We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I picked this hotel based on the room price & the star rating it had recieved. The hotel is easly enough to drive to. Based about 10 minutes walk from York centre, the hotel has onsite parking for a £5 fee.
Prior to arriving, I contacted the hotel ensuring a fridge would be available as my partner has diabetes. This was not a problem and access would be available. I also requested a room with a bath. Again, no problem.
The room was nicely decorated in fitting with the hotel. The bed was very comfy & the standard tea/coffee making equipment provided along with some nice buicuits.
We went out in Leeds at night & ended up staying out late. I enquired about a late check out. This was not something available, but the staff said an extra hour or 2 to check out would be fine. Again, excellent service.
As it turns out we were up early and ventured down for breakfast. Breakfast was a full continential buffet with the option of a full english amongst other choices. We had the full english. it arrived cooked to perfection, my only (very minor) complaint being there was no option of beans or tinned tommatoes. I found it a little dry.
As we were up, I asked if it would be possible to leave my car in the car park while we ventured out in to York. yet again the excellent staff said this would not be a problem. I left them my keys so if the car park got full, they would move my car to another safe parking spot.
Over all we had an excellent stay. The staff were fantastic and the hotel is brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

We are in a brilliant location being only 10 minutes’ walk away but also having car parking at such a reasonable rate, only a few minutes away car parking is charged at £2.80 per hour. It is always best to book ahead though.

We always try and offer flexibility and choice where we can. I have stocked up on beans but nobody has asked for them, on your next visit please let us know.

Again thank you for a well detailed review and we will look forward to you returning back to us.

Kind Regards
Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I highly recommend this property. It is a lovely boutique hotel, very close to all the attractions in town. Staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast was terrific and although we had a very small room, it was comfortable and well appointed. Great value too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LotsaTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review! I am extremely pleased to read ‘Good Value’, we are competitively priced in York, and hopefully this shows through.

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on here, we will look forward to you returning back to us.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Marmadukes is just a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre, situated in a relatively quiet street with on-site parking. Our room (Loft Suite) was excellent, very spacious with a superb shower. The staff were friendly and invariably helpful. Niggles were all fairly minor: one window difficult to open; loud squeaky bathroom door; hard bed, and my usual annoyance of no mini-fridge. The one disappointment was breakfast: we go for continental and the choice was very limited; not sure I like the idea of marmalade, jam, even sugar in single jars on the main buffet table so you have to keep going up to get some more. That said, such annoyances were only trivial and the overall experience was very pleasant, hence the five stars. We have stayed at several similar hotels in York, and Marmadukes would now be my first choice for its combination of great room, friendly staff and convenience. No dinner option, but there's no real need with so much choice just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely five star review! We are a perfect location, short walking distance and quiet location. Our car parking is charged at £5 per night and tends to get very busy so please book in advance if you do intend to drive to us.

I will have our maintenance team to have a look at your window as this shouldn’t cause our guests to struggle, especially coming into summer months. The bathroom door has also been placed on this list as I am sure will be a straight forward solution to repair. Unfortunately we won’t be investing in a mini bars, however we do offer room service, so any drink which takes your fancy let us know and we will be happy to assist.

It is wonderful to read that we are now your new first choice in York. Please book direct so we can offer you our book direct 10% discount.

We will look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were given a very good rate for this hotel. The staff our lovely room very nice quite small but we knew this when booking but on saying that did have everything you needed. The hotel is in a great location. Thought the continental breakfast was lacking in choice, no fresh fruit , ham or cheese very basic.
Overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Marmadukes Town House Hotel. The lovely mention for our staff has been greatly received.

You booked our Petite Executive Double, this is a smaller bedroom but perfect to get a good night’s sleep in our peaceful location.

We are trying different ideas with breakfast and your suggestions were not popular, however on your next visit please ask as we do have these items in our fridge so would be easy to prepare for you.

We will look forward to your return back to Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just back from a great weekend at marmadukes. We had our baby's christening party there and everyone had an amazing time. Fran and the team were fantastic, making sure everything went like clockwork. Really recommend it as a place to stay or somewhere to host a special event

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1977lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Short, Sweet and a wonderful 5 Star review. Thank you!

I am so pleased your Christening Party guests had a fantastic time here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

We will look forward to you returning.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have, as a family, used this hotel before but used it this weekend for a special family party. It was the occasion of our 4th G;child who was baptised as Daisy Mollie in York Minster. The occasion was superb and the hotel and its staff was fantastic! The weather was amazing - York looked its best and our Guests from the South were very impressed. The hotel as ever was great and Fran ( the manager) discussed the merits of having our Tea Party in the Hotel or the Garden. We chose the garden - the best decision! The sun shone, the Prosecco flowed, the tea was amazing - lots of sandwiches, cake and scones. We cannot thank them enough!
So thank you Fran and Team and we look forward to returning!
This Team could not have helped us more - they were superb in both planning the event and in its delivery. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review. The weather was certainly on your side this weekend, perfect for your Christening and Afternoon Tea Garden Party.

I am so pleased to read that Fran and Our Marmadukes Team looked after you so well.

Our Afternoon Tea is scrumptious and perfect for a family get together. We will look forward to you returning back to us.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here to attend a wedding from the outset the staff could not do enough for us very friendly and helpful. The room I would grade as good had everything we needed only down side was it was above some kind of extractor fan so noisy at night. It was clean and bed was comfortable closet door would not open fully because of the bed but a minor moan in an otherwise good room.
Breakfast was excellent full English cooked to a high standard freshly made once again staff excellent. The wedding was outstanding run to precision and once again the food was outstanding.
On departure I left some belongings behind staff made every effort to locate me and let me know. Thankyou To all Marmadukes staff for a great stay and for looking after us even after departure.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely review. Your kind comments have been passed across to our team here at Marmadukes Town House Hotel.

I am really disappointed to read that you encountered a noise during your stay, I have placed this on our late reception duties to ensure our air conditioning unit is turned off some time ago so I can only apologise that this has happened during your stay. If a future guest ever encounters any noise or problems please call our Night Porter to help with any issues, we are always here to assist.

I will investigate your issue regarding your sash window in your bedroom as this is an area we are investigating in the coming months.

I am however thrilled to read that you thought our food was outstanding for the wedding; your comments have been passed to our Chef.

Thank you again for taking the time and placing your review and we are looking forward to you returning.

Kind Regards

Lucy Neville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St. Peters Grove, York YO30 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £65 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a tranquil, residential street, Marmadukes Town House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, characterful rooms and is just a 10-minute walk from York Minster and the Theatre Royal. All 21 en-suite bedrooms have been individually decorated with antique furniture and feature both tea/coffee making facilities and an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The Park Restaurant has been awarded three AA Rosettes and serves a tasting menu. Guests can relax in the residents lounges or the private, walled garden to the rear of the property. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is just a 10-minute stroll from the historic city centre and picturesque Shambles shopping area. York Railway Station can be reached in a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing