We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked this hotel for a romantic date night after Christmas. I am not normally a negative reviewer but this Hotel appeared tired and not to the boutique standards I am used to. There was an awful smell on the stairs up to the room, I think it was coming from the toilet. Was looking forward to a long soak in the roll top bath and was greeted with a shower bath in a very ordinary bathroom. The worst thing was that there was either a generator or some kind of air conditioning which kept us both awake what seemed like all night long!

Only plus side is that it is in a good location within walking distance to city centre. But I won't be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a hard bed and a room away from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHGroupManagement, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased the location was satisfactory. If any guest has any requirements for example they would prefer a bath to a shower we are always happy to allocate where our guests prefer to be. The generator is a little confusing as the only item this could be is our air conditioning unit which is turned on at 8am and off by 1pm. Toilets are cleaned regularly throughout the day. I wish that these issues which you encountered could have expressed during your stay so we could have effectively dealt with these during your stay at Marmadukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

I booked an overnight stay in a four poster room for my husbands birthday. Two minutes after booking the room, I received an email offering us a complimentary upgrade to the York Suite in honor of hubby's birthday. During check in the staff was stellar, very friendly and helpful. Our suite was perfect, a home away from home. The location is quiet and we had a very pleasant stay. In the morning our delicious breakfast was served by a sweet young lady and made a perfect ending to a very nice getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHGroupManagement, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review, I hope your husband enjoyed his trip away. Thank you for your comments regarding staff being friendly and helpful and that you have enjoyed our delicious breakfast. We are looking forward to your return here at Marmadukes, please book direct so we can offer you the cheapest rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The smile on the faces of the team was warmer than the heater which was really too hot. Breakfast is wonderful. Christmas day lunch in lamb&lion inn was distinctive. We felt as if we are home. Our room was a lovely attic. Thanks everyone but especially to Fran and Jiao (note that this is not Joe:))

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pirgaip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHGroupManagement, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Wow thank you for your wonderful review! Your kind comments are truly appreciated. Wwe cant wait to have you returning back to Marmadukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The smile on the faces of the team was warmer than the heater which was really too hot. Breakfast is wonderful. Christmas day lunch in lamb&lion inn was distinctive. We felt as if we are home. Our room was a lovely attic. Thanks everyone but especially to Fran and Jiao (note that this is not Joe:))

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pirgaip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHGroupManagement, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Wow thank you for your wonderful review! Your kind comments are truly appreciated. Wwe cant wait to have you returning back to Marmadukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the hotel. From the minute of our arrival every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful. We planned to go on a Ghost tour that evening and staff were straight away offering any help finding where we needed to go and suggesting different places to visit and places to eat. The room was spotless and beautiful. The location was fantastic, really close to town and a very nice walk. The room we selected was one of the cheapest rooms they offer but we couldn't fault it. It was beautiful, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHGroupManagement, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. This is the experience we try and offer all of our guests. We love recommending our favourite York experiences whether it is a museum to our favourite restaurant. Thank you again, we are looking forward to you returning back to Marmadukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We found the hotel to be really nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and lovely comfortable interior. On the down side the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and had a terrible night sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidilr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear we were all friendly & helpful but disappointed to hear about the bed. Please can you email me so I can locate your booking? I can change the pillows and try and determine if there is a problem with the bed or mattress as we would hate this to happen to you or another guest staying with us? We hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to the loft suite , a result. Really nice suite with sauna, lounge and dressing room. Excellent breakfast served by a very pleasant young lady. All the staff we met were very friendly and efficient. Good location for York and not too far from station but if walking from station quite difficult to locate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you were happy with the breakfast. When we can we always try and upgrade where possible. I am sorry you had difficulty locating us, If any future guest struggles please call us- always happy to provide directions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £68 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing