We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VisitYork Competition Winner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VisitYork Competition Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Just before Christmas I won a competition to stay at Marmadukes.

Fran (Assistant Manageress) was extremely helpful from the start and made us feel at home with a friendly & courteous welcome.

I stayed in a Deluxe Double Room, and it was exactly as shown on the web page (Room 514). The room was spotlessly clean, and had a well stocked Tea & Coffee Making facility (including biscuits and a large bottle of water). There was a spacious En-suite Bathroom with a free-standing Victorian bath, 4 luxury towels and complimentary toiletries.

The bed was very comfortable and I didn't hear a noise all night (I'm a very light sleeper). I can't understand the comments about the temperature of the Hotel, as I'm always cold, but I had to turn the Central Heating down as the room got very warm.

The Conservatory is the Breakfast Room, again it was spotless, and the Waitress was extremely attentive & friendly. There was a vast variety of choice which started with toast, tea/coffee, and 2 juices. We decided on a Full Yorkshire Breakfast and the Poached Eggs on a toasted Bun, both were very well presented and hot. There were also 4 types of Cereal, Croissants, Yoghurts, and Jams. I finished off with some Fruit Salad, which was one of the nicest I've ever had in a Hotel.

Marmadukes is a very relaxed Town House Hotel, and is a 10 minute walk away from York Minster and the Town Centre. I would definitely stay here again if I return to York.

When I choose a Hotel I look for 3 things; Cleanliness, Good Food, and Friendly & helpful Staff, this Hotel received 10 out of 10 for all three.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireChick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review, in particular Fran, this lady is extremely helpful and can certainly cheer up any of guests on arrival. This is a very thorough review, thank you. I’m fairly cold the majority of the time and I find Marmadukes a nice temperature. I am pleased your enjoyed your breakfast and the choice was plentiful. To walk from Marmadukes to the city walls does take 10 minutes comfortably. Thank you again for a great review and I hope we get to welcome you back at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    425
    168
    78
    34
See reviews for
113
1,049
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Wonderful little hotel, close to all amenities and with their own free parking. The only small point that let it down for us was the poorly stocked bar, we arrived late in the evening and I fancied a malt whiskey but none were available.

Room Tip: Four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review, however we may upset future guests with the ‘free’ our car park is charged at £5 per night, but can be limited as you do need to reserve in advance. We do have a small bar and unfortunately much to my surprise we do not have a Malt…this will be purchased for your next visit…when will this be? Thank you for your review from The Marmadukes Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

A pleasant stay, Wednesday to Saturday at the end of January. Staff very friendly and helpful but let down by poor attention to maintenance. Large cold bathroom with slate floor with the only heating supplied by towel rail which did not work. Problems with the hot water supply meant that the first person drawing a bath had to be careful not to take too much as the second fill was only luke warm. Light bulb unable to be replaced as correct type not available and electronic door lock keys continually having to be reprogrammed. A complimentary bottle of wine was welcome but no substitute for piping hot water!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejay9aq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found us all friendly and helpful. I am sorry you have encountered hot water problems, we do try and monitor how many guests we have in house and do increase out hot water controls at 8am & 5pm to ensure that hot water is being boosted. Future guests if you are experiencing problems please let us know as this process only takes 20 minutes maximum which could avoid disappointment. Thank You Lucy & Marmadukes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lovely place with fantastic old grand decor. Just really really cold even with the heating on wooden floor was icy cold even with the heating on !! Needs a upgrade, and possibly a few rugs and to be a bit picky the mattress did not fit the frame of the bed. Bar area could do with some slight improvement, however all in all a good stay ! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am surprised that your bedroom was as cold as what you have described, with our heating on. I have double checked bedrooms to ensure that all radiators are all working correctly for future guests. On quieter occasions we sometimes close our annex side down but generally turn heating completely up first thing in the morning, I can only think that you may have checked in very early and experienced colder temperatures. Your comments of the bar area and ‘’slight improvements’’ are required, I really would appreciate where we can improve and further feedback as this is something that I would love more feedback from guests to help us improve this area. Again thank you for this review, I hope this does not deter you staying again as this is not an experience our guests encounter generally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This boutique hotel is just lovely, reception staff totally welcoming. Room is exactly as advertised, clean tidy with the most comfortable of beds the bathroom was huge.
Breakfast was served in the orangery/conservatory very well presented and great quality items on plate.
We would most defiantly use this little gem again.
Ok so you want to hear a fault, we all like to moan, so pillows could have been a tad firmer and the wine served by the glass was not to my taste, big deal I don't think.
James who worked reception and the bar is a star.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarieHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for a wonderful realistic review. I am pleased you believe we have described the bedrooms as we hope guests to find them. We have taken some time into re-wording descriptions as well as improving standards in the building which is hopefully going to increase our standing on Trip advisor. Thank you once again for a lovely review and we are looking forward to your return to Marmadukes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night wished we could of stayed longer. Had a lovely welcome from the lady on the reception showed us to our room which was lovely and clean. Breakfast was lovely and the lady serving was very attentive. Would definitely visit again and would book for longer

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank You for You Review! What a lovely simple and effective review. We are looking forward to you returning later in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very friendly welcome, lovely, well appointed room and well above average breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Overall a very relaxed atmosphere.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It was my first stay and regrettably only for one night on business. When next in York, I'll definitely be booking Marmadukes.

Room Tip: My room was 514. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank You for Your Review! Well…we are pleased that you speak so highly of Marmadukes Town House Hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Property: Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing