We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #29 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Good B&B”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Having seen the previous review I was a little nervous about staying at St Raphael's but I needn't have been.

Location & parking: Could not have been better.

Room: The Shambles room was indeed very small but I have stayed in smaller for a lot more money I'm Paris. There are stairs but they won't be a problem unless you have mobility problems.

Breakfast: Excellent full English breakfast. The bread could well persuade you to buy your own bread machine! This is not the place to go if your idea of breakfast is cold meats, cheeses or pastries - there aren't any but there are some cereals & yoghurts which would go very nicely with that lovely bread & preserves.

Overall a very good B & B.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    67
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
408
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Spent two nights here in the Minster Room. Beds were comfortable, room was comfortable, entire BnB was very clean. Zoe was so very helpful when we arrived after a long trip and continued to help with suggestions about where to eat and things to do.
We loved getting to fuss over Zoe's handsome little guy and did ask her permission to use the photo attached.
If we come back to York, St Raphael will be the first place I check for accommodation. Great place to stay, very convenient to the walled city, with delightful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I wuold not go back there. The rooms were at least two flights of stairs and the bathrooms very small! The breakfast was just o.k. The location was good however. York is a terrific town.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank woodstocktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Owner at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2011
We are so sorry you obviously didn't enjoy your stay, we work incredibly hard to make all our guests enjoy their experience with us and we really wish you had felt you could approach us to let us know you weren't happy and we would have helped you. Our number one aim is always that our guests are happy and they have a fantastic stay with us and enjoy our fabulous city.

However we feel a little perplexed with the 'at least 2 flights' comment, as our house is a standard victorian 2 storey building, very typical for properties and B&B's in a very old city like York, in fact most have more The comment seems to have been written to sound like we have more levels than we have, when the truth is we only have 2, therefor the second floor being the furthest up the building anyone can stay, and really not too many stairs. If you stated that a room on a lower level was needed when booking we would have done our upmost to accommodate this request, or if you were not able to manage any stairs at all we could have recommend a modern hotel with a lift.

We are especially upset about your comment on our breakfasts, we take an exceptional amount of pride in providing the best quality locally produced produce, our meat, eggs and jams are all farmed within a few miles of us, we home bake 3 loaves of bread daily, and put a major emphasis on the quality and presentation of our breakfasts, 99% of our guests LOVE our breakfasts, and among other things, is one of the reasons our guests return time after time.

As you are American and we are aware that some American guests are not familiar with B&B's, although Rick Steve's does a fantastic job of educating travellers on what to expect. We can only suggest that you ask any future proprietors upon booking any questions you are worried about and if the building is suitable for your needs. This will hopefully avoid any upset on your behalf and avoid any future proprietors receiving negative reviews through a lack of knowledge of where you are booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed for two nights in May and enjoyed it thoroughly. The room was quite comfortable, and there was a notebook with a map, restaurant recommendations and other advice waiting for us in the room. The next day, Dom even drew a map for us of his favorite pubs in the old city. The location is perfect--about 10-15 minutes walk from the walled portion of York. The next morning it was heavenly to wake to the smell of baking bread. They pride themselves on serving local, quality ingredients and it showed--it was one of the best breakfasts we'd had on our holiday. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

What a delightful place to stay. Within a very easy,comfortable walk into York (via back lanes). My room was small but more than adequate. The bed was fantastic - and I am fairly fussy! the bathroom too was great. Everything is extremely clean, the breakfasts are fantastic. Dom and Zoe are extremely helpful without being overwhelming. They went out of their way to assist and offer advice where they could. I felt extremely comfortable there and would highly recommend it. It is a very well run, clean establishment, with a lovely English ambiance. Good Luck Dom, Zoe and of course, the gorgeous Ollie.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a very comfortable room. We booked a twin and received a family room, so a lot of extra space! We slept great, the room was quiet, overlooked the back. Everything was spotless. The bathroom was small but adequate, with some shelf space for our own toiletries; the only niggle was the small shower cubicle that was a bit slippery.

Zoe is a lovely person; very open and welcoming. (We only met Dom once; his turn with the baby Ollie!) And her breakfasts are wonderful too!

Overall a good choice for us. Good location, close enough (5-10 minute walk) to all that York has to offer for the tourist but in a quiet area. A very comfortable, cozy, happy feeling guest house.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cats2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This is a gem of a guest house, very central yet just far away to escape from the crowds.
We were made to feel at home in a very clean, well run guest house.
The breakfast, with home made bread was excellent and set us up for the day.
No hesitation in recommending. Good luck to Dom, Zoe and Ollie.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterslancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#34 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Property: St. Raphael Guest House
Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing