We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel,perfect location,great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel,perfect location,great breakfast!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Marmadukes after taking advantage of the fabulous £99 offer -B&B, drink at the hotel and 3-course lunch at Guy Fawkes Inn. What a fantastic offer it turned out to be! Lunch was delicious, as was breakfast and our room was beautiful! It was like stepping back in time,Victorian times to be more specific! Four poster bed,roll-top bath-very romantic.
The hotel is less than ten minutes walk from the city centre,on a lovely, peaceful street.
The staff were welcoming and friendly.There a several comments on previous reviews about the parking,we had no trouble getting a space at the hotel car park.It did cost £5,but we had such a fantastic time-we honestly didn't mind.
Having been to York a few times now, this has definitely been our favourite hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am delighted you so enjoyed your stay with us and also your lunch at our sister propertty the Guy Fawkes Inn.
I hope we can welcome you back to your favourite York hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    444
    170
    78
    34
See reviews for
116
1,070
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just spent one night at marmadukes. We had a deluxe double room which was very nice,although a little small. It had lovely furnishings and a great roll top bath, although the downside was that there was only a hand held shower.
We went out for dinner and drinks in York, although on reflection, I think it would have been nice to have a drink in the hotel bar. it looked very welcoming.
Breakfast was very good, all freshly prepared and tasty.
All in all, a good, value for money boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay with us.
All our rooms are differing in size so should you wish to return to us in the future please request a larger room and we always try to accommodate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We have stayed at Marmadukes on 4/5 occasions now (cannot remember exactly) and must say we consider staying somewhere else but we thought we would take advantage of there great offer of 4 poster room free drink and lunch at Guy Fawkes Hotel for £99.

We stayed there last year and the place was starting to look a little tired and the breakfast did not seem to be quite as good... However our Confidence has now been restored there has been decoration works carried out and on this occasion the breakfast was outstanding!!

It is just a short stroll into York (5 mins) so it is well placed and there is carparking which is a bonus in York.

I would have definitely given it 5 in the ratings but there is a little room for improvement only very small things but these are the things that make a place more special.

Well done Marmadukes!!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in this time was 501 a large room although it does not have a shower if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crosslak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are always delighted when guests return to us time and again. Thank you for noticing the improvements we have made to restore the hotel. These are ongoing so hopefully you will be even more delighted on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

I heard great things about Marmadukes Hotel in York and thought I would splurge 150 pounds for a night stay. The location was good, close to the shops and restaurants. However, the room was a disappointment. The bed consisted of a double mattress on a king size bed frame and a TV that didn't work. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and squeaky. All in all the service was fine but the room wasn't worth the rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonliz647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you were left feeling disappointed with the room. The comfort of our beds gets regular, very positive feedback but as I am sure you will appreciate all people have different ideas of mattress comforts and we are unable to accommodate all.
Regarding the problems you had with your television I am a little bemused. All our televisions are in full working order and have been for some weeks. I realise that as some tellies work from a digi box they can be a little confusing but staff are always available to help with any problems. I hope this hasnt put you off staying in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My partner and I visited Marmadukes in March 2013. Unknown to my partner, I proposed at the hotel, and we enjoyed a fantastic romantic stay. We spent an evening in the loft suite, which has a fantastic layout, nice furniture, sauna and big bath that we loved. The bed was comfortable, as was the lounge area.

The reception lady, was very helpful, they allowed us to leave our bags a few hours before we were able to check in, and a few hours after we checked out, while we spent time in the City.

Our breakfast to our room was 15 minutes late, no problem to us, but we were given the room service for free because of the delay.

Just a couple of very small things that could be improved, there were some left over tea lights, that we would have lit if there were more, and we had means to light them, bubble bath amongst the complementary toiletries, and an iron.

However, we WILL return to the loft suite soon, to relive and enjoy a great relaxing stay.

Many thanks.

Room Tip: The loft Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Wow congratulations!! I am delighted for you both and thrilled that Marmadukes was able to provide the setting for such a romantic occasion.
Thank you for leaving us such wonderful feedback. I have noted the points you made regarding the little touches. Had you required one we do have irons available from reception that can be brought to the room for you.
We look forward to your return visit and bear in mind we are an excellent venue for your wedding :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Really enjoyed my recent stay at Marmadukes.
We were offered a free upgrade on arrival - always a bonus and a great start to our stay.
The hotel is lovely and the location is ideal, it is only a short walk from the city centre where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from.
There is a £5 parking charge to use the onsite parking, however this still is considerably cheaper than the public car parks.
The staff are friendly and seem genuinely happy to help.
All in all very good and would recommend.

Room Tip: You can request either a room with a bath or shower but must let the hotel know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback. Wev arwe pleased you had a lovely stay and are always delighted when guests recommend us to others
I hope we can welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hotel is located in a pleasant, leafy road off the A19 and about 10 minutes stroll to the city centre. Lovely period features in the rooms and guest lounges. Very helpful staff. We were able to park at the hotel for free as it was a Sunday. Though £5 a day for rest of the week, I think. Had supper at their sister hotel (Lion & Lamb Inn) - very enjoyable. Breakfast at Marmaduke's was first class - really good full English - bacon and sausages particularly tasty! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and alos took the time to sample the delights of our sister property the Lamb and Lion.
Your comments regarding breakfast have been passed to the chef and our butcher was thrilled with your comments on his products.
I hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing