We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great staff!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We live in York but wanted a hotel where we could stay the night before my wedding and the groom and I the night of as well as our guests. We chose Marmadukes, one reason because it was so close to our wedding venue (museum gardens) but also because they were great. In the lead up to the wedding Jodie could not do enough for us she was very helpful whenever I called. Our stay was also great, we had the loft suite as I needed the space for bridesmaids to get ready with me aswell as my make up and hair ladies. The suite was fab really spacious, massive shower & had a cosy feel to it. The staff working over the 2 days of our wedding didn't dissapoint either, the manageress was lovely and very attentive to ensure I had everything I needed on the morning of the big day. When we rolled up in the early hours after our wedding with residents and non residents this was not a problem and everyone was made to feel welcome in the bar where we sat having a night cap or 2! In addition, the breakfast is yummy!! I recommend this hotel they contributed to us having a fantastic wedding day and night!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm1ggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    444
    170
    78
    34
See reviews for
116
1,070
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

my wife and I used this hotel for a three night stay when visiting York and the surrounding area. The room was comfortable with antique furniture, relatively spacious and coffee making facilities were available. There was a small flat screen TV which had no sound when we arrived but was quickly fixed by the friendly staff. Breakfast was good, full english available. The location was good, in a cul-de-sac and only 5 minute walk to the centre of York. That was useful as there are no evening meals available. The only negative point was the limited parking which meant that you could get hemmed in by other cars and have to wait for them to be moved.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

After reading some of the other reviews on here, I find it hard to believe we stayed in the same hotel. Marmadukes is a beautiful building with charming rooms, I had no complaints what so ever. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpfull. We got room upgrades with it being a special occassion, and ours was perfect. Breakfast was included in the price and was great with a good variety of choices.

We will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011



We recently stayed at this hotel and were dissappointed that the room was dusty and shabby. There wasn't a wardrobe in the room, just a cupboard that was chest height. No drawers either. There were marks up the wall and the floor  (laminate) was very dusty.

The mattress was the worst point as it was very thin and old. Not only could you feel the bottom of the bed through it but springs were all sticking up. Very uncomfortable! When we complained the manager was very unsympathetic and uninterested.

Most of the rooms do not have showers and just a bath which is not to everyone's liking/needs.

When we asked if we could move rooms we were told that we would need to pay to upgrade! That room didn't have a shower either. 

 With some difficulty we managed to persuade the sullen manager to let us check out a day early (my husband has back problems and just couldn't spend another night being so uncomfortable). We then stayed at The Churchill down the road which was not only cheaper but also much more comfortable. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeBee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

stayed on the 10th aug for 1 night, the room was very spacious and clean as was the bathroom so cant complain about that. The breakfast menu had a great choice and was very tasty and when going to check out, helen on reception couldnt of been more help. Will certainly be staying again when visting york. All round great value for money/

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We were sent to Marmadukes after the lamb and lion messed up our booking. I was very disappointed as I had been told it was a gorgeous boutique hotel....not by my standards. Less boutique more dated being passed off as quirky. The room was dusty and bed sheets stained. The shower was non existent and impractical, blinds in the bathroom broke, moths eating away at the curtains.

Best thing about this place was the breakfast - lovely. But thats it. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katie2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Staff not bothered, room dusty ,bath too small nowhere to put anything because of the clutter and to top it all after having to book a slot for sunday breakfast we were served a micro-waved mushroom and sausage ,they did cook the bacon and egg fresh. I guess we should have been pleased they made the effort!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank souhterncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing