We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit for a King and Queen!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Fit for a King and Queen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Myself and husband stayed at Marmadukes and were more than impressed. We were given an upgrade to a stunning four poster room with a roll top bath!! It was immaculate and Very grand. Breakfast in bed was lovely and a real treat. The manager (Helen) was amazing and treat us like royalty. She even drove us into the town centre! We will be back and will tell all our friends and family about this beautiful hotel. Thank you Marmadukes!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethgree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    438
    169
    78
    34
See reviews for
114
1,064
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hameln, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The reviews for this hotel are very different. And they all seem to be right. Firstly we had booked two rooms, one of which was normal sized, but bathroom only had bathtub, which is very inconvienient for showering as there is no shower curtain. The second room was so tiny, that it was difficult to move around the bed. But here the bathroom had just a shower, which was very good. The rooms are very well furnished with old furniture, alsthough the small room was definitely overcluttered. Beds were very narrow for two people over sixty but beautifully made up with cushions and bedspread.
Staff was friendly, breakfast a good choice and very good quality. Could perhaps have done with some fresh fruit salad and some cheese for the continental choice. Everything was very well presented.
As the parking space is just not big enough for all the cars, the cars will be moved around by the staff and ours was out on the street for some of the time.
A pity that the hot tub was still not working, we were looking forward to using it after a day's sightseeing. Would recommend to ask before booking. The windows are not double glazed and our room was quite draughty, especially with high winds.
Otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubby65b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Booked a delux double room very small stuck up in the loft, bed creaked on every move couldnt relax felt bed was going to split in the middle.
Reception staff not very freindly.
on plus side breakfast was very good and staff pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
346 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel describes itself as a boutique hotel. This is entirely justified. The bedrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, as are the public areas.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming.
A short ten minute walk brings you right outside the minster so it is ideally positioned.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Our room (504) had beautiful antique furniture, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bath was lovely, but could have included bubble bath in the room. Breakfast was fantastic and served until 10.30am which was perfect for a weekend morning! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babybenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed for two nights at Marmadukes Hotel for our silver wedding anniversary. The whole stay was great from start to finish. The room (506) was lovely, lovely roll top bath and antique furniture. the lounge rooms are very comfortable and the bar an asset although would be an idea to get in some snacks for guests to have with a quiet drink. The breakfast room is a lovely bright room and the food excellent. Was a little disappointed that hot tub was not working, perhaps the hotel should decide if they are going to have that facility or not as others have mentioned this in their reviews. Having said that we would definitely return to Marmadukes hotel, with its lovely accommodation, great food, friendly staff and great location its a must for a stay in lovely York

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

refuse room 518 as only velux blinds we were awake at 0450 due to light when informed reception was told someone had pulled them down but that was in the winter and it wasn't a problem then, well its now june!!
breakfast excellent
location good nice and quiet 15-20 min walk to minster
not sure its 4 star grout and sealant in bathroom black in places
room stifling obviously an olde worldeplace but needs aircon

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChesterZoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing