We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my birthday treat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Well what a beautiful boutique hotel, friendly staff, amazing rooms and lovely breakfast, we will be back.

Room Tip: the york suite was huge, immaculate and great if you have children, a kitchen too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

my husband and i visited york this week and stayed in this fantastic hotel its well worth a visit the rooms are beautiful comfortable the two lounges were fab and the breakfast was absolutely lovely will definately go again if we go to york the staff were really nice and helpful thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reginaWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Beautiful period property. Staff friendly and courteous (especially Jane at breakfast). Lounges and Bar area very nice. Stayed in 4 poster double room, large bathroom and comfy bed. Just a 10 min walk from Minster. Would return....

Stayed: May 2012
3  Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Lovely looking hotel but afternoon receptionist had a bad attitude cleaner could do to use some mr sheen on the furniture (dusty) mould remover in the bathroom and scrub the scuffs off the skirting boards and the shower needs to be modernised so it doesn't run freezing cold then red hot. Shame could be so good with a little more effort.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Births
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Lovely rooms really nicely decorated. Bed a little soft for me but thats just a personal taste thing cant really fault them for that. Breakfast was spot on. Lounge lovely and comfortable. Really good service from that staff. Location is great easy short walk from the centre of York lovely quiet location. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in York for 2 nights at Marmadukes and both enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal, slightly out of the bustling city centre, but only 15 minutes walk away (at most). Breakfast was pleasant, if not spectacular, with various cooked options and a European style buffet of cereals, fruits and pastries. The room was adequately sized (we were in the double at £95 per night), equipped with bath (with built in shower), television, DVD player, kettle and usual furnishings. Tea, hot chocolate, still and sparkling water, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were all supplied. The bed was very soft and comfortable too.

The hotel itself was well-kept, tidy and peaceful. All the staff were friendly and helpful, providing a map and information about York when required. The hotel also looked after our bags after checking out so we could explore York on our last day without our cases which was much appreciated.

Overall - a bit pricey perhaps, but a safe choice to have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISpasibaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stay in York every year around our wedding anniversary and after researching different hotels to stay in we decided on Marmadukes. Initially emailed them with queries on parking and luggage, we received no reply so the day before called them directly. We arrived before check in and was able to leave our car and luggage before checking in, although this was midweek so I presume more spaces available. We were given room 515 good size and large bathroom although not great, the tv worked intermittently and was far too small for the room and exposed all the wires, some of the plug points next to the dressing table didn't work, the bed runner had a stain on it, there was no room service menu in the room although the hotel welcome book asked us to refer to it for prices?! The bed was only a double( maybe just me but I would of expected a king for a deluxe room) the mattress was very soft and although comfy was like sleeping on jelly, on the plus side though it was beautifully decorated, tea, coffee etc was very well stocked and wine glasses were supplied in the room which Is a great touch, the toiletries supplied were of a great standard also. My main problem was noise, you can have the most beautiful room in the world but If you don't sleep it's pointless, there was a constant hum from the air conditioner in the conservatory below but the worst was the noise from above, you could actually hear the conversations through the ceiling and it felt as someone was purposely stomping across the floor continually which I'm sure wasn't the case but it was so loud, around 6.30am in the morning it began again but with loud bangs as I think someone was dropping things on the floor, I know this isn't the problem of the hotel but you'd think in a big solid house that the wall, floors would be solid also! It honestly ruined our stay as we were desperate for a lie in, I really think as the room shouldnt be hired out as the noise issues far outweigh the
positive points. If you do stay please request top floor!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joetash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £67 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing