We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff, perfect location, fabulous rooms & marvellous breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in Marmadukes last year & returned again this year. It was excellent last year but this year was outstanding. From arrival to departure we were looked after to the highest degree. Jo/Juan is flamboyant ant welcoming, helped us with our cases and ensured we had everything we needed as did the rest of the staff. Beds are super comfy & had a restful nights sleep. I can also strongly recommend the ham & cheese omelette for breakfast!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaMcCartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking time out to review us!
We are so glad you decided to return to Marmadukes and even more that your stay had significantly improved year on year! Jo is a new member of our team who does pride himself in excellent customer service and is an asset to our team! I will pass your comments on to him.
We hope you return for a third time as it would be lovely to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

After taking the time to decide where to stay whilst visiting York I came across Marmadukes. I wanted something special as a night away with out children and a belated Xmas present or my other half was planned for the day. When booking the four poster room was not available so opted for the deluxe room. The day before arrival I view the website and saw that their was a four poster available so contacted the hotel and was very kindly upgraded at no extra charge. We arrived around 5pm and checked in no problem, the car park had about 7 cars in it and plenty of space. We checked in and were shown to our room which looked lovely, on closer inspection it was very dusty and not cleaned to the high standard which I expected. Pillows were very cheap and uncomfortable, the street outside was very noisy most of the night so hardly slept. Breakfast was served downstairs, when we arrived no body was there and no members of staff to be seen. We sat ourselves down looked and the menu and helped ourselves to cereal and croissants before a member of staff came to take our order. The food produced was lovely and set us up or the day however the crockery and cutlery was dirty and once breakfast was served the member of staff didn't check if we had enjoyed and even ignored us when we left the breakfast room. On checkout we were told about the charge for the car park, this was briefly mentioned on check in and I was annoyed as the car park was not full and if you read in the information book in the room the road outside the hotel is free to park between 5pm and 9am and all day on a Sunday, we were never made aware of this and was bluntly told by the receptionist that as we have used the car park we must pay as it says on the website £5 per day. I reluctantly agree and said we would leave the car in the car ark and go explore York, the receptionist rudely told me I would have to move it by 1pm to which I argued that I then haven't received the full day I am saying for. After a really nice day with my partner the day before And trying to make a special night away more special by booking somewhere nice this left a real sore taste in my mouth and I shall not be returning to Marmadukes.

Room Tip: Don't pay for parking park on the road it's free after 5pm until 9am and all day Sundays Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j82anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review us!
We are glad you were upgraded to the room you originally wanted to book; we do try and upgrade were we can and as much as possible.
A new management team has just started here and we are looking into ways we can improve and your review has given us some good constructive feedback. We are running a deep cleaning schedule now to make sure that our standard is very high and that it is kept.
We do pride ourselves on serving a lovely good quality breakfast and glad it set you up for the day; we do care about you so we are shocked you didn't receive a check back and will ensure these occur in future.
Regarding the parking our policy is clearly stated on our website and all confirmation letters, we do still stand by our charge on a Sunday as we are a secure car park however we have taken on your feedback for if we do review this in the future; I am surprised to hear you thought you were rudely spoken to as we pride ourselves in our friendliness and customer service.
We do hope you will return soon and see the improvements that are being made at the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Finally got round to writing a review on this. Having been to York 3 times in the past, I decided to return for New Year 2012 with my then girlfriend. Researched lots of luxury hotels and settled on the Loft Suite in the Marmadukes Hotel. Overall we weren't disappointed and this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The Suite felt like a mini apartment and was tastefully decorated. Added the fact we stayed in winter time, it added to the cosy atmosphere, especially with the spot lights built into the roof.

Really comfy living room area, a separate toilet, bedroom with a large walk in cupboard and a luxury bathroom complete with bath, double shower / sink and a sauna. Nice view of York Minister from the bedroom. It was very clean and comfortable and we were sad to leave after a 4 night stay.

Staff were good and although breakfast didn't have the largest selection, it was filling and well presented. Nice cosy living areas downstairs to relax in and a small bar. The hotel itself is about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the city centre / train station and there are a good amount of car parking spaces within the grounds. Taxi to city centre was usually around £5.

Some of the few negatives include: DVD player wasn't in the living room area, therefore we had to take the smaller TV through from the bedroom with it's built-in DVD player to watch DVD's. A little areas of décor could have had better attention to detail. Finally, the door seal on the shower was faulty and would let water flood all over the floor, so you had to be a little careful with this so not to make a mess. These are all picky things

Would definitely recommend to couples and I would certainly come back again some time in the future once I find another girlfriend :-) 4.5 stars but closer to a 4 than a 5, though only just!

Room Tip: Loft Suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review our loft suite! We do love all our rooms in the hotel but we do agree the loft suite does have that something extra special about it!
We thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the DVD player and we have taken this on board. Obviously your stay was in December so maintenance issues have been addressed and also we are constantly improving our decor.
We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here on Friday. It was advertised as a 'small room' and let's face it they're weren't breaking any advertising regulations with that description. However, it was clean, it was tidy and i thought the room and the hotel in general were very nice. A minor gripe of having to pay extra money to park the car in the hotel grounds - what was i expected to do, leave the car on the road, or in an NCP? Surely charging extra for a car parking space is a little greedy, add the price to the room rate and then advertise free parking. A minor gripe mind. The staff were both helpful and polite and overall i found Marmadukes to be a lovely little boutique hotel that i'd definately return to.

I'd even, through gritted teeth, cough up for a car parking space in the grounds of the hotel that i'd paid money to stay in.......see....doesn't sound right does it?

i'd definately stay here again........and drink less.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top of the hotel, a loft room with two velux windows. Small, but well prepared and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepmesiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review with us.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we do take feedback on board however we do believe our parking is a fair charge in comparison to other arrangements for other hotels and also cheaper than a council run car park and secure with CCTV.
We will obviously take your feedback on board if in future we decide to review our parking arrangements.
We do hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Booked this room as it said boutique and four poster! Neither of which were true. Not a four poster, No shower, shower head split, light bulbs out, bed dirty with bugs in and the worst bed i ever slept in. Paint work chipped, curtains dirty, furniture very broken. All in all a very big let down although service from fran to sort this issue was very very good

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mrfinnjaradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Marmadukes. We are looking into all the matters that you have raised with regard to the standard of your room. Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding Fran - she took up the position of Assistant Manager on Monday. There is a new General Manager starting next Monday and we will endeavour to ensure that the issues you have raised will be rectified as a matter of urgency . We will be contacting you directly also to try to resolve the matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our tour company selected this as a four star hotel as an upgrade. It was so disappointing. The room was extremely tiny and felt very dark and dated. No shower, only a tub with a hand held device. 6'1 husband not happy with that. The sitting area was old and worn, not antique. We repacked our luggage and found a much more suitable hotel which allowed breathing room and a full bath. The front staff seemed indifferent to our needs.

Stayed: September 2013
6  Thank LDiane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Guest Relations Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Marmadukes. All our rooms have been individually designed with antique furniture and Italian fabrics. We understand that this is not to everyone's taste however do not agree that it is old and worn - it is more a matter of personal preference and unfortunately on this occasion it was obviously not suited to yours. We apologise if you felt the staff were indifferent, the hotel was fully booked and therefore they were unable to move you to a larger room. Unfortunately on this occasion Marmadukes was not for you, however we hope you enjoyed your time in York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in the Loft Suite at the weekend and my only gripe was we couldnt of stayed longer. The suite was exactly how I pictured it after looking at pictures and reviews on here. The bathroom was the highlight and the main reason I opted for this specific suite. Everything was perfect, the decor and everything was of the highest standard. The hotel itself looked a little dated in places ie the stairways up to the loft suite but this is probably more preference as I prefer more modern surroundings.
The staff were more than helpful and sent up ice to the room which we requested, breakfast was of a good standard and I have no complaints with anything and wouldnt hesitate to book again.
The only one thing I could find perhaps was the £5 parking charge which I thought was maybe unecessary when paying £149 for room overnight

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review.
We love to hear you enjoyed your stay and would have loved to have you longer with us!
I have passed on your comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £68 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing