We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wonderful little hotel, close to all amenities and with their own free parking. The only small point that let it down for us was the poorly stocked bar, we arrived late in the evening and I fancied a malt whiskey but none were available.

Room Tip: Four poster room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, however we may upset future guests with the ‘free’ our car park is charged at £5 per night, but can be limited as you do need to reserve in advance. We do have a small bar and unfortunately much to my surprise we do not have a Malt…this will be purchased for your next visit…when will this be? Thank you for your review from The Marmadukes Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
There are newer reviews for Marmadukes Town House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,002 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

A pleasant stay, Wednesday to Saturday at the end of January. Staff very friendly and helpful but let down by poor attention to maintenance. Large cold bathroom with slate floor with the only heating supplied by towel rail which did not work. Problems with the hot water supply meant that the first person drawing a bath had to be careful not to take too much as the second fill was only luke warm. Light bulb unable to be replaced as correct type not available and electronic door lock keys continually having to be reprogrammed. A complimentary bottle of wine was welcome but no substitute for piping hot water!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peejay9aq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found us all friendly and helpful. I am sorry you have encountered hot water problems, we do try and monitor how many guests we have in house and do increase out hot water controls at 8am & 5pm to ensure that hot water is being boosted. Future guests if you are experiencing problems please let us know as this process only takes 20 minutes maximum which could avoid disappointment. Thank You Lucy & Marmadukes Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lovely place with fantastic old grand decor. Just really really cold even with the heating on wooden floor was icy cold even with the heating on !! Needs a upgrade, and possibly a few rugs and to be a bit picky the mattress did not fit the frame of the bed. Bar area could do with some slight improvement, however all in all a good stay ! Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am surprised that your bedroom was as cold as what you have described, with our heating on. I have double checked bedrooms to ensure that all radiators are all working correctly for future guests. On quieter occasions we sometimes close our annex side down but generally turn heating completely up first thing in the morning, I can only think that you may have checked in very early and experienced colder temperatures. Your comments of the bar area and ‘’slight improvements’’ are required, I really would appreciate where we can improve and further feedback as this is something that I would love more feedback from guests to help us improve this area. Again thank you for this review, I hope this does not deter you staying again as this is not an experience our guests encounter generally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This boutique hotel is just lovely, reception staff totally welcoming. Room is exactly as advertised, clean tidy with the most comfortable of beds the bathroom was huge.
Breakfast was served in the orangery/conservatory very well presented and great quality items on plate.
We would most defiantly use this little gem again.
Ok so you want to hear a fault, we all like to moan, so pillows could have been a tad firmer and the wine served by the glass was not to my taste, big deal I don't think.
James who worked reception and the bar is a star.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMarieHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for a wonderful realistic review. I am pleased you believe we have described the bedrooms as we hope guests to find them. We have taken some time into re-wording descriptions as well as improving standards in the building which is hopefully going to increase our standing on Trip advisor. Thank you once again for a lovely review and we are looking forward to your return to Marmadukes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night wished we could of stayed longer. Had a lovely welcome from the lady on the reception showed us to our room which was lovely and clean. Breakfast was lovely and the lady serving was very attentive. Would definitely visit again and would book for longer

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank You for You Review! What a lovely simple and effective review. We are looking forward to you returning later in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very friendly welcome, lovely, well appointed room and well above average breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Overall a very relaxed atmosphere.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It was my first stay and regrettably only for one night on business. When next in York, I'll definitely be booking Marmadukes.

Room Tip: My room was 514. Quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank You for Your Review! Well…we are pleased that you speak so highly of Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely stay,
Myself and my partner spent a night here on a weekend away to York. We arrived in the morning and they allowed us to keep our bags there before checking in whilst we went into the city center for the day. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, our bags were taken to our room ready for arrival and we were brought an ice bucket for the champagne we took ourselves and even breakfast in bed the next day, for no additional charge. Lots of little touches that just made our stay a lot more enjoyable.
The room was lovely, we stayed in the petite executive, which had a lovely roll top bath and VERY comfortable bed. We were very sad to leave the next day and far too relaxed to return to work.

All in all a very pleasant hotel to stay in and worth the money that we payed, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Would recommend the petite executive suite, good value for money and great for a one night stay. Did...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleighVeysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank You for Your Review! I am pleased to read you found Marmadukes staff friendly & helpful. The bedroom you slept in is a very sweet little room which sometimes does not get favourable comments, however I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £75 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing