We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely stay at St. Raphael”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #28 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at St. Raphael”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My husband and I are back from another lovely 6-night stay at St. Raphael - we love staying there and Zoe and Dom (and dear Milo) are always great to us.

The fresh-baked bread each morning is a delight, as is the freshly cooked breakfast.

I understand the comments about noise - fellow guests when we stayed did make quite a bit of noise over 2 nights - not thinking about other guests trying to sleep - whereas my husband and I were careful to be quiet when we got up early, as we had long drives on a couple of ocassions.

The red-bay parking (which costs Zoe and Dom an arm and a leg), guaranteeing car parking is an absolute boon for a place so close to the the city centre - especially as I have become less mobile this past year and cannot walk too far.

The rooms are always clean and the tea etc. making facilities re-stocked daily - and the shower does give a good supply of hot water - which we never got in a number of other places before we had the good fortune to find the St. Raphael.

We are very happy to recommend the St. Raphael to all and sundry - and yes, we WILL be going back for another 6-night stay in September 2011. I just wish it was next week.... Shelagh Mason, Canterbury, Kent, England.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    67
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
408
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. Have to say the place is spotlessly clean and the location is brilliant for getting into York centre (10minutes walk). The breakfasts are fantastic and the hosts really do try to please.

But, we were in the Petergate room, which we found too small. The bathroom was also quite small and the corner shower unit was tiny. The walls are paper thin, you can hear every toilet visit and every toilet flush, every cough, every snore, what your neighbours are watching on TV and with the creaky floorboards both outside in the corridor and in the rooms above once your neighbours are awake you are awake. We didn't feel it warranted the price we paid, but then again we are in York- a very popular area. One very big plus point was the free 24 hour access to the WiFi conection.

When all is said and done we like quiet, which this guest house isn't so it didn't suit us. Would we stay there again.........probably not.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwap31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This delightful guest house, recommended by "Woman & Home" magazine,is ideally located in a quiet area of York with parking facilities and within easy walking distance of the Minster and city centre. Our hosts gave us a warm welcome and we felt immediately relaxed and at home. Our en suite room was thoughtfully and attractively furnished being well equipped including a hospitality tray, and a good sized up to date flat screen television with freeview programmes.Toiletries were found in the bathroom. A wonderful breakfast was available every morning with as good a spread as anyone could ask. The cooked to order breakfast was perfect. My wife and I stayed 3 nights and were reluctant to leave. Thoroughly recommended. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This was such a lovely b&b, the rooms are clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly, its a short walk to the centre of york, I would recommend to anyone.

We were given very helpful instructions on how to get there, what to do when we got there, the food at breakfast was exactly as they describe and we enjoyed every bite, the rooms were spottless and there was even shampoo, conditioner and shower wash which was just brilliant as I forgot mine!

If your going to York stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2010

beautifuuly ran b&b by the lovely zoe and dom. a relaxed, friendly and welcoming place not to mention spotlessley clean. my wife and i went for our 1st anniversary and we will be going back. im trying to think of a negative but i really cant. everything was perfect for us and we loved it. good luck with the baby guys, and see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr3vor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here from the 10th to 12th September 2010 and found the guest house friendly, clean and delicious:-

Friendly - Zoe was lovely, very friendly and a great cook!
Clean - the room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and cosy...the dining room was clean and tidy
Delicious - the food was yummy.....lots of breakfast to choose from.....AND the smell of freshly baked bread to wake you up.........who needs an alarm clock!!!

The location was great, just 5 mins away from the town centre and not too far from the beautiful York Minster!

We would definitely recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We would thoroughly recommend this B&B. Our room was spotlessly clean, very well furnished and decorated, with a big double bed and two single beds. We really appreciated the generous "hospitality tray" in the room, as well as being able to help ourselves at any time to the fresh milk and bottles of chilled water in the fridge in the breakfast room. The location is truly superb, and we found it very easy to walk to all the sights. It was great to be able to leave our car safely parked behind the B&B and not use it at all for the duration of our stay. Zoe and Dom communicated very efficiently with us by email before our arrival, and the arrangements for us getting the room key and finding the parking spot worked smoothly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunstonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#36 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Property: St. Raphael Guest House
Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing