We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Lovely hotel in quiet area but close to york city centre, hotel is stylish and rooms are clean tidy and cosy. Our room was in a loft conversion with lovely sky lights, also bed was very comfy. Nice white sheets. The breakfast was amazing!! Great stay, we will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pip116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Pip,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we were delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us. If you wish to come and stay again as you have mentioned in your review we always offer the Best available rate when you book direct with us, and we offer all returning guests 10% off the standard rate.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Kindest regards
The Marmadukes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    425
    168
    78
    34
See reviews for
113
1,049
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed here overnight for a trip to York races and a family reunion the staff were all great even sorted us an early check in nothing was too much trouble would highly recommend this hotel for its friendliness, cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellebentley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon. Room was great with lots of space, comfy bed and large bath with.plenty of hot water and luxury toileteries. Breakfast was excellent. We were also allowed a later check out which was good as our train didn't leave until 2pm. The lounge areas were very tastefully decorated in keeping with the rest of the hotel . The whole hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful.. Would definitley recommend and would stay there again if visiting York.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurorab01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at the Marmadukes hotel whilst visiting York and do not regret!! Our room was beautiful, small but quirky. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were tremendously helpful and friendly! Nothing was too much trouble and we will be returning again next year :) We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Booked this hotel at very short notice (on the day - a few hours before check in) and at an exceptionally good price. One night stay. Hotel was beautiful. Location excellent - easily within 5/10 mins walk of City Centre. Room small but this was specified on the booking (small double). However we found it very cosy and immaculate. They had definitely made the best use of space in the room to ensure everything there you needed and more. Staff were very friendly and could not do enough. Breakfast the next day, hubbie commented the cooked breakfast was one of the best. As a veggie, there was a veggie option but I much preferred the delicious fresh fruit salad followed by gorgeous pastries. Could not fault this accommodation at all and would definitely stay again. We loved Marmadukes. I think negatives reviews came from previous managament, which has recently changed so do not let these reviews put you off as things have definitely improved.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashia M, Reservations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we would welcome you back without hesitation, call us directly to get the best rate available. We hope to welcome you back in the future,
Kind Regards
Tashia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a stay at Marmadukes which was great, staff very friendly, room had some nice original pieces of furniture, not all flat pack like some places and food at breakfast was very tasty. An easy walk back into the centre of York, only downside is limited parking but that is not a surprise in York!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashia M, Reservations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review,
We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and would welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Tashia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

we chose to stay here on our wedding night and booked all the rooms for 1 night for our guests. We booked a year in advance, everything we had discussed at the time of booking had been forgotten nearer the time of the wedding. The management blamed staff that had left and then seemed to think we were making things up. We had a mix up with our bill and the manager never returned one of my calls, it took weeks and weeks to speak to her and when I did I wish I hadn't bothered, she was very very unprofessional and rude! We will never return to Marmadukes because of this member of staff, on a positive note the room was very nice.

Room Tip: Do not go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reubenthebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing