We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we could wish for, great location, friendly helpful owners, spotlessly clean, superb breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #22 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is a gem of a guest house, very central yet just far away to escape from the crowds.
We were made to feel at home in a very clean, well run guest house.
The breakfast, with home made bread was excellent and set us up for the day.
No hesitation in recommending. Good luck to Dom, Zoe and Ollie.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterslancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

St Raphael Guest House is a comfortable and welcoming place to stay during your visit to York. Zoe and Dom (who are new parents) are very kind, welcoming and generous with their time in offering sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. The home is beautiful, clean and recently remodeled. As others have said, the beds are very comfortable. The breakfasts are fantastic, and customized to each individual guest's requests. My only criticism would be the size of the rooms. We stayed in "The Shambles" (Rooms named after town areas) and it was a bit tricky to maneuver around the bed to get to our suitcases, which had to go on the floor in a corner under a sloped ceiling. For 2 tall people, it was kind of tight. I think the other rooms might have had a bit more space. The room next door was family sized and had a lovely view. If you need more space, you should inquire about this. However, everything in the room was clean and neat, and the bathroom was recently remodeled. We felt this B&B was a good value with great service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in early May, and really enjoyed our stay. Zoe is an amazing host. I don't know how she keeps the B&B running so smoothly, and takes good care of her infant son. The house is beautiful. Our room was huge (and quiet). The thing that is a little unusual is that if you arrive in the afternoon or evening, you have to let yourself in (and are 'on your own' until morning ). This is not a problem, as Zoe is amazingly well organized. Breakfast was always a treat in their great breakfast room. By the time we got to york, we were in desperate need of a laundromat (but there aren't any handy in York). Zoe came to our rescue, and managed to fit a load of laundry into her amazing packed day (it was much appreciated).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinci999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed for three nights in a lovely guest house in a quiet cul de sac, Our room was beautifully decorated, well maintained, large enough and very comfortable. The en-suite was clean and towels, soap and shower gel were provided. There were also the usual tea & coffee making facilities with some yummy biscuits, which were relenished daily. Breakfast each morning was the perfect start to the day with everything you could want. There was a good choice of fruit, yogurts, cereal and jams for toast. There were three types of freshly baked bread each morning and the cooked full english was delicious. Afterwards it was a pleasant ten minute stroll either alongside the river or through the museum gardens into York for the day. Zoe and family looked after us really well during our stay. We would stay there again the next time we are in York.

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank causerpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I was a solo visitor to this guest house in the mid 1990s, and was intrigued to see how it has changed under new management. My husband and I spent just one night in York at the end of a visit with friends in Northumberland, and it was perfect for our needs - great location, excellent breakfast, good night's sleep, very friendly management. And the transformation from the mid 1990s version cannot be overstated - Zoe's mum and dad did a fantastic job when they took over the property, like night and day! Only "tweak" is that we should have requested a room on the first floor...it was a bit of a challenge lugging our bags up to the second with no lift - hindsight 20/20! With any luck we'll be able to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enigmajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have just returned from a 3 Night stay in the St Raphael Guest House in the beautiful city of York. May I start by saying what a lovely warm welcome Greeting we were given on our arrival by Zoe, it was plain to see by just standing in the hallway that this house was very welcoming and immaculately decorated, it was spotlessly clean throughout. A great advantage was the guaranteed parking in the same Street and the walk into the City Centre via the Park was less than 10 minutes,( this saved a fortune in parking fees alone). On meeting Dom and baby Ollie it was very easy to see and feel that this was a very warm loving family run business with Zoe and Dom giving absolute commitment to Customer Satisfaction, nothing was too much trouble for either of them to give you their help and attention especially regarding local knowledge. The smell of baking bread waking you up each morning is heaven, the Breakfast provided is 1st class, no corners cut here, the quality of everything provided is top notch from the simple Cereals to the Bacon, Sausage etc and cooked to perfection. This Guest House with the beautiful people who run it and who take every pride in doing so, in our opinion is Absolutely 1st Class, You will travel many miles trying to find somwhere as clean,welcoming and value for money as the Family run St Raphael, the only downside for us is that unfortunately Zoe, Dom and Oliie are looking to move down to Cornwall in 2013. Thankyou for a lovely few day's Zoe and Dom and carry on with the Great work you are doing by supplying a 1st Class Service. Best Wishes for the future and hope to see you again very soon.
D & A Jones

Room Tip: Ask for The Bars Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daimo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed for 4 days over the may day bank holiday weekend for a wedding. The B&B was lovely. Really friendly, clean, great breakfasts including lovely fresh baked bread.
It's really convenient for the town centre - only a 10 minute walk from the Minster.

Would recommend and use again if staying in York.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertiekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#13 of 194 in York
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 194 in York
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#37 of 194 in York
406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 194 in York
1,431 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 194 in York
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £110 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing