We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #22 of 195 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The word "lovely" really sums up our experience at this charming guest house. I was traveling with my 10 year old son. The owner--Zoe--was lovely and very accommodating. The room itself was lovely, full of light and fairly well-sized for a B&B room in an old house (we stayed in The Bars). The location was beyond lovely, it was perfect. Walking distance to absolutely everything, including the train station, and located on a quiet, charming street. Breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend this guest house.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank iddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wonderful room. Even though we read and booked the room wrong. Thankful Zoe was felxable with us. We had a great room! Breakfast was very yummy and fills you up. like the veggie sausage option. Enjoyed the walk to the centre of York!
Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 707BlueRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spotlessly clean room with an excellent breakfast. Parking available by arrangement with the guest house in the road opposite. A very short walk into the centre of York to visit the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a larger B&B with several rooms. We had a family room which was good for us, comfortable and clean. The atmosphere was fine and the service functional (not exceptionally friendly nor rude). No takeout food is allowed in the guest rooms. About a 15 minute walk from the train station - a little complicated to find, but the guest house provided very good directions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buechzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

lovely room, really nice polite people, excellent location. will defo come back. Very clean, breakfast was really tasty and plentiful.excellent service. must visit.im sure you will be just as pleased as we were.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snatchus333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Easy 10 minute walk from the train station. A few sets of stairs, but very manageable. Nice quiet location in the city. Very nice family team as hosts. Rooms are very clean and pleasantly decorated. A welcome rose is such a nice gesture.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RNFixers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in the stonegate room for two nights . Lovely people , lovely room , great breakfast . Was made to
Feel very welcome, given a map with the scenic route to the city . Ollie is adorable and nothing was too much trouble . Highly reccomend .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 195 in York
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#8 of 195 in York
1,450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#17 of 195 in York
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 195 in York
859 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#6 of 195 in York
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 195 in York
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £111 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing