We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton York(York)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn York City Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveller rating
876
500
194
87
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
500
194
87
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteroll top bathyork suitefour posterpark restaurantantique furniturefree standing bathlovely hoteldouble showercity centreminute walkbreakfast was excellentmain buildingposter bedfull englishone night staybeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
1,178 - 1,183 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is in a good central location for York. Within a few minutes walk you are in the old centre of the town. There is limited bit sufficient car parking if you have arrived by car.

The staff are very friendly and the breakfasts are great value and well cooked.

The rooms have a period feel. The beds though are not comfortable and due to the nature of the rooms you do hear your neighbours above you. Equally, at an early hour you get the noise of the heating system or something similar so you are not going to get a long nights sleep.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Firstly thank you for your comments; we do appreciate all feedback given to us.

We are one of the few hotels in this area with secure parking but as we try and emphasize that booking in advance is necessary to ensure a car parking space.

The majority of our furnishings are antique to keep within the period of our property which is indeed a Victorian house; you will hear noise as the house at this time of year as it is trying to adjust to the colder temperatures.
The heating systems in both houses are contained within sound proof cellars but we are currently in the process of bleeding all of our radiators which hopefully will resolve any future noise issues.
Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We recently stayed at Marmadukes for two nights, after reading a few reviews I started to get a bit worried. I need not of panicked we arrived to a very friendly reception, we're booked in and given our key card. We stayed in room 508 in the annexe which was very cosy, the bed was one of the most comfy we have stayed. The bathroom is large with a roll top bath, if you prefer a shower I would ask for another room. We found the room to be clean but a lick of paint would cover marks from previous guests. Breakfast was taken in the bright conservatory room and offered cereal/fresh fruit/juice/yogurts/full cooked English/omelettes and much more, it was a great start to the day. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to centre. If you wanted to chill at the hotel you had two lounge areas, one with games and tv and the other a more quiet room to read. Car parking is in the hotel grounds but you my have to leave your keys at reception. All in all a great stay. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Your comments and feedback were wonderful to read. I agree completely some of our rooms are down to be redecorated; we have scheduled this in for the next coming months.

We do have rooms with shower areas and would happily allocate these once requested.

We are looking forward to you returning and welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Marmadukes recently and I would find it difficult to fault. The room was lovely and so different to the plastic 'model' one gets in a typical 3 or even 4 star hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
I would recommend anyone who wants some relaxed style to give this a try.
Only one small gripe, the hotel is looking a little tired in places but nothing a lick of paint wouldn't fix.
Terry

Room Tip: 514, deluxe double with freestanding victorian bath. One flight of stairs only
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Your feedback is gratefully received, thank you.
As per another review I agree completely some areas do need painting and I have scheduled this in for the next coming months.
I am really pleased that someone other than me appreciates antiques which are not like modern hotels with plywood to furnish a room.

All of The Marmadukes Team are looking forward to you returning to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Did the complainers stay at the same marmadukes. We checked in on tuesday this wk to be greeted by the most friendly and lovely girl with a lovely smile . We ava 4 poster rm and wow its beautiful this has to be one of the best hotels we av stayed in will definitely return. Come on people give them a break . After all where else wuf a member of staff offer to lend u their car? So u can go to an out of town atteaction

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

It is a sad culture what we live in where a guest threatens you with trip advisor at any opportunity without giving you time and thought to deal with their requests at the time of their stay to rectify problems there and then.
You were both wonderful and can’t wait to see you back here again. When myself and the team spend so many hours here to have a guest like yourselves who want to talk with you about what brings themselves to York makes our job a real privilege.

Thank you for your card and gifts when you left… truly can’t wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at Marmadukes at the weekend when visiting york and was expecting the same experience as our last visit. Was greeted on reception where a female member of staff was screaming like a banshee down the phone at presumably another member of staff who had "messed up" a booking. She did move to another room but hardly professional. Despite it being 3.30 in the afternoon we had to wait for our room to be confirmed as ready.

The room was supposed to be an executive double and was very small. The bed creaked and groaned every time you moved in bed. Went to make some coffee the following morning and one of the cups still had some residue in it presumably from the previous guests which wasn't good to see.

Car park is okay but very tight and guests not very considerate in parking their cars.

Breakfast was fine and tasty.

Overall it's a decent b&b but not really deserving of the "Boutique" title and it's biggest selling point is the close proximity to York city centre as it's only a short walk away

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Firstly thank you for your comments; we do appreciate all feedback given to us.

We are one of the few hotels in this area with secure parking but as we try and emphasize that booking in advance is necessary and that guests blocking other vehicles need to leave their car keys with us.

I am sorry that your welcome to Marmadukes was not as professional as I would have wished for any of our guests.

We do ask guests to wait for their rooms so that management can check that they are to a standard we believe is acceptable, the cup greatly disappoints me and our checks will be stepped up to a higher standard, we would have replaced this immediately if you had of informed us.

On booking your room this is described as a petite double room, our Deluxe & Four Poster bedrooms are spacious and airy if you had of explained your disappointment we did have the option to upgrade you to one of these. If only you had communicated this to us, things could have been turned around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews