We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently stayed at Marmadukes for two nights, after reading a few reviews I started to get a bit worried. I need not of panicked we arrived to a very friendly reception, we're booked in and given our key card. We stayed in room 508 in the annexe which was very cosy, the bed was one of the most comfy we have stayed. The bathroom is large with a roll top bath, if you prefer a shower I would ask for another room. We found the room to be clean but a lick of paint would cover marks from previous guests. Breakfast was taken in the bright conservatory room and offered cereal/fresh fruit/juice/yogurts/full cooked English/omelettes and much more, it was a great start to the day. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to centre. If you wanted to chill at the hotel you had two lounge areas, one with games and tv and the other a more quiet room to read. Car parking is in the hotel grounds but you my have to leave your keys at reception. All in all a great stay. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Your comments and feedback were wonderful to read. I agree completely some of our rooms are down to be redecorated; we have scheduled this in for the next coming months.

We do have rooms with shower areas and would happily allocate these once requested.

We are looking forward to you returning and welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    446
    175
    78
    34
See reviews for
121
1,083
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Marmadukes recently and I would find it difficult to fault. The room was lovely and so different to the plastic 'model' one gets in a typical 3 or even 4 star hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
I would recommend anyone who wants some relaxed style to give this a try.
Only one small gripe, the hotel is looking a little tired in places but nothing a lick of paint wouldn't fix.
Terry

Room Tip: 514, deluxe double with freestanding victorian bath. One flight of stairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Your feedback is gratefully received, thank you.
As per another review I agree completely some areas do need painting and I have scheduled this in for the next coming months.
I am really pleased that someone other than me appreciates antiques which are not like modern hotels with plywood to furnish a room.

All of The Marmadukes Team are looking forward to you returning to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Did the complainers stay at the same marmadukes. We checked in on tuesday this wk to be greeted by the most friendly and lovely girl with a lovely smile . We ava 4 poster rm and wow its beautiful this has to be one of the best hotels we av stayed in will definitely return. Come on people give them a break . After all where else wuf a member of staff offer to lend u their car? So u can go to an out of town atteaction

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
It is a sad culture what we live in where a guest threatens you with trip advisor at any opportunity without giving you time and thought to deal with their requests at the time of their stay to rectify problems there and then.
You were both wonderful and can’t wait to see you back here again. When myself and the team spend so many hours here to have a guest like yourselves who want to talk with you about what brings themselves to York makes our job a real privilege.

Thank you for your card and gifts when you left… truly can’t wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Marmadukes at the weekend when visiting york and was expecting the same experience as our last visit. Was greeted on reception where a female member of staff was screaming like a banshee down the phone at presumably another member of staff who had "messed up" a booking. She did move to another room but hardly professional. Despite it being 3.30 in the afternoon we had to wait for our room to be confirmed as ready.

The room was supposed to be an executive double and was very small. The bed creaked and groaned every time you moved in bed. Went to make some coffee the following morning and one of the cups still had some residue in it presumably from the previous guests which wasn't good to see.

Car park is okay but very tight and guests not very considerate in parking their cars.

Breakfast was fine and tasty.

Overall it's a decent b&b but not really deserving of the "Boutique" title and it's biggest selling point is the close proximity to York city centre as it's only a short walk away

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Firstly thank you for your comments; we do appreciate all feedback given to us.

We are one of the few hotels in this area with secure parking but as we try and emphasize that booking in advance is necessary and that guests blocking other vehicles need to leave their car keys with us.

I am sorry that your welcome to Marmadukes was not as professional as I would have wished for any of our guests.

We do ask guests to wait for their rooms so that management can check that they are to a standard we believe is acceptable, the cup greatly disappoints me and our checks will be stepped up to a higher standard, we would have replaced this immediately if you had of informed us.

On booking your room this is described as a petite double room, our Deluxe & Four Poster bedrooms are spacious and airy if you had of explained your disappointment we did have the option to upgrade you to one of these. If only you had communicated this to us, things could have been turned around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Although Marmadukes seems to have quite a good reputation locally, it may well be riding on the reputation of past better times. I am afraid that our stay there did, at times, feel a little bit on the "Fawlty Towers" side of things... I hope that new management will endeavour to improve this hotel so that it really can live up to it's "boutique" title.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your comment. New management have taken over and slowly but surely we are giving this beautiful building the love and time it deserves. I hope to see you back at Marmadukes to see the changes we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Sorry ladies and gents. Until this hotel has had a major makeover then forget the sales pitch this place is awful. The staff, although nice people, are totally unprfoessional and unmanaged. Staff smoking just outside the door. Talking amongst themselves rather than talking to paying guests. No restaraunt despite the sales brochure. Rooms in the annexe big, but cold and dirty. They need new hoovers and professional cleaners NOW. This could be an excellent little hotel, but it is so far away from that standard you should pay no more than £20.00 per night as it does have beds and the breakfast is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I do appreciate your comments but they are back dated.
Me & My colleague (Fran) are the new management at Marmadukes, we have our rubber gloves on and our professional cleaners at the ready.
Thankfully and at long last Marmadukes has a couple of ladies who are prepared to put the hours and effort into making Marmadukes beautiful.
We love it here! Hopefully you will return to see all our hard work and effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool UK
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked Mamradukes on Laterooms.com and paid for an upgrade as it was a special occassion. Minutes before we were due to set off from home we received a callsayint the room wasn't available due to a water leak - how convenient, she said they would try and fix it but couldn't promise! As it was handy for parking and it was too late to satrt looking again we decided to go with the hope that it would be fixed. On arrival we were told it wasn't avaialble but woudl give us £10 off the price of a normal room - whooppeee! The room was dirty and the bathroom was ready for a refurb, cracked Porcelain and need of a good clean, window sill and door into the room disgusting.
My wife was upset but as it was a special occassion we just went out to enjoy York (beautiful city mind you)!
We feel that the ploy to tell us that the upgrade room had a leak was basically a rouse so they did not have to let it and maximise profits from standard 9dirty rooms). Once bitten - twice shy - will not be going back even though it was handy for parking!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoanCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I know other places you may have stayed at may say they have had a water leak and It may not have been the case…however we really did have one.
It wouldn’t have been fair on you to place you in such a room.

As for the cleanliness of your bedroom I’m shocked as me and the other manager check bedrooms daily I can only imagine this must have been prior to us arriving. I am truly sorry for your disappointment and If you had of mentioned this during your stay we would have done all possible to ensure your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing