We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walkable distance to city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Walkable distance to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Staff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious. I was however disappointed with the room - it stated 4 poster but was really a canopy bed. The furniture was on the whole faux old - looked good in a photo but not up close. Room was small and cold - I could feel draught from window. Handy for walking into city but I have been to better hotels which were just as handy for attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to leave a response. I am very sorry that the room you stayed in did not meet your expectations. All our items of furniture are antiques, sourced and bought throughout auction houses both at home and abroad. I appreciate that the marks of time do not show themselves in photographs but are all part of the furnitures history
The beds themselves are all individually handcrafted by the man who made the bed for the Harry Potter series and are all of different design.
We would love to welcome you back in the future and assign you to a room with a full four poster bed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    425
    168
    78
    34
See reviews for
113
1,049
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I will start by saying me and wife have stayed in several boutique hotels , and know what standard to expect for the price you pay , I'll start by saying the reception was very friendly and welcoming the breakfast was very nice and again the staff very helpful and polite , now for the room, we stayed in the loft suite and this is where it goes down hill the standard of house keeping is poor , the room is in need of a complete makeover the bathroom again all needs modernising the shower heads were filthy only one shower worked properly the extractor was hanging off the ceiling , all the mastic around the shower casing is falling out and is black , it all appears very run down , as I said I know what quality to expect for the price I pay , in the early hours of Saturday morning we were awoken by a loud banging noise this went on all night it sounded like a pump that was air locked , I mentioned it to the receptionist who informed they would checked out , to summarise our stay the staff were very helpful and welcoming , the room fell way below my standards

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank happy63Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry that the room fell below your expectations. The issues raised have been passed to our maintenance team and are being dealt with immediately. I appreciate this is a little late for you but should you wish to return please book with us directly and we will ensure you return stay lives up to your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Marmadukes Hotel for 2 nights in room 514. Its was about a 10 minute stroll into York which was perfect. We found the staff were friendly and very helpful, our room was large and elegant, as was the bathroom where our room had a bath but there was a hand shower and at time of booking we were asked if we had a preference. The room was also very clean, breakfast was fantastic where they were happy to serve to your liking. We would highly recommend and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

My friends and I enjoyed a weekend break in York earlier in the month and stayed at Marmadukes hotel which was conveniently situated only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. The staff were very friendly and approachable particularly the young lady on reception, Megan, who could not have been more helpful - providing us with a map, recommending places to go and was only too happy to book us a taxi to take us to our evening venue. The breakfast was superb and our rooms were spotlessly clean and I adored the roll-top bath in my room! - you can tell this boutique hotel prides itself on providing that touch of luxury for its guests! I will definitely be staying over again in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here one night for bed then breakfast (booked via. Laterooms.com at a very cheap rate).

We were given a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room with bath rather than shower. Because it was a roll top bath there was no shower over it (but there was a hand shower for hairwashing)/ The room was tastefully furnished with antique furniture. Overall the room was fine but the wall-mounted TV had a small screen for the size of room and a few more accessories here and there wouldn't have gone a miss.

The full English breakfast was fine and set us up for a day's sightseeing - it takes about 10 mins to walk to the city walls. Staff were helpful and welcoming. We negotiated to leave the car until mid- afternoon meaning we paid only £5 for 24 hours parking - a real snip in York.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night break at Marmadukes hotel . On arrival we were shown to our room 506 which was lovely , however it was a deluxe room with a lovely roll top bath but with a telephone shower and unfortunately my hubby doesn't really do baths . So we asked if the following morning we could be moved to to a room with a separate shower cubicle instead which the receptionist did straight away and we were equally impressed with our room 510 . We enjoyed a lovely weekend and wouldn t hestitate in returning again . The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room was light bright and airy . A 10-15 mins walk into centre of York , great location, great hotel . When we return to York we will return to Marmadukes !

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heleneveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had big expectations for out stay here but felt a bit let down. It all felt a bit shabby. I know they have furnished the place with antiques but less is more I think. It was a nice idea in a lovely house. Service was good with a warm greeting by reception and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had a room in the annex (the one in the brochure) but the bathroom advertised is for a different room, which was a bit of a let down. The room could have been cleaner- the chandalier looked like it needed a good clean and there were marks on the walls. It looked like it needed a bit of a freshen up. The bathroom was nice but a freestanding bath placed so cose to the wall is always going to suffer the odd leak between the wall and bath. Comfy bed (if a bit 'squishy') with lovely sheets and towels. Plenty of tea and coffee etc. Breakfast was nice but no choice of milk, limited juices, yogurt etc. We booked through Voyages Prive so paid a fair price for what we got and York does seem to be a bit pricey. I dont think we'd stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry that your stay fell short of your expectations. Your comments regarding the room have been passed on to housekeeping and the issues have been dealt with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing