We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #22 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Stayed here for one night with my husband. Zoe & Dom are lovely hosts. Room nice, bed comfortable. Breakfast was lovely & plenty of it, homemade bread is a nice touch. This place is spotless. Parking permit was great as we did'nt need to use the car during our stay, everything is close by. Can't wait to return to York & St. Raphael Guest House.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrexhamBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for St. Raphael Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed 3 nights here and we had a lovely time. Our room (Goodramgate) was perfect and our hosts were too.....oh, and so was the breakfast each morning :)
Thankyou both x

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Manager at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2010

Hiya Guys, Thank you for your review!
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you both again soon!
Zoe & Dom x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed at st raphael in January when my husband took me to York for my birthday. Owners Zoe & Dom are efficient, helpful & welcoming. The guest house is well located just a stroll from the Minster & all the sights of York. However, when arriving by car we found it really difficult to find using directions from Google maps - phone the owners for directions from the motorway; their directions to get back were really clear & straight forward. Our room on the top floor in the attic was a little on the small side, as was the shower room, but it was clean, neat & tasteful. Breakfast was nice with a good range on offer & served in a lovely bright room with a warming fire. All in all, a good base with all the home comforts.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdfrombrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Manager at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Hi and thank you for your review, they mean a lot to us!
We are in the process of updating the map section of our website to give our guests better directions on how to get to us, so they can avoid using direction websites - as they all seem to direct people the wrong way into Bootham. We're glad you called and we were able to direct you in, and that with our directions it made your way home a lot easier!
We're sorry you felt the room was small a Guest House isn't a purpose built hotel, its our home and once was a residential house, therefore our rooms maybe smaller than a chain hotel, but we aim to make up for these with charm and the personal touches we try and deliver.
We hope that next time you come to York you will stay with us again - and we will strive to get that final 5th star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We picked the St. Raphael on the basis of an article in a magazine, and it exceeded our expectations pretty well all round.
The St. Raphael is not the cheapest guest house in York, but it must rank as one of the very best.
Breakfasts are enough to fortify anyone for the rest of the day, and of a really good quality.
Zoe and Dom are very welcoming and very responsive to any suggestions or requests.
The guest-house is in easy walking distance of the Minster, even for me using a stick.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjackson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Manager at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Hi and Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed you stay with us and that you feel like you'd like to come back - we cant wait to see you both again - hope your leg is a little better soon, we've got our fingers crossed for you!
Zoe & Dom x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

After cancelling 2 trips to York in January due to the bad snow, My boyfriend and I finally made it here in February and stayed at St Raphaels.
Im so glad we stayed here, the location was great and Zoe & Dom were so lovely and friendly. We stayed in a room called Petergate which was a good sized room and Zoe and Dom had left a little welcome pack with a map and details of things to do in York. The breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice of both hot and cold food. After 2 nights it was unfortunately time to come home and surprise surprise it was snowing again-Zoe was well prepared and even had de-icer ready for use! We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWNB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Manager at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Hi and thanks for your review - we're so happy you finally managed to have your belated birthday trip away and that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you both again soon!
Zoe & Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This is my second visit to this beautiful Guest House. The rooms are bright and cosy with all the luxury of home. Bed was very comfortable with feather pillows and duvets.
Breakfast was delicious and cooked by Zoe and Dom, who work very hard and make you feel very welcome.
Hope to return yet again in October with my daughter for a weekend and thanks again for a lovely stay!
Joy & Keith Sheakey.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Manager at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Hi Joy & Keith,
Thank you both so much for your kind review, we loved having you stay with us and can't wait to see you again in October!
Fingers crossed next time we can get that extra star on service!
Zoe & Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My friend and I have been going to York for a number of years and have stayed at various places- we have now found the perfect spot. This year was our second stay and we have every intention of returning next year. On our arrival we were told how to find the park to provide a picturesque walk into the heart of York, gorgeous pictures of York adorn the guesthouse walls with some history about various areas in the room brochures, spotlessly clean and provides a delicious breakfast to start the days shopping! A very friendly place where nothing feels like too much bother.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoansdeanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRaphaelYork, Manager at St. Raphael Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

Hi and Thanks for your review - we love having you every year - usually our first weekend after our Christmas Break, you always cheer us up!
Glad you like the pictures on the walls we're planning on updating them in the next few months, York is so pretty in Spring, especially with all the daffodils around the walls.
Cant wait to see you both again soon!
Zoe & Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 194 in York
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#39 of 194 in York
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#4 of 194 in York
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £107 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing