We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel and service”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This boutique hotel is just lovely, reception staff totally welcoming. Room is exactly as advertised, clean tidy with the most comfortable of beds the bathroom was huge.
Breakfast was served in the orangery/conservatory very well presented and great quality items on plate.
We would most defiantly use this little gem again.
Ok so you want to hear a fault, we all like to moan, so pillows could have been a tad firmer and the wine served by the glass was not to my taste, big deal I don't think.
James who worked reception and the bar is a star.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarieHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for a wonderful realistic review. I am pleased you believe we have described the bedrooms as we hope guests to find them. We have taken some time into re-wording descriptions as well as improving standards in the building which is hopefully going to increase our standing on Trip advisor. Thank you once again for a lovely review and we are looking forward to your return to Marmadukes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    445
    173
    78
    34
See reviews for
118
1,078
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night wished we could of stayed longer. Had a lovely welcome from the lady on the reception showed us to our room which was lovely and clean. Breakfast was lovely and the lady serving was very attentive. Would definitely visit again and would book for longer

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank You for You Review! What a lovely simple and effective review. We are looking forward to you returning later in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very friendly welcome, lovely, well appointed room and well above average breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Overall a very relaxed atmosphere.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It was my first stay and regrettably only for one night on business. When next in York, I'll definitely be booking Marmadukes.

Room Tip: My room was 514. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank You for Your Review! Well…we are pleased that you speak so highly of Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely stay,
Myself and my partner spent a night here on a weekend away to York. We arrived in the morning and they allowed us to keep our bags there before checking in whilst we went into the city center for the day. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, our bags were taken to our room ready for arrival and we were brought an ice bucket for the champagne we took ourselves and even breakfast in bed the next day, for no additional charge. Lots of little touches that just made our stay a lot more enjoyable.
The room was lovely, we stayed in the petite executive, which had a lovely roll top bath and VERY comfortable bed. We were very sad to leave the next day and far too relaxed to return to work.

All in all a very pleasant hotel to stay in and worth the money that we payed, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Would recommend the petite executive suite, good value for money and great for a one night stay. Did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleighVeysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank You for Your Review! I am pleased to read you found Marmadukes staff friendly & helpful. The bedroom you slept in is a very sweet little room which sometimes does not get favourable comments, however I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed in marmadukes for the one night for my husbands birthday, we was greeted by a lovely lady who checked us in even carried our bags up to our room, the room was very comfortable, the lady on reception booked us a taxi, gave recommendations to drink, gave us taxi numbers to call later, nothing was to much trouble and the full English breakfast just finished our stay off nicely, would highly recommend this place..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope you both enjoyed your celebratory get away. I am pleased to read we were able to off you all the information that you needed. We are looking forward to you returning back to Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We used the hotel for a wedding lunch for about 28 people just before Christmas 2013.The staff member I dealt with in the weeks leading up to the wedding was super organised and extremely conscientious and concerned that the detail of the day was right for us. Very impressed.The hotel is a lovely old Victorian house on a tree lined street with beautiful antique and vintage furniture. We had use of the conservatory and the green sitting room and it worked perfectly for a drinks reception and lunch.The food was brilliant and the service was attentive without being intrusive.Nothing was too much trouble.Will definitely use again at my next wedding!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for a wonderful ‘Wedding Venue’ review’. Fran is certainly organised and conscientious, I am certain she enjoys weddings as much as our brides on the big day. This old Victorian property is situated in such a wonderful quiet area of York but also so close to the registry office. The conservatory is light and airy and a beautiful venue for your wedding day. We will look forward to you returning to reminisce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Only an overnight stay for me as I was working in York the following morning, but this lovely little hotel is the perfect place to stay if you would like to do some sightseeing in the beautiful city of York.
The staff are all very friendly and made me feel very welcome as soon as I arrived.
Don't expect to get an evening meal here as there is no provision for this, but breakfast is served in the comfortable conservatory (although we had a very early start, so did not have the option of a full cooked breakfast - but the night porter was very helpful in providing cereal, juice, toast and tea/coffee).
What was previously a beautiful and very large house has been tastefully converted into a comfortable boutique hotel. The lounge areas are a quiet place to sit and have a drink and conversation and the rooms are well appointed with furniture befitting a property of that period.
A nice comfortable bed provided for a great night's sleep.
Only a short walk from town and the spectacular Minster means that this is a great base from which to explore and I hope to return one day to do just that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misterchew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. What a lovely way you have described Marmadukes, Me & Fran love this beautiful old building and it is wonderful to read you do also. It is a shame we don’t offer dinner, however it is not popular in this area with it being such a short walk away to a variety of restaurants. We are pleased you have enjoyed your breakfast with us, I am sorry you didn’t get to eat our scrumptious Full English, hopefully on your next visit we can get you extra helpings on what you missed out on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
0.0 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#15 of 46 in York
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing