We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic deal for £99”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nth. Lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic deal for £99”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at The Marmadukes on a friday evening as we had booked tickets for The Opera House and what a fantastic deal we got. A glass of wine on arrival, 1 night B&B (our room had a huge 4 poster bed) plus a 3 course lunch on the saturday at Guy Fawkes restaurant AND they only charged us £5 for the parking. Unheard of in York !!

We had a most enjoyable stay, woke up to the birds singing, you'd never know you where staying in a city. A perfect location as only a 10 mins walk to the Minster, river and shops. Can't wait for another deal to pop into my inbox. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Room with a 4 poster bed, lovely bathroom with a roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests. Part of the charm and beauty of Marmadukes is the pretty tree lined avenue location yet the proximity to town and we pleased that this added to the enjoyment of your stay. Keep an eye on that inbox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    444
    171
    78
    34
See reviews for
116
1,070
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Had booked this hotel through secret escapes and after reading some of the reviews (On tripadvisor) was a little apprehensive of what to expect, but the hotel was charming, lovely old furniture in a beautiful old building. Our room was spacious and warm and had a large bathroom (however no shower, only the attachment on the bath). One small downside was the lighting,lovely and ambient but not so good for applying makeup and the mirror in the bathroom was too high for me to see in so couldn't use this one and I would suggest a shelf next to the bath to place toiletries on, other than this I can't fault the room. The breakfast was excellent and the service at breakfast was good,the reception staff were also helpful and friendly, the bar is expensive but this is usual for hotels. Its only a short walk into York so a great location for exploring.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely roll top bath but no shower, so if you specifically require a shower then I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you had such a lovely stay with us. We are proud of our breakfasts and glad you enjoyed yours so much. Your feedback has been passed to our chef.
I hope we get to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Marmadukes for one night last week. I have nothing but praise for the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We had the loft suite and I would definitely do so again, we have also already recommended Marmadukes to friends.
The location was great, just a five minute walk from central York. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room and public areas were both clean and comfortable and the breakfast was first class. overall- excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankoflouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much and would like to thank you for passing on your recommendations to friends
I hope we can welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Just had an overnight stay in York & really pleased we chose Marmadukes. There was off street parking and the hotel was in a quiet location but only 5 minutes walk to the minster & shops.
Breakfast was delicious and the staff were really friendly. We would chose to stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tottycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comment regarding your enjoyment of our breakfast has been passed on to the chef and your compliments regarding our staff are much appreciated
I hope we get to welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Having stayed at Marmadukes this weekend, I only have positive feedback. The hotel is well positioned in a quiet road, only a short walk from the city walls.
This was our 2nd stay at the Hotel, both visits have been fantasitc. We stayed in the York suite both times, which is very spacious, well equipped and clean and has been furnished in keeping with the high quality spec of the rest of the Hotel.
I'm a frequent traveller both for Business in the Uk and on Holidays abroad and I would fully recommend Marmadukes as a place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcomp_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. It always pleases us to see guests returning having enjoyed previous stays with us. I am glad we continue to please you.
I hope we can welcome you back for a third time in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Having just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and now read some of the feedback on Tripadvisor I am very surprised by the negative comments. I have staid at Marmaduke at least 3 times now and every visit has been a success. I have staid in a variety of different rooms, from the small, but good value, one bed room to a very plush four poster room. The rooms all have individual character with many original Victorian features which in my mind makes them special. It is a little bit like visiting your well to do relatives in Victorian times and a real home from home. The staff have always been friendly and efficient and the home cooked breakfast is lovely with something for everyone. The communal drawing room especially is beautiful and a perfect place for an aperitif before heading into town. York town centre is about a 15 minute walk away, but it is an easy walk and one of the great benefits of Marmaduke's location is that it is in a residential and therefore quiet street. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Because of the different character of the rooms some only have a bath and some only have a shower. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking time out to leave us feedback. It is lovely when we welcome back faces from the past and are delighted that you enjoy staying with us so much that you book to return with us again.
We look forward to your 4th stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and l stayed for two nights from Sunday at this hotel. We had read the description and found the hotel as described. Yes the furniture is a little tired but that is part of its ambience.The staff were fantastic and certainly were helpful and gave good advice on things to see and do and certainly knew what they were talking about. The Hotel is Victorian and they have lovingly kept it in that time. The Chandeliers are fantastic! This hotel only supplies breafast, but what a breakfast. We were told to try the Guy Fawkes Hotel or the Lamb and Lion just 10 minuttes walk away for dinner. Although we did not eat in the Lamb and Lion ( We were to late) we did eat in the other one. The service and food was extremely good. All in all l can highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: We were in a four poster room with a large en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine28may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy you had such an enjoyable stay and delighted that you also enjoyed the services and food our sister properties offered you.
Thank you for offering your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing