We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty damp and dark rooms. Very disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty damp and dark rooms. Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I travel 50% with work so it's fair to say I experience a spectrum of hotels. This is amongst the worst. Decor is ok, but tired. The poor cleanliness of the rooms completely ruin the hotel. Dusty, dirty fixtures. I have had cleaner bathrooms in Youth hostels. The was no ventilation in the bathroom and mold and mildew were rampant. Poor lighting didnt help, but thankfully it gelped to hide the grime and silverfish. Shower fittings were broken and the water pressure as little more than a drip.

Breakfast was OK. Eggs were practically raw.

Staff were friendly and helpful but the cleanliness and quality of the rooms make this a place to avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    425
    168
    78
    34
See reviews for
113
1,049
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay in York. I got the single room in the annexe. I really should have paid 20 or 30 pounds less for it due to its size but it was a last minute booking. It is small but then I don't think their website suggests otherwise. It reminded me of being back at school, which was no bad thing! A word of caution, the bed is not for people above 5ft 8inches. I say that because my feet definitely reached over the very end when lying straight. The bathroom was nice - a shower with different settings. I can't remember the name of the range of complimentary shower gel etc in there but they smelt and felt lovely.

Breakfast provided a good selection of food, cooked and continental. Although I did think the room should have been bigger. Fortunately, I went down early so got a table but I know that some other people who came in had to try and figure out where to sit. I did wonder what happens if more guests had come down all at the same time! So basically, advice is go to breakfast early.

Reception staff were polite and helpful. I spent a short time in the lounge in the main building which was very relaxing as they have sofas and a TV there. All in all, no complaints although I might go for a bigger room next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chi4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Recently had a stay at Marmadukes paid for for my birthday. I loved everything about it :) The breakfast service was brilliant and rooms were always cleaned. Not a very long walk from the heart of the city :)
Would come here again
Amy and Daniel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylouise227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I booked Marmadukes Hotel for a weekend break to York through Booking.com. This hotel would not have been the first choice for our stay, as we were originally attracted to the description and photos of 'The Churchill' hotel; however there were no rooms available at The Chruchill within our price range for the dates that we wanted to stay. Marmadukes Hotel seemed to be an obvious but pleasant second option for us as it was in our price range (£110 per night B&B for a deluxe room through booking.com) and its selling points of being antique, romantic; with period features and 'free standing bath' were extremely attractive to us.

Postitives - In terms of location, the hotel was ideal; only a few minutes walk into the main centre. The outside of the hotel is undoubtedly picturesque and the dark furniture and decor style inside is very beautiful. The hotel is clean and the bedding/ fabrics are of comfy quality. The breakfast is plentiful and fresh and comes to a standard. But for us this is where the luxury ended. The following explains why;

- On our arrival the female receptionist was really rude to us. She responded in a manner that was extremely inconvenienced and she offered minimal assistance.

- Our room (517) was not remotely representitive of the photos shown for a 'deluxe room' on booking.com. Our room was small and visually akin to the 'standard double' shown on photos - which is not what we paid for. What we were most disappointed to find was that there was no free standing bath in the bathroom (in the room description it states that 'most deluxe rooms have free standing bath'). While my husband and I appreciate that 'most rooms' does not consitute 'every room', we were surprised to find no bath at all - but a tiny, pokey en-suite, that had cheap tiling, chipped paint and a dated shower cubicle. A far cry from 'boutique'. Not up to standard at all.

- When I politely queried the room type with the (same) receptionist she claimed that we were already in a 'deluxe room' and when I asked if there was a possibility of being located to a slightly bigger room with a bath, she said she could only move us for one night only, so there was no point!

- When we checked out no one asked how we found our stay.

- The bar is never staffed, so you have to ask the receptionist to serve you for a drink which in our experience was met by staff appearing inconvinienced by our request. When I ordered a gin and tonic and asked for a slice of lemon, I was told there wasn't any lemon - but I could see the lemon in the fridge in front of me!

- They charge £5 per day parking which is extortionate!

We rapidly realised that the hotel has no soul; it is not somewhere you can chill out at the end of a day by sitting at the bar or in the drawing room. We popped into the Churchill up the road for a glass of wine and were met with ambience, warmth and hopitality (and a piano player!) We were both regretful that we didnt stay here. We wouldn't recommend this hotel for the amount it charges and the 4 stars in claims to have.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carla j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Lovely hotel in quiet area but close to york city centre, hotel is stylish and rooms are clean tidy and cosy. Our room was in a loft conversion with lovely sky lights, also bed was very comfy. Nice white sheets. The breakfast was amazing!! Great stay, we will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pip116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashia M, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Pip,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we were delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us. If you wish to come and stay again as you have mentioned in your review we always offer the Best available rate when you book direct with us, and we offer all returning guests 10% off the standard rate.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Kindest regards
The Marmadukes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed here overnight for a trip to York races and a family reunion the staff were all great even sorted us an early check in nothing was too much trouble would highly recommend this hotel for its friendliness, cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellebentley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon. Room was great with lots of space, comfy bed and large bath with.plenty of hot water and luxury toileteries. Breakfast was excellent. We were also allowed a later check out which was good as our train didn't leave until 2pm. The lounge areas were very tastefully decorated in keeping with the rest of the hotel . The whole hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful.. Would definitley recommend and would stay there again if visiting York.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurorab01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing