We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked into Marmdukes to explore the city of York and take in the festive St Nicolas Fayre. Although pre warned about how busy it would be we were still not prepared for the crowds and soon decided to give the fayre a miss and stick to the sights which are numerous. We received a friendly greeting from the reception team and were shown up to our room which was clean, well furnished and cosy. We had a lovely free-standing roll top bath. We had read reviews about the lack of hot water but this was not our experience; there was plenty. There is no restaurant at the hotel but that was no problem as Marmadukes is a mere 5 minute stroll into the City centre passing many food and watering holes on the way. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room and the full English was delicious. I didn't need another thing until the evening. The down side to this was I missed out on a cream tea! I don't think we saw a member of staff over about 25 years of age and all were polite, friendly and helpful. Limited parking is possible on site for a small charge but keys need to be left at reception with the staff moving vehicles in and out 'Butterfly' style as required. We managed to park outside on the road for free on the Sunday. We love York and will be back again soon and would have no hesitation in booking Marmadukes next time round.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review. St Nicholas Fayre is so incredibly busy; however it does get you feeling festive with it being the first Christmas Celebration in your York. I am pleased you liked our roll-top baths; they are always fabulous to have a soak in one of them after a long day of shopping. I am flattered as I worked that weekend…clearly this place is doing wonders and I may not need anti-ageing cream yet. We can’t wait to have you back and flattery does get you everywhere. Have a great Christmas and see you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
There are newer reviews for Marmadukes Town House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The room we had was lovely, warm and comfy after a cold day out shopping . The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good lots to choose from. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gillndash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We can’t wait for you to come back, you’re your recommendations are greatly appreciated. See you in 2014 if not before to complete your shopping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We travelled down from Glasgow on our way to Manchester airport. We stayed for 2 nights and what a lovely surprise to be ùpgraded to the loft suite, or the love suite as my new bride insisted! We can't thank the hotel staff enough. We had the most wonderful time in York, thanks mostly to this great hotel and staff.

Room Tip: We were upgraded, so we cant comment on the room that we booked.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frandavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The loft suite is very special and having the private sauna in your room is certainly a bonus. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again. Have a wonderful Christmas and we will see you in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been coming to Marmadukes for many years, and have always received a warm welcome, This trip was last minute for Christmas shopping, so we were very surprised to be able to get in let alone at a reduced price.
Even though we booked late we asked if possible for a room with a bath as usual we were not disappointed.
What makes Marmadukes stand out, are the staff, everyone is genuinely warm and friendly, and most helpful.
The lady who served breakfast on the Monday morning deserves a medal. everyone came down at the same time, but she was very polite and efficient and no one had to wait any length of time to be served.
We'll be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverspider111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for a lovely review on Marmadukes. I hope you managed to get all your Christmas shopping bought and that you enjoyed a relaxing evening with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our team I will place this on our notice board. We are looking forward to your returning visit to us. Have a wonderful Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was a bit apprehensive to book here due to some ratings on here, only to discover
that the review's in my opinion our untrue ,
The beds are great but if you want a shower you must ask or you find yourself sitting in the bath for a shower
We had a great night in marmadukes and the staff could not do enough to help us
the only bad thing is they don't do baked beans at breakfast and a full English has to have a bean option .
Thanks for the hospitality especially the lovely man on the night bar who went out of his way to help me for some ice .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with shower
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craighow1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that all the staff was lovely during your stay. As for the shower I hope you mentioned on check out as we would double check if there is any maintenance issue and complete issue immediately, If not please can you email me on: reservations@marmadukesyork.com so I can look into this further. As for the bean option, I agree…I will place this on the menu when re revise these in 2014, If you stay before then please let me know and we will ensure you have some on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here over the weekend from Saturday to Sunday. Checked in just before 2 and parked the car with no problems. Very welcoming service from the lady on reception, and after showing us around the room we were very happy with the York suit, it was like our very own little house! After a good look around, I did notice that the black carpet in the bedroom didn't look like it had been hoovered in a while, and there were a few light bulbs out in the Ceiling and a few of the lamps. One large lamp in the lounge area looked like it was about to topple off as it was broken. Attention to detail needed in a 4 star.
After a lovely evening in York we came back and sat in the bar area, the service from a gentleman who's name escapes me was excellent, and we looked forward to sleeping soundly. And may I say we certainly did, honestly one of the BEST beds I've slept in, other comments on here about beds should be ignored, after all everyone is different we can't all like the same time of bed!!
Breakfast was a little bit of a let down, when we arrived to dine, there were 5 empty tables that had not been cleared of breakfast dishes so we had to just sit. We waited a while for someone to come and clear the table, we were then served by a very young girl in jeans trainers and a dirty shirt, and then by another lady also in jeans and trainers, surely 4star accommodation requires a clean smart uniform/smart attire?? We could not have any cereal as there were no Bowles available, and no one to ask without getting up and searching for someone, when breakfast arrived it was delicious apart from the under cooked scrambled eggs :-/ our coffee was also Luke warm and was not offered another.
Overall a very lovely stay, however attention to detail is needed, a 4 star should not just be the room, but the whole experience, we would however stay again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justwanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. I can assure you that your carpet will have been hovered but sometimes with dark carpets marks do come up easy. I am pleased that you bed was to your liking and you had a great night’s sleep. A few comments regarding breakfast have concerned me and we are issuing uniform, we are waiting on this so please accept my apologise. I am sorry your eggs were not cooked to your taste we are happy to cook anything to anybody’s liking so when you next stay please let us know. Hopefully with your review and our hard work we will get full marks and a happy returning guest. We hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at Marmadukes for my husband's birthday and were generally very pleased. Our room was nicely furnished - I booked deluxe but I'm not sure if it was, but anyway we were satisfied. Breakfast was really good and worth the long wait (about 30 mins) but with lots of toast and tea replenished to keep us going and as we weren't in a hurry it was very pleasant.

The only negative point I would make, and it's already been made before, is that the water wasn't hot enough for one bath - let alone two, and it also wasn't hot again in the morning which was disappointing.

On the plus side, the staff are very helpful and polite. We left behind a shirt in the wardrobe and got a call from housekeeping to tell us. They very kindly posted the shirt to our home address. Excellent customer service, thank you Marmaduke's staff. I would definitely say our stay was value for money and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room 514 on first floor is quiet with a window at the side of the house.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast however I think we should be getting this to you quicker so we will make improvements immediately. We do have hot water booster buttons, we did implement a system to do this early morning and tea time but if anybody has issues we can do this and it speeds up the hot water process if majority of people are running baths at the same time. I am pleased we have got your lost property back to you. I hope we see you very soon so you can see our improvements. Have a lovely Christmas and see you 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £75 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing