We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Excellent with a lovely Victorian feel throughout and in a brilliant location! Not far to walk into the centre of town and very good for parking. The garden is lovely for drinks in the sunshine and the breakfast room was very stylish and cool for a hot summer morning with a high standard of décor. In my opinion the best hotel in York, cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunderland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for such great feedback and what an honour to be called ' the best hotel in York'!
Please recommend us to your family and friends and I hope we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    438
    169
    78
    34
See reviews for
114
1,064
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The staff were all pleasant and booking in and out was effortless.
The room was decorated in an old Victorian style and was very quaint but the bathroom was clean and modern.
Like a previous review, it was warm over the period we stayed and all there was only a table fan to cool us down.
We stayed b&b and the breakfast was of good quality and quite varied.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darmok67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us.
Our hotel is Victorian built with good old thick brick walls but which can unfortunately hold the heat in high summer. We do have extra fans available on request
I hope we can welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We sourced the hotel through secret escapes and its location is excellent - just a short walk from the centre (about 10 mins) and was just a little further than the car park that is used when the hotel car park is full. We stayed B and B and the breakfast was excellent as were the 'front of house' staff who could not do enough for us. The decor is an older style with furniture to match and gave a homely feel, but the hotel overall was too hot (certainly the bedrooms were and whilst there was a fan in the room, it needed to be bigger due to the size of the room to have any effect, although it was a hot weekend) We had a problem with our TV, which initially wouldn't work and the first member of staff said the batteries had been replaced that day on the remote and that the cleaner had probably caught the'on-off' button on the top of it when they had dusted....This may have been a slight exagerration as whern i ran my finger along the top of the tv feeling for the buttons, my finger came away covered in thick dust.... having worked out how to use the tv without the remote we keft it with another member of staff who was going to put a new battery in it, as it hadn't been done!! This is a minor complaint, but when we left the towels in the bath for replacement, as per the instructions in the bathroom, we were left with the same ones hung over the towel rail after the room had been serviced and none of the glasses from the night before had been moved. So, location eaxcellent, food excellent, but room servicing and cleanliness is an area that needs addressing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel through secret escapes back in April. for my girlfrend and I's 3rd annivesary which was on the 3rd of July 2013 we found the overall experience overwhelming. The hotel was in a lovely setting, the staff were polite and well mannered. the room was well decorated and looked the part for our romantic get away, although we found the bed a little small. Loved the Victorian style bath. There was wine and flowers in the room for us which I had asked for in advance. The breakfast was the nicest we have ever had. The grounds were lovely and in a perfect location for York City Centre. Only 10mins walk away. The two lounge's were very comfortable and perfect for some quiet time, The bar reminded me of an old fashioned drinking establishment which was ideal for the victorian theme the hotel prides its self on. The down side was no real ale on tap, but we went to the Guy Fawkes in for that, where we also ate. We will definately be coming back again. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pw18968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review
I am delighted that you had such a great stay with us and that we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last month in a fabulous four poster room and before we left we had already booked The Loft Suite for 2 nights. We come to York virtually every month and have stayed in numerous places but I don't think we will be going anywhere else now as there is no need "Marmadukes" ticks every box.

It is set in a side street a few minutes walk from the centre of York but I love every second of this scenic pleasant trip in.

The Loft Suite was amazing and it is gorgeous and feels so relaxing and cosy and luxurious it's wonderful. In fact I think it has spoiled us for our future visits and I "want" this now everytime. Don't think "are we going to like it" because in the the tack of Simon Cowell "no you won't like it" you will "love it".....

The staff are very friendly and helpful, it's quirky in a good way,spotlessly clean and the breakfast is faultless.

We have already booked next months visit in the suite.

Thank you again Marmadukes!!!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suerp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for another wonderful review. We know we are doing something right when guests like yourselves return time and again.
We look forward to seeing you next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed for one night 30/06/13 and found the whole experience to be brilliant. The small car park was a bargain at £5 for the stay. When we checked in the lady on reception was lovely and took time to show us where we would be for breakfast the next morning. The conservatory dining room was very pleasantly decorated, light and airy. There was a sitting room was was decorated very tastefully and looked a very cosy place to relax with a glass of wine and a newspaper and the bar, open until 2a.m, was very adequate. The room itself (504) was lovely with an adjoining bathroom and huge sash windows. The period furniture was a delight, although the bed did creak a disturbing amount! My one criticism would be the the room came only with stunning roll top bath and a hand held shower attachment which may not have been convenient to everyone. The hotel was fantastic value for money considering its perfect location ten minutes walk away from the city walls and York Minster and the breakfast was gorgeous, setting us up for the rest of the days explorations of the city. I can not wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Pack comfy walking shoes, with so much to explore its a must. Also the Hole in the Wall pub does lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much
Should you return to us in the future please request a room with a shower as we do try to accommodate all guests preferences and requests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We booked this trip through Secret Escapes and felt we had very good value for money. We had a room with a shower as requested and found everything to be very comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay here again and will look out for future deals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 532ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please contact us directly for the best prices should you rebook in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing