We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the words of 'Four In A Bed' - "We won't be coming back"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In the words of 'Four In A Bed' - "We won't be coming back"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Just returned from a stay at Marmadukes. Was really looking forward to it but came away hugely disappointed.Location good, but the hotel lacked the finishing touches - screws just hanging on walls, fruit juice jug chipped, shower unit had holder broken and was left dangerously sharp at shin height, the chandelier in our room had years' worth of dust collected in it. In our room there was an unwanted safety feature (their words not ours) in that the emergency lighting was left on. Having checked in and gone out for the evening arriving back after 11pm, the darkness of our room was lit by a green glow. We can only describe it as trying to sleep under a traffic light that was stuck on permenent 'GO'.
Our sleepless night was met with a resounding we'll fix it as the fire alarm tester had left it on. Came back the light was still on. At 8pm as we left for a meal "We've called out the engineer but he hasn't been yet" didn't fill us with confidence, and at 1045pm as darkness fell the green glow remained strong. The night porter - God bless him, tried the "he's been and fixed it, it needs to be on - Health & Safety" blah blah. In the end we came away feeling like we had starred in an updated advert for Ready Brek, but on this occassion the glow didn't warm our hearts. Customer care = bit like the hotel, needs some finishing touches. Breakfast was nicely cooked though, the waitress was the nicest person there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    425
    168
    78
    34
See reviews for
113
1,049
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Last weekend we booked most of the rooms at Marmadukes for our son's wedding. What a delightful place! The rooms are all unique and beautifully furnished and the lounges and bar were lovely. We all felt so very welcomed and comfortable, as if all the family were staying in a big private house with plenty of servants!
The staff were friendly and helpful and especial thanks must go to the night porter/barman. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Lovely hotel, within walking distance of York centre. Nice quiet street and very pleasant staff. We have travelled a lot and we found this to be one of the nicest breakfast's we have had, freshly cooked and beautifully presented.
Just one minor thing, no soap or shower gel in bathroom, apart from that we would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubylove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Myself and husband stayed at Marmadukes and were more than impressed. We were given an upgrade to a stunning four poster room with a roll top bath!! It was immaculate and Very grand. Breakfast in bed was lovely and a real treat. The manager (Helen) was amazing and treat us like royalty. She even drove us into the town centre! We will be back and will tell all our friends and family about this beautiful hotel. Thank you Marmadukes!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethgree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hameln, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The reviews for this hotel are very different. And they all seem to be right. Firstly we had booked two rooms, one of which was normal sized, but bathroom only had bathtub, which is very inconvienient for showering as there is no shower curtain. The second room was so tiny, that it was difficult to move around the bed. But here the bathroom had just a shower, which was very good. The rooms are very well furnished with old furniture, alsthough the small room was definitely overcluttered. Beds were very narrow for two people over sixty but beautifully made up with cushions and bedspread.
Staff was friendly, breakfast a good choice and very good quality. Could perhaps have done with some fresh fruit salad and some cheese for the continental choice. Everything was very well presented.
As the parking space is just not big enough for all the cars, the cars will be moved around by the staff and ours was out on the street for some of the time.
A pity that the hot tub was still not working, we were looking forward to using it after a day's sightseeing. Would recommend to ask before booking. The windows are not double glazed and our room was quite draughty, especially with high winds.
Otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubby65b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Booked a delux double room very small stuck up in the loft, bed creaked on every move couldnt relax felt bed was going to split in the middle.
Reception staff not very freindly.
on plus side breakfast was very good and staff pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel describes itself as a boutique hotel. This is entirely justified. The bedrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, as are the public areas.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming.
A short ten minute walk brings you right outside the minster so it is ideally positioned.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing