baking bread waking you up each morning is heaven, the Breakfast provided is 1st class, no corners cut here, the quality of everything provided is top notch from the simple Cereals to the Bacon, Sausage etc and cooked to perfection. This Guest House with the beautiful people who run it and who take every pride in doing so, in our opinion is Absolutely 1st Class, You will travel many miles trying to find somwhere as clean,welcoming and value for money as the Family run St Raphael, the only downside for us is that unfortunately Zoe, Dom and Oliie are looking to move down to Cornwall in 2013. Thankyou for a lovely few day's Zoe and Dom and carry on with the Great work you are doing by supplying a 1st Class Service. Best Wishes for the future and hope to see you again very soon.
D & A Jones

Room Tip: Ask for The Bars Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for 4 days over the may day bank holiday weekend for a wedding. The B&B was lovely. Really friendly, clean, great breakfasts including lovely fresh baked bread.
It's really convenient for the town centre - only a 10 minute walk from the Minster.

Would recommend and use again if staying in York.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertiekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

This is such a wonderful little b&b how I wish I can come back to stay here again before Zoe & Dom close shop and move out of York. The room was nice & clean, the breakfast was delicious! It may be the usual English breakfast but it was definitely good English breakfast. I looked forward to having the homemade bread they served every morning. The hosts, zoe & dom were very nice and helpful. It's quite a walk to the center of town especially when it's cold but York is so pretty that you won't mind the walk at all. How I wish Zoe & Dom change their minds about closing shop in York.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dissolvedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Owner at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Hi, and thank your for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we just wish we could have done that little bit more to make your stay a 5 star stay.

We would just like to let our future guests know (as we've had a few phonecalls referring to this review) - we don't plan to leave York until January 2013 (and thats if all goes according to plan - it could be later).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Although we only stayed one night we would certainly recommend this place. The rooms were comfortable and very clean and the breakfasts are great - a lot more than we expected. The guest house is a short walk from the city centre. Zoe and Dom were really helpful and great hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwrileyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Very clean, very homelike. The room we had (for three) was the most spacious we had during our entire 2-week trip. Dom and Zoe consistently helpful (whole computer printouts of information!) and always friendly and willing to help, despite being obviously busy with the B&B and life.
Location could hardly be better for touring old York - just a few minutes walk from the city walls and about 15 minutes' walk from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquilina43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#18 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#29 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#5 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Property: St. Raphael Guest House
Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing