We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loft suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I will start by saying me and wife have stayed in several boutique hotels , and know what standard to expect for the price you pay , I'll start by saying the reception was very friendly and welcoming the breakfast was very nice and again the staff very helpful and polite , now for the room, we stayed in the loft suite and this is where it goes down hill the standard of house keeping is poor , the room is in need of a complete makeover the bathroom again all needs modernising the shower heads were filthy only one shower worked properly the extractor was hanging off the ceiling , all the mastic around the shower casing is falling out and is black , it all appears very run down , as I said I know what quality to expect for the price I pay , in the early hours of Saturday morning we were awoken by a loud banging noise this went on all night it sounded like a pump that was air locked , I mentioned it to the receptionist who informed they would checked out , to summarise our stay the staff were very helpful and welcoming , the room fell way below my standards

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happy63Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry that the room fell below your expectations. The issues raised have been passed to our maintenance team and are being dealt with immediately. I appreciate this is a little late for you but should you wish to return please book with us directly and we will ensure you return stay lives up to your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Marmadukes Hotel for 2 nights in room 514. Its was about a 10 minute stroll into York which was perfect. We found the staff were friendly and very helpful, our room was large and elegant, as was the bathroom where our room had a bath but there was a hand shower and at time of booking we were asked if we had a preference. The room was also very clean, breakfast was fantastic where they were happy to serve to your liking. We would highly recommend and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My friends and I enjoyed a weekend break in York earlier in the month and stayed at Marmadukes hotel which was conveniently situated only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. The staff were very friendly and approachable particularly the young lady on reception, Megan, who could not have been more helpful - providing us with a map, recommending places to go and was only too happy to book us a taxi to take us to our evening venue. The breakfast was superb and our rooms were spotlessly clean and I adored the roll-top bath in my room! - you can tell this boutique hotel prides itself on providing that touch of luxury for its guests! I will definitely be staying over again in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here one night for bed then breakfast (booked via. Laterooms.com at a very cheap rate).

We were given a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room with bath rather than shower. Because it was a roll top bath there was no shower over it (but there was a hand shower for hairwashing)/ The room was tastefully furnished with antique furniture. Overall the room was fine but the wall-mounted TV had a small screen for the size of room and a few more accessories here and there wouldn't have gone a miss.

The full English breakfast was fine and set us up for a day's sightseeing - it takes about 10 mins to walk to the city walls. Staff were helpful and welcoming. We negotiated to leave the car until mid- afternoon meaning we paid only £5 for 24 hours parking - a real snip in York.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Just got back from a 2 night break at Marmadukes hotel . On arrival we were shown to our room 506 which was lovely , however it was a deluxe room with a lovely roll top bath but with a telephone shower and unfortunately my hubby doesn't really do baths . So we asked if the following morning we could be moved to to a room with a separate shower cubicle instead which the receptionist did straight away and we were equally impressed with our room 510 . We enjoyed a lovely weekend and wouldn t hestitate in returning again . The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room was light bright and airy . A 10-15 mins walk into centre of York , great location, great hotel . When we return to York we will return to Marmadukes !

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank heleneveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had big expectations for out stay here but felt a bit let down. It all felt a bit shabby. I know they have furnished the place with antiques but less is more I think. It was a nice idea in a lovely house. Service was good with a warm greeting by reception and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had a room in the annex (the one in the brochure) but the bathroom advertised is for a different room, which was a bit of a let down. The room could have been cleaner- the chandalier looked like it needed a good clean and there were marks on the walls. It looked like it needed a bit of a freshen up. The bathroom was nice but a freestanding bath placed so cose to the wall is always going to suffer the odd leak between the wall and bath. Comfy bed (if a bit 'squishy') with lovely sheets and towels. Plenty of tea and coffee etc. Breakfast was nice but no choice of milk, limited juices, yogurt etc. We booked through Voyages Prive so paid a fair price for what we got and York does seem to be a bit pricey. I dont think we'd stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations. Your comments regarding the room have been passed on to housekeeping and the issues have been dealt with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Have literally just got back from a 2 night stay at this fantastic gem of a hotel.

My better half booked this as a surprise break away and originally we should have been staying at one of the sister hotels Guy Fawkes, however there was an over booking so we were moved to Marmadukes and I was certainly not disappointed. For starters we had a four poster bed and as a gift his nibbs had ordered champagne and flowers for me it was really nicely placed and a real treat which I knew nothing about.

The staff were attentive and could not do enough for us both days we were there and made us feel really really welcome. Breakfast there was a good selection of cooked, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, plenty of juice and warm drinks. The room itself was a good size with a flat screen tv and a free standing bath with shower attachment (if you want a four poster room with a shower they are avilable you just need to ask when you book). The hotel has rooms off where you can relax and also a bar.

Overall had a fantastic stay and we stayed in room number 512, fingers crossed will be back to stay agin soon - thank you so much Marmadukes for making a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building room 512 which over looks the car park and front of hotel beware the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 811Purplebird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,461 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £64 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing