We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Raphael Guest House
Ranked #28 of 193 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really lovely”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in Febuary and had a lovely time. Zoe & Dom were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The room was spotless and beautiful and we were really excited by the little extra things : dove shampoo and conditioner, cotton buds and lots of tea and biscuits!!
Breakfast was really yummy and Zoe and Dom avoided using oil in most options to keep it as healthy as possible, although my one criticism would have been to have fresh fruit out as I think there was only segments of grapefruit (but maybe I'm health obsessed) and we were even given access to bottled water from the fridge which was helpful for walking round York for the rest of the day.
The B&B was nice ten minute stroll to town!
Would reccomend to anyone staying in York

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indie-cindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    67
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
109
408
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed at St Rapheal for two nights in February. Our room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The 'hospitality tray' catered for all tastes. The breakfast was exceptional , with all locally sourced produce. The location was ideal, as it less than 10 minutes walk into the main centre , so we were able to park our car on arrival (across the road, with a permit supplied by Zoe) and leave it till we went home. Zoe and Dom were super hosts and we have already recommended this B & B to our friends. We are hoping to return in the summer when the weather is warmer.
Paul & Dawn
Gateshead

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney46056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at St. Raphael for 5 nights in June. Zoe and Dom were absolutely wonderful hosts. The English Breakfast each morning was delicious, prepared with local ingredients and offered freshly baked bread daily. Our room was spotless, comfortable and well appointed. Zoe and Dom were most helpful in providing advice abour York attractions and destinations and in plotting a day trip across the Moors, to Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and Scarborough. St. Raphael is conveniently located a short walk from York Minster and the City Centre. No detail was too small for Zoe and Dom in ensuring our stay at St. Raphael and in York was a memorable one. We were treated not as clients, but rather, as friends. We highly recommend St. Raphael Guest House to anyne travelling to York. We can't wait to return!

B & L, Windsor, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriLor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This is one of the best B & B's I have stayed in. A 10 min stroll to the centre and the Minster, this is the perfect base to explore York. Fresh homemade bread every morning along with locally sourced produce makes for the perfect start to the day. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. Book ahead to avoid missing out!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godmother_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Stayed 2 nights - great location, just a short walk into the Old City. Good breakfasts, reserved on-street parking in quiet residential area. Only complaints would be rather uncomfortable bed in quite small room (we stayed in the Shambles), also couldn't connect our WiFi (ours was newer set-up than was compatable with theirs); other than that enjoyed our stay. Very clean, charming home, friendly couple who made our after hours check-in easy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Well appointed B&B in a gret location. Free parking is great in York as this can be expensive. Warm welcome from Zoe and the breakfast with homemade bread was fantastic. Would recommend and will definately stay here again when next in York.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leylo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We spent 2 nights at this great guest house while in York. It is just a few blocks outside the city wall and has free street parking. The room was bright and the breakfast was excellent. Restaurants and all the sights are within walking distance. Be sure to take the free guided walking tour of York.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#36 of 193 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Property: St. Raphael Guest House
Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Raphael Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Raphael provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic location; a quiet cul-de-sac, just 400 yards from the heart of York. The Minster, the National Rail Museum, Jorvik, the Theatre Royal, and York's other major attractions, are all within 10 to 20 minutes walk. York Rail Station is 15 minutes walk. Car parking is free and guaranteed. Broadband Wi-Fi is free. All 7 Bedrooms are en-suite, with walk-in shower, toilet and wash basin. All rooms are light, airy, and welcoming, with fresh flowers and well-stocked hospitality tray. Awake each morning to the gorgeous aroma of warm, home-made, freshly-baked breads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing